We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit the spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
54420 South Circle Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
costa rica
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My girlfriend treated me to a weekend getaway at this place. The guys are amazing hosts. Very nice and creative breakfast. Quaint living room to hang out and chat with the other guests, and the place is set in a fantasy like town. This place is what movie directors are going for when they're projecting a dreamy town. Everything about this place and the community around it is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
37
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connersville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Twice now we have stayed at the Rainbow Inn prior to moving to Idyllwild - once for our 15th Anniversary and once just before moving - and both times were absolutely perfect. The owner John is a perfect host, warm & welcoming to all. The rooms are great - from the smaller "cozy" rooms to the bigger luxury room with the amazing tub with the jacuzzi jets. Located along Strawberry Creek, the place is absolutely beautiful and offers gorgeous views to relax and let go all your worries and stresses from the "Big City" while listening to the creek. Wake up in the morning to coffee brewing and relax around the table with the other guests while eating a great home cooked breakfast. While you are there, don't forget to check out some of the great hand crocheted scarves/shawls or handcrafted jewelry John has for sale, too!

Room Tip: If in doubt, call and talk to John to help pick a good room best suited for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The host, John Simpson, will make you not only welcome but like you are home! The freshly prepared breakfast is to die for! The B&B is kept immaculate and the rooms are very comfortable. Their extensive DVD and book library is beyond great. Grab a book and sit out on the balcony with the Strawberry Creek babbling in the background and let yourself go! Ican't justify the greatness of this place in writing! You must see it for yourself!

Room Tip: Ask for the Sunset Room for the relaxing whirlpool bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Lon & John are perfect hosts of a perfect B&B. My partner and I spent our anniversary here and had a wonderful weekend. From the warm and cozy room, to the relaxing guest lounge, to the friendly and healthy breakfast - everything was perfect. We loved the company of our hosts and other guests. The cheese and wine was a nice bonus. We will be back. Richard & Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed in the Swan Lake suite one night for our 47th anniversary. Lon & John made us feel like we were special friends that had dropped in for an overnighter. Great room...awesome breakfast! We managed to pick a night when Ma Nature decided to lay down about 10" of cold, white, fluffy stuff and, although it made getting around town a little challenging, it was beautiful and made us appreciate the fireplace in our room even more. Lon even went so far as to brush the snow off our (and all the other guest's) vehicles any time we were heading out. This was our 1st B&B and it exceeded all our hopes and expectations.

Highly recommended!

Thanks Lon & John!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had a great time here. We stayed in the Swan Suite and it was awesome! John and Lon are great hosts! We definitely recommend Rainbow Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed overnight on a Friday and couldn't be more pleased. This very quaint B&B was our first trip to Idyllwild as well as our first time ever staying in a B&B. Lon the owner was so sweet! We didn't get the chance to meet john his partner fut Lon was the perfect host. The Inn is very welcoming and warm. The room was very clean! He gives you all the best information about what to do and where to eat in Idyllwild. Breakfast was amazing and Lon was very accomodating. The grounds are clean and well kept, the yard is amazing with the creek running behind the property. We relaxed in the double Hammock haning between 2 large trees. It was nice to stay somewhere with real towels and not thin hotel towels. Lon really makes you feel at home. Like you are just stopping in to visit a family member! I hope to go back some day for a longer stay. :0)

Room Tip: all the rooms are decorated really nicely and looked comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 54420 South Circle Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rainbow Inn offers five luxuriously appointed guest rooms each with their own private bath and many with their own fireplace. Rooms also feature wi-fi internet connectivity, cable TV, DVD players, refrigerators, access to an extensive library of DVD’s, six-hundred thread count sheets and in-room coffee makers.Whether it’s for one or 100, the Rainbow Inn on Strawberry Creek provides you with the picture-perfect environment for a quiet getaway, romantic wedding, serene retreat or business conference. Bask amid the spectacular scenery of alpine forests, along our rushing mountain stream or in the unique shops, galleries and restaurants of our quaint village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Inn Bed And Breakfast
Rainbow Hotel Idyllwild

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.