We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best in Town"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Idyllwild Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idyllwild Inn
Save
You added Idyllwild Inn to your Saves list
54300 Village Center Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
3rd Night FREE!!
Ranked #5 of 11 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Best in Town"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

There are two reasons the Idyllwild Inn is special. The first is the location. It's quiet and wooded, but so close to the center of town you're about a three minute walk from breakfast, coffee or groceries. Its location can't be beat.

The second reason is the staff. The desk managers and housekeepers are warm, welcoming, and devoted to their guests. Laura at the desk deserves special mention. She really goes the extra mile to make sure you have a great experience.

Room Tip: The Fall Room is excellent. Nestled in trees, yet fifty paces from the Higher Grounds coffee shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in the "CAMP" room which had a king bed and big fire place which we didn't use because it was 90 degrees! There was a ceiling fan, fridge, and microwave(no A/C). Idyllwild Inn is right in the center of town so you won't have to drive anywhere. The staff was really nice as were the locals...very friendly folks up there! It was very reasonably priced at $105/night including tax (there is a two-night minimum). The Gastronome restaurant is right across the street, which a has a lovely patio. It's also next to a wine bar where they have live music on weekends. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Check out their website for descriptions and photos of the rooms, to meet your exact needs! Rates v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Upon checking out of my twelth stay at the Idyllwild Inn I realized I failed to share the experience. The Idyllwild Inn offers a mix of rustic cabins, duplexes and sweets... wood paneling, fireplaces, and plenty of trees and squirrels. The owner Josh, a genuinely warm host (with piercing blue eyes, blond hair and rugged boyish good looks will make the ladies and a few of the guys swoon) manages the establisment as if he was trained at the Ritz Carlton Hotels academy. He sinerely attempts to make each guests stay memborable and bends over backwards to exceed every expectation. The cabins are very pet friendly, cozy, have internet, all the little touches in the kitchen like coffee and supplies, they are extremely clean and charmingly rustic. If you would like a getaway without hustle and bustle this is the place. While you are there make a reservation for dinner at Cafe Aroma!

Room Tip: Cabins 6,7,8 and the most private 1 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My most recent stay at the Idyllwild Inn was just as relaxing as my many trips in past years. I stayed in a duplex cabin, which was wonderfully comfortable and spacious, with a full kitchen, living room, bedroom, and deck. The duplex cabins are quite a bit nicer than their most rustic cabins. Firewood supplied! The theme rooms are also really nice, but I enjoyed having the extra space and the woodsy deck for reading this time. The beds are super comfy! Centrally located so walking is easy to everything in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Idyllwild Inn. There are other places in town that are fancier, and more expensive, but this place had it all - friendly staff, clean cabins, and friendly to our pups, too. Beautiful star-gazing and walking distance to the market to pick up food, if you don't end up doing every meal at the fabulous Cafe Aroma a mile or so away. Some cabins are little close to the road, but the traffic is pretty non-existent after 10 PM.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed to meet up with our son who is hiking the PCT. The Idyllwlid Inn gives PCT hikers a 10% discount, and makes them feel so welcome. There were a lot of other people there besides the PCT group, also. We stayed in a cabin, and our son stayed in a lodge room - both were immaculate, full bin of (free) firewood for the fireplace, kitchen in the cabin. The owners were very sweet and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

I almost don't want to share this lovely getaway...but for the sake of the darling owners, I will. These cabins are basic, for sure, but what a wonderful way to enjoy friends and family of all ages! Cook for yourselves or head to Cafe Aroma, then see the movie in town and play in the snow... The town used to be filled with fantastic shops which sadly couldn't make it--but no matter, for one can really get away from the hustle and bustle of crazy working life in this charming retreat. We are five-star hotel-goers and we LOVE Idyllwild Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Idyllwild Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idyllwild Inn

Address: 54300 Village Center Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Idyllwild Inn (since 1904) is located on 5+ acres in the heart of Idyllwild, CA. Idyllwild is within a 1-2 hour drive of diverse locations like Disneyland, Coronado Island, and Hollywood. At the Inn you can sit on your own deck under the pines and oaks, feeding squirrels and relaxing in the great outdoors. What makes the Idyllwild Inn so unique is its rich history and within minutes our guests can experience the best that Idyllwild has to offer. Since we are located in the center of town, our guests can walk to several great restaurants and many excellent shops and art galleries. A short drive can get you to some of the best hiking and mountain biking trails in Southern California. Our desire is that soon you will come and enjoy this amazing little town in the San Jacinto Mountains and join our little family here at the Idyllwild Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Idyllwild Hotel Idyllwild
Idyllwild Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idyllwild Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.