We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Resort Near the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   21100 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5307   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Eat, Sleep, Surf and Park
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Huntington Beach
Seattle
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very Nice Resort Near the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on a business trip, and it was a very comfortable stay. The room I was in had two queen beds and was quite large. Top notch decor, and the staff was very friendly and efficient. Beds were very comfortable. Note, that there is a daily parking fee of $35 for valet and $50 for self-parking. The wireless Internet access is not free in the hotel room, but my company had a special deal with Hilton which allowed me access. Internet speeds were fine.

This hotel has a very nice restaurant (6:30a breakfast open time), pool, hot tub, and fitness center (with free weights, universal machine, and treadmills, elliptical trainers, bike).

The hotel isn't actually on the beach, but right across the Pacific Coast Highway. There are no other restaurants immediately next to this property, but there are numerous restaurants, bars, etc. just half a mile North of the hotel within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    213
    64
    30
    21
See reviews for
220
225
34
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed at this resort hotel in June 2013 and it was such a wonderful experience. I scheduled the trip last minute after my original out of country vacation had to be postponed. This turned out to be a fabulous vacation.

Since I had to change plans at the last minute, my chihuahua was my traveling companion. This resort if VERY dog friendly but still very clean and beautiful. I had a beautiful room with
the best view you could want. The property is just across the highway from the beach and the location is perfect for walking, shopping, dining, and just enjoying the sand and sea!

ALL staff members were helpful, friendly, and willing to go above and beyond. I found the little market perfect for snacks and small meals and the restaurant and room service were great as well. All of the meals that I had were very good and I thought they were a good value as well.

The pool area is very nice, well kept, and plenty of lounge chairs and towels. The polynesian style show they have at poolside was fun and well done.

I definitely plan to vacation here again.

Room Tip: I had a sunset room and it was well worth it. It was on the fifth level so expansive view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had another great stay at the Hilton Huntington Beach for an annual leaadership program alumni conference. The meeting room, accomodations, meals and location are perfect for this meeting. I am looking forward to attending again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la palma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Pricey but worth it if you get a room a with a balcony. The grounds are outstanding and several places to choose to eat some excellent. Lovely pool area.The staff goes out of their way to be accomodating. My daughter and I had a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent a week at this beach resort in late February. It was good on many levels. It is fairly close to the beach, has nice clean rooms and good housekeeping services, and has a welcoming happy hour. But it was also not so great on other levels. The staff were rather distant and snobby, the restaurant served mediocre food, and the resort was rather pricey for what you got. It certainly is a great location and a fairly nice property. But we doubt we would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

For walking the beach into the main street, this hotel is very nicely situated. It also has a good, albeit expensive, restaurant. But it was lacking in the sort of ambiance that is needed for a relaxed resort. First, as a diamond member I was disappointed with the lack of privilege. A very limited cold buffet breakfast (although the coupon could be used as a discount on hot items), and a 20 % off coupon for the restaurant was scant reward compared with other locations with nice executive lounges etc. Overall, the staff were business like and not particularly friendly -- unusual in Hilton brand hotels. And some of the wait staff were very patriarchal -- even asking my husband if he would like coffee and orange juice and then giving me whatever he said he wanted. In addition, the hotel was busy with large group meetings. My final criticism is that all other buildings in the area - including the neighboring Hyatt - were relatively low-rise. The Hilton tower was aberrant and something of a blight on the landscape.

Room Tip: almost all have some sort of ocean view - higher and on side opposite to main road would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Spent one night in a $400.00 suite and it was dark, furniture broken, lights delayed in turning on, and television connection went in and out. I had to pay for internet connection which I thought was a little ridiculous. On the internet it made it seem like the beach was right there. I was on the second floor and had a great view of the RV parking across the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Michelle J.,

Thank you for your review. Your comments were instrumental in having our ownership conduct a complete review our suites, amenities, and their overall condition. As a partial result, we are now underway with renovations and upgrades to all of our suites in the hotel. Give us a month or so to complete these upgrades and then, if you would be so kind, give us another chance. I have seen the designers upgrades and you will not be disappointed!

Most Sincerely,

Scott O'Hanlon
Director of Marketing
The Waterfront Beach Resort, a Hilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Address: 21100 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Beach Resort, a Hilton Hotel is located on the picturesque coastline of Southern California, in the heart of Surf City USA™ in Huntington Beach, California. Book a room or oceanview suite and enjoy proximity to Disneyland(R) Resort, Knott's Berry Farm and the Aquarium of the Pacific. Join us for lunch or dinner at the famous Shades Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waterfront Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Huntington Beach
Hilton Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.