We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekday treat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita Restaurant

La Casita Restaurant
54650 North Circle Dr, Idyllwild, CA 92549
951 659-6038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Idyllwild
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Weekday treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We are fortunate to be staying within walking distance of this cute restaurant and decided to check it out on a Tuesday. The patio was lovely under the trees, and we took our dog and two teens. The kids had a quesadilla, which was large, but they felt had too much cheese and was a little greasy. My Mom and I had enchiladas (me shrimp, she pork) with green sauce and those were fantastic! I also had the fish taco which was great. I would recommend this place on a weeknight - not sure if they get crowded on the weekends or not. The service was great, very friendly staff. Next we will try their taco night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    28
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert,CA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good, Fresh Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We sat on the dog friendly patio under the pine trees. The waiters were friendly and efficient. Our food was great, tasted authentic but the children thought their casadeas were on the greasy side but they ate most of it....But these kids are picky eaters...We were happy with our whole experience and they brought a bowl of water for the dog.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very nice meal. Can't go wrong eating here. We had a party of 10 and everyones meal was delish! Will return again. All your favorites plus a few new menu items.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston super mare
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“La Casita Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Fantastic little Mexican restaurant, the food was excellent and so was the service !. Complimentary tortilla chips and salsa, the wine margharitas are addictive. There are also plenty of trails to walk off the delicious food !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food with some yummy sauces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We wanted to find an easy going but good place to have a dinner after a hike and selected La Casita based on TA reviews. Arrived at the restaurant at 5:30 pm on Saturday and were the first guests, but the place filled quickly after that. Service was extremely fast including main courses. We ordered large shrimp cocktail, crispy lengua tacos, burrito, and chili verde (pork). All food was very good, I would say unexpectedly good. Shrimp cocktail and chili verde were quite original, tomatillo sauce for the pork was excellent. Creamy jalapeno sauce and regular salsa that come with chips were also very good. Agave wine margaritas were delicious. Not giving 5 starts due to minor nuisances. We will be back, especially after long hikes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Casita Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casita Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.