We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
54420 South Circle Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This is our home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've stayed in more expensive places that didn't come close to the wonder of this haven. Last year, we spent most of our honeymoon there, and we immediately booked the same room for our anniversary this year. We've already reserved the same week next year. I don't expect to go anywhere else for an anniversary. Ever. And we aren't exactly easy to please. We like peace, quiet, comfort, beauty, good food, and attention to detail.
John is a wonderful cook, so if you are looking for a healthy and ample breakfast, look no farther.
The Inn is beautiful and quiet. The enormous deck on the second floor is a perfect place for soaking in the sun, reading a book, chatting, reviving your soul in the pines, watching the stars come out in the evening, or drinking a glass of wine/champagne to celebrate life.
All the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. Every amenity is there--bathrobes, coffee pot (though fresh coffee is available any time if you ask Jon to set it up the night before), refrigerator, wine glasses, bottle opener, hair dryer, good towels, lots of plugs, wi-fi Internet, library of videos, books, games...I'm sure I forgot something. And if there IS anything you need, just ask. I injured my knee on a hike; John handed me a cane.
The Inn is close to the town center, but just far enough across the creek to be away from traffic or noisy businesses. If I had a home in Idyllwild, this would be it.

Room Tip: The Swan Lake room is the most expensive, but it's worth the difference: whirlpool bath, enormou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Having lived in Europe for a number of years we've enjoyed many B & B's, but few have provided the quality and ambience of the Rainbow Inn. Located within walking distance of town and yet secluded enough to provide a restful environment, Rainbow Inn offers an ideal setting for reading, writing, relaxing or simply listening to the sounds of nearby Strawberry Creek. The rooms, both guest and common, are immaculate and beautifully appointed, and breakfast on both days of our visit was superb. The inn has enough books and current DVD's to keep visitors entertained for days and its owner/host, John Sullivan, could not be more helpful or gracious (he is a skilled photographer as well). We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want a little more swpace and quiet, ask for the Strawberry Creek room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My girlfriend treated me to a weekend getaway at this place. The guys are amazing hosts. Very nice and creative breakfast. Quaint living room to hang out and chat with the other guests, and the place is set in a fantasy like town. This place is what movie directors are going for when they're projecting a dreamy town. Everything about this place and the community around it is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connersville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Twice now we have stayed at the Rainbow Inn prior to moving to Idyllwild - once for our 15th Anniversary and once just before moving - and both times were absolutely perfect. The owner John is a perfect host, warm & welcoming to all. The rooms are great - from the smaller "cozy" rooms to the bigger luxury room with the amazing tub with the jacuzzi jets. Located along Strawberry Creek, the place is absolutely beautiful and offers gorgeous views to relax and let go all your worries and stresses from the "Big City" while listening to the creek. Wake up in the morning to coffee brewing and relax around the table with the other guests while eating a great home cooked breakfast. While you are there, don't forget to check out some of the great hand crocheted scarves/shawls or handcrafted jewelry John has for sale, too!

Room Tip: If in doubt, call and talk to John to help pick a good room best suited for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The host, John Simpson, will make you not only welcome but like you are home! The freshly prepared breakfast is to die for! The B&B is kept immaculate and the rooms are very comfortable. Their extensive DVD and book library is beyond great. Grab a book and sit out on the balcony with the Strawberry Creek babbling in the background and let yourself go! Ican't justify the greatness of this place in writing! You must see it for yourself!

Room Tip: Ask for the Sunset Room for the relaxing whirlpool bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Lon & John are perfect hosts of a perfect B&B. My partner and I spent our anniversary here and had a wonderful weekend. From the warm and cozy room, to the relaxing guest lounge, to the friendly and healthy breakfast - everything was perfect. We loved the company of our hosts and other guests. The cheese and wine was a nice bonus. We will be back. Richard & Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed in the Swan Lake suite one night for our 47th anniversary. Lon & John made us feel like we were special friends that had dropped in for an overnighter. Great room...awesome breakfast! We managed to pick a night when Ma Nature decided to lay down about 10" of cold, white, fluffy stuff and, although it made getting around town a little challenging, it was beautiful and made us appreciate the fireplace in our room even more. Lon even went so far as to brush the snow off our (and all the other guest's) vehicles any time we were heading out. This was our 1st B&B and it exceeded all our hopes and expectations.

Highly recommended!

Thanks Lon & John!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 54420 South Circle Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rainbow Inn offers five luxuriously appointed guest rooms each with their own private bath and many with their own fireplace. Rooms also feature wi-fi internet connectivity, cable TV, DVD players, refrigerators, access to an extensive library of DVD’s, six-hundred thread count sheets and in-room coffee makers.Whether it’s for one or 100, the Rainbow Inn on Strawberry Creek provides you with the picture-perfect environment for a quiet getaway, romantic wedding, serene retreat or business conference. Bask amid the spectacular scenery of alpine forests, along our rushing mountain stream or in the unique shops, galleries and restaurants of our quaint village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Inn Bed And Breakfast
Rainbow Hotel Idyllwild

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.