We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“idylllwild film festival weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Pines Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silver Pines Lodge to your Saves list
Silver Pines Lodge
25955 Cedar Street, P.O. Box 1171, Idyllwild, CA 92549   |  
Hotel amenities
Sun City, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“idylllwild film festival weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

went up to stAy in the last room that manager Chris had and accordingly nAmed wIld Strawberry the window looks out over the .koi pond, there was snow. this place is homey and is right in town.it is 80years old and in the main lodge is a huge stone fireplace. after chowing down some of the local Chinese I was off to the races. the film festival.Will be back soon Janet heidler

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Hollywood, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent a couple days here recently and it was just great. We were on our motorcycles and a storm was coming in - Chris found a great place for us to park our bikes out of the rain and gave us perfect suggestions for dinner and lunch the next day. The room was just what expected and wanted - clean and spacious with a sense of history that made it feel like it belonged in the peaceful mountain surrounding. Thanks Chris and Silver Pines - we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Ask Chris to recommend a room - she found the perfect room for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Idyllwild for years, and the Silver Pines Lodge is our favorite place to stay. Silver Pines has it all: right there in town, you can walk anywhere; right on Strawberry Creek, very quiet and peaceful; a variety of attractive and very livable rooms, we usually one with a refrigerator and stove; very reasonable rates. We like the common lodge area.

A story. A couple of years ago, my wife and I joined the Idyllwild wilderness patrol, and this opened up other lodging opportunities for us. One time we got a cabin through our patrol connections, and, when we arrived, we realized that we had forgotten to bring sheets and towels! After dismissing a few brilliant ideas like creating sheets out of paper towels, we got this idea: let's give Chris at Silver Pines a call and see if we can't rent some sheets and towels from her. She ended up loaning us the sheets and towels at no charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We really loved the atmosphere. Our room had a lilac theme and was very enjoyable. We loved the fish pond with Koi and the big trees all around. Close enough to town to walk and other nice hikes around. We will go back. Everyone we met there was friendly and helpful. Especially Chris. She even gave me plants from her pond for mine. No swimming pool or fitness room but plenty of places to walk or hike. The lodge was the first theater in town and even though it was built long ago the room are updated. Very nice bathroom. I got to look in most of the rooms and they each have a theme and are fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed their during a conference for my wife's work. While we were there, it snowed about 8"(an unusal mid April snow storm). Our cabin was nicely furnished (table, chairs, couch that made into a bed, referigerator, microwave and wood burning fireplace). The cabin was very clean and comfortable and the grounds were beautuful. We could see Strawberry creek from our back porch). They have a Koi pond with a waterfall and even in the snow, it was a nice relaxing place to visit. The lodge is fialrly large with a very big, warm, comfy fireplace surrounded by couches, loveseats and rocking chairs. On Satrueay morning (the snow fell all night Friday), they had the roads cleared fairly early and they had all of the pathways shoveled in and around the property so you could get around esaily and safely without getting wet or snow all over you. These cabins are within 5 minutes walking distance to the center of town. Idyllwild is a great, small mountain community w ith many parks, shops and great restaurants. It is one of Southern California's gems. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrieta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We've been staying at the Silver Pines for quite a few years and have our "favorite" seasonal cabins which are very familiar and comfortable as soon as we arrive. The owner, Chris, is friendly and cheerful and is either on the premises or has very attentive people who fill in for her if she is out or up at her other place, Creekhouse (very eleglant). We like the cabins since they have kitchens, room to move about and porches to relax and sit and listen to Strawberry Creek. We just visited and the music from the creek lulled us to sleep. I love the Pioneer Cabin especially in Winter and early Spring and the Great Outdoors in Summer and Fall. It is a short walk to the center of Idyllwild so it's also very convenient. We love the hiking nearby and couldn't be happier here. I believe Idyllwild has a Vortex that calms the soul and opens the mind. What a gift so close to home.

Room Tip: In the Spring rooms overlooking Strawberry Creek are the best because the sound lulls you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This place is one of our favorites. It's not the lap of luxury, there is no spa, no onsite bar or restaurant, but each of the cabins or rooms are set up for at least two and up to 5 or 6 (maybe more) people. Each one has a kitchen and there's coffee provided in case you didn't bring any. There's a fireplace (that's not gas), a delightful koi pond with sitting spots, a trail down the creek, great views of the woods... what's not to like.
And the proprietor couldn't be friendlier. Questions about local hikes, restaurants, properties, things to do are welcomed and answered completely as if you were the relatives (the fun ones) who just came in to visit after too long away. You might even get a special invitation to a special community event.
This is the perfect picture of a getaway. The village has it's own charm, everything is walkable. Don't expect the Hilton or the fancy resort, but do expect some of the warmest, friendliest service and the comfort of your favorite sweater.
We've been here a number of times and we're not the only ones who just keep coming back.

Room Tip: Expect each room or cabin to have it's own theme. It's not a loud party place and we hardly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Pines Lodge

Address: 25955 Cedar Street, P.O. Box 1171, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Pines Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.