We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Woods Resort

Pine Woods Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Woods Resort to your Saves list
Pine Woods Resort
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   25840 HWY 243, Idyllwild, CA 92549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Riverside, Ca
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Small inn with just a few rooms ( 15 I think). This is a great value to get away in the mountains. Don't go in thinking it's a mountain resort. The room was clean, bed was comfortable. Spent two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. Our room had a fireplace and made it nice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My Husband and I just stayed there... It felt just like, it was a home away from home for us, but, MUCH more relaxing and beautiful. Our second honeymoon :) after 22 years... The place was clean, comfortable, cozy. We were so very pleased with everything, the room, the ambience, the great people... Our room was so cute and clean :) I wish we could have stayed forever !!! Our dog was welcomed with opened arms everywhere we went. The sweet lady who greeted us on our arrival, named "Mim" was so kind and we just loved her :) She made our stay GREAT!!! Thankyou, for giving us a much needed retreat and such a wonderful time.... We will be back! and plan to return every year to the "Appleblossom Inn" and hope to see Mim again :) maybe we will retire there.... Loved it that much...Plus, we had a kitchen, and cooked :) very cool.........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I love Idyllwild, and the loved the apple blossom Inn. The Staff is very sweet and friendly and was even willing to take us down to the town to get food, when we got snowed in! The room was perfect for us. Cute and cozy and VERY clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed on a Group on coupon $89 for two nights. The place was being painted on the outside. The rooms are spacious have WI fi Large screen TV Small Refer, Microwave. This is not 5 Star but excellent for a cozy weekend. Fireplace in most rooms as well. Management very friendly and they aim to please

Room Tip: Ask for fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our Anniversary stay at the Apple Blossom Inn. We were greeted with a complimentary bottle of chilled wine and an extremely friendly and helpful staff. The room was very clean with a kitchenette and a large flat screen television in the living room. The place was done in earth tones, which were very calming and easy on the eyes. Did I mention the Great Price and Location? We were within walking distance into town. We ended our late nights on patio chairs, outside our room, Gazing into the clear night sky and breathing the fresh mountain air. We would highly recommend this place. Thanks to the staff and we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spartanalumni, Owner at Pine Woods Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Sandra,
My wife and I were on duty that weekend. Thank you for your excellent review. Our goal is for every guest to have an enjoyable stay at the inn. We pride ourselves on our customer service and value pricing. Hoping to see you again at the Apple Blossom.
Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Idyllwild. For $69 you get a decent room here for a decent price. Nothing spectacular though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I think some of the things people forget is its like a little cabin. Its definitely NOT the Hilton, but who goes to Idyllwild to stay in a luxury place? We stayed in a little two bedroom (one of two) available there for a week while I helped a friend of mine with a camp she was running in town. I believe the room we stayed in was one of the more recently renovated rooms available. The rooms had air conditioning units in them and I was pleasantly surprised to see a dresser in one room and a closet organizer in another room. Since we were there for a week this was a really nice addition. Pack for staying here like you're going to a time-share if you plan on being here long. We had a full-size refrigerator, a little propane stove and range and a sink with a toaster oven, a coffee maker and service for 4. You really can't beat the price for what you get with this place and I've been told the owners are super friendly, although I didn't get to meet them. The beds are comfortable and the sheets were clean. The TV is big screen and new-ish (at least will accomodate an HDMI cable if you need to connect to your laptop), otherwise they have a few DVD players available in the office along with a small selection of DVDs from their small collection. Connecting to the free WiFi is pretty difficult indoors. You can get a decent signal outside. But come on... you're in Idyllwild. Unplug and enjoy just being outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Woods Resort

Address: 25840 HWY 243, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Woods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Blossom Inn, formally known as the Tahquitz Inn, is under new management and is a wonderful place to stay on a budget. Bring the family pet, bring the children, bring yourself up and relax in a beautiful property. The Apple Blossom Inn has been revitalized and is a very comfortable place to stay in Idyllwild. It is located walking distance to the heart of the village and near great restaurants and activities. Pets are welcome and children under the age of 10 stay for free. All suites have kitchenettes, which have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, toasters, and some have ovens. Choose from 12 one bedroom suites that can sleep up to three comfortable, starting at $69 per night, and 3 two bedroom suites that can sleep up to five comfortably, starting at $89 per night. All suites have 40" flat screen televisions and many have fireplaces. Each room is equipped with at least one air conditioning unit. The Inn is located on over an acre and a half of land with wonderful views of the forest and Lily Rock on Tahquitz Peek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pine Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Woods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.