We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast
54420 South Circle Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Tucson
1 review
“Sweet home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We highly recommend the Rainbow Inn, a beautifully situated and furnished B&B in the pines of Idyllwild. My husband and I stay there frequently. Since we discovered Rainbow Inn, it has been our first choice for where to stay when there. The innkeepers are warm and welcoming; the rooms are very comfortable, each served by a private bath; and, it is so peaceful there, tucked among the pines. Check it out!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

My husband and I just spent our anniversary up at the Rainbow Inn and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lon was great: explaining everything, but giving us our space. He made an excellent breakfast as well! Our room was really comfy, with a fireplace and an extremely comfortable kind sized bed. We were able to sleep with the window cracked and the crisp mountain air was the perfect lullaby to go to sleep to. The location is perfect as well. In fact we walked to town. We would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in Idyllwild. We will definitely be back!

PS. If you stay here, make sure you eat at Cafe Aroma too. Delish food recommended by Lon :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Every year in the last 3 years we've gone to a B&B for my boyfriends birthday. This one was, by far, one of the best we've been to. Lon and John were curteous and friendly yet respectful if you want privacy. The whole house is decorated with beautiful travel photos and books and artwork and personal touches. But it is in no way cluttered or overly "cottage-y" or cheesy. It's tasteful and has the right balance of charm and sophistication. The breakfast was awesome and we ended up chatting with Lon for a long time. But there are also many places where you can go have privacy on the grounds and within the house. We will be returning for sure...probably sooner than we'd originally planned. Perfect escape!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

My sister and I spent one night at the Rainbow Inn Bed and Breakfast in late July 2010 in the Music Box room. The room was nicely furnished with many extra touches like a collection of good books to read, comfortable bathrobes to wear, water bottles, a refrigerator, and more. Also there was a television and a DVD player and an impressive collection of DVDs to watch, though we didn't have time to watch any. The breakfast was served on the deck. It was delicious - an egg scramble, muffins, fruit, and drinks. The yard is lovely. It leads down to Strawberry Creek. There are plenty of places to sit and relax and enjoy the birdsong and nature.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

My wife and I made a last minute decision to travel to Idyllwild for a weekend and were somewhat concerned with finding accommodations. We checked a few places that were mentioned on your website but all were full. One of the proprietors referred us to the Rainbow Inn. Hands down, the best B&B we have ever stayed in!. Our experience had often been that B&B's can be cozy and cute but they often can be somewhat uncomfortable. Everything about the Rainbow Inn was about comfort and relaxation. The room was great, breakfast was excellent and the coffee sublime! The owners were laid back and extremely helpful. We will definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

As soon as we walked in to the Rainbow Inn, I felt at home and all my cares and stress from the city melted away. The vibe was warm, friendly, homey, cozy, and very comfortable. We stayed in the Swan Lake room, which comes with its own fireplace, a king bed, refrigerator, and a jacuzzi big enough for two. They also have great DVD collection of around 200 movies of various genres.

In the morning, the owner makes a delicious breakfast and entertains with easy, idle chatter as he cooks and serves from an open kitchen, which overlooks the spacious and seasonally decorated (for Easter) dining and lounge area. Oh, and there’s free wifi! Soooo much better that a hotel, it’s like staying over at your friends house. I wish we'd stayed longer - next time we will.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

I will be the first one to admit, that I can be a little picky. My
husband and I have stayed in quite a few bed and breakfasts over the
years, but this is the first one that is that is already calling my name
to come back and we only checked out two days ago.

The inn delivered everything it claimed and more! Husband and I stayed
in the Strawberry Creek room. You really can hear the creek from your
room. Frogs too. What a change from a busy city and all the noises
that come with it. Great location, great breakfast and great host. We
will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 54420 South Circle Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rainbow Inn offers five luxuriously appointed guest rooms each with their own private bath and many with their own fireplace. Rooms also feature wi-fi internet connectivity, cable TV, DVD players, refrigerators, access to an extensive library of DVD’s, six-hundred thread count sheets and in-room coffee makers.Whether it’s for one or 100, the Rainbow Inn on Strawberry Creek provides you with the picture-perfect environment for a quiet getaway, romantic wedding, serene retreat or business conference. Bask amid the spectacular scenery of alpine forests, along our rushing mountain stream or in the unique shops, galleries and restaurants of our quaint village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Idyllwild
Rainbow Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list