We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait & Switch” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Huntington Beach

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Huntington Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16301 Beach Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92647   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Huntington Beach
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bait & Switch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We did not enjoy are stay here , this hotel needs a complete overhaul. The staff has no customer service . They ration the scratchy bath towels and the breakfast is nasty. There were a lot of partier crowds making it hard to sleep. The website photos are very misleading the rooms are dingy and narrow . The elevator had duct tape instead of paint on the floor . There are better hotels in H.B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    72
    42
    23
    35
See reviews for
81
57
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed July 12, 2013 after seeing the reviews were decent. Drove from Oregon coast to be close to Huntington Beach. The hotel advertises 5 min from the beach and that very well may be the case if you are driving 80 miles hr with no lights. Plan on 15 minutes. Now the room. Omg terribly dirty, small and battered. This place is low budget and I feel completely ripped off at 199.00 per night plus taxes and their room safe charge. CIS Give me a beak and your head a shake and re name your property the dump fort in suites... Worst place I have ever stayed in ... I won't be back... If you need to get a sense of what I'm getting at.. Take a tour of horror show room 108 and check out the moldy bathroom ceiling. Shame on you

Room Tip: Keep driving do not pass go do not send two hundred dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHB12, General Manager at Comfort Suites Huntington Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete the online review. I would like to go over a few the issues you mention in this review

First of all, we do not advertise or mention anywhere that we 5 minutes away from the beach. All the websites list that the Comfort Suites Huntington Beach is 4.3 miles from Huntington Beach pier so I don’t know why you would assume that we are 5 minutes from the beach.

I did take a “tour” of the room you were in and honestly I did not see what you describe in your review. I am sorry you feel that you had to write this review but I want to let everyone know that we work very hard in maintaining good service and quality accommodations for all our guests.

There is always room for improvement therefore I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Comfort Suites
16301 Beach Boulevard
Huntington Beach CA. 92647
714-841-1812
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was a great value, very clean, free breakfast, now who could complain about that, only if you were sleeping in a fox-hole. We stayed 2 nights with no problems, no complaints.
Location was also central to everything, close to great shopping, dining and the beach. Staff was great, towels were plentiful for showing and swimming.

Room Tip: Ask for a map book at the desk for dining, streets and shopping.....big help if your not a local.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHB12, Manager at Comfort Suites Huntington Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Owen,


Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Sachin Amin
General Manager
Comfort Suites
714-841-1812
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is disgusting the room was so dirty that we were not even comfortable taking our shoes off. We have a toddler and didn't want him to touch anything. The bathroom was dirty and there we stains all over the comforter...would have rather slept in my car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHB12, Manager at Comfort Suites Huntington Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Zebulin,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Sachin Amin
General Manager
Comfort Suites
714-841-1812
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days and all was great. It's not a new hotel, but it was clean. Had plenty of towels and the room was large with a king bed, and a couch. I really liked the balcony, although it was a little noisy from Beach Blvd traffic. The hot breakfast was great with lots to choose from. All was good, and the next time my Mom's house in HB is full, I'll stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHB12, Manager at Comfort Suites Huntington Beach, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The pictures of the hotel are incredibly deceiving, this hotel is shabby and rundown, no idea how anyone could give this hotel a 4/5.
First off, we arrived in the lobby which is actually pretty nice, but the nice ends there. We wheeled our broken luggage cart (they were all wobbly) into the elevator, which was a disturbing ride, with a flickering light and ceiling panel coming unhinged and looked like it would fall on us any minute, so we decided not to use the elevator the rest of the trip.

The rooms were small, and so packed with furniture, we could barely move. The inside of the door was dented a lot, like it had been kicked repeatedly for years, there was exposed plaster in the room, and huge holes underneath the sink area (also looked kicked in). The carpet was sticky, was completely grossed out out, so wore my shoes the whole stay. there was a sign in the bathroom with a penned in towel count warning guests that all towels were accounted for and they will know if you steal them O.o, that's always a sign of a great hotel when they have to warn their guest against stealing their scratchy towels. It was also impossible to brush your teeth with the door open, or turn on the bathroom light even due to the size and layout of the room.

The walls are incredibly thin, so a good night sleep is nearly impossible, made worse by the 24hr jack in the box across the parking lot, you can hear the fast food drive through intercom as if they are taking orders in your room...all night.

All in all it wasn't worth the money. I've never stayed at a Comfort Suites this shabby, I used to think there was a certain standard you can expect from the brand, but apparently not.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose a room with a balcony, and stayed for 2 nights. The first night was a total disaster - there was a party in the room above us! The night manager dealt with it very well. However, the balcony was covered in spilled drinks, bottles and cigarette butts from the floor above. The worst thing, though, was that they apparently had a jacuzzi up there, which they kept running for a looooong time. When it was running, our room had a kind of rhythmic thud that sounded a bit like being in the cab of a very big truck.
Since the people upstairs were staying another night, we were moved to another room - but with no graciousness at all on the part of the daytime manager. I understand that these things happen when you're staying in hotels - but somehow we were made to feel as though we were the troublemakers. It wasn't a good experience at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHB12, Manager at Comfort Suites Huntington Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Jacs,

Please accept our sincere apologize. There is no excuse to have such an experience while you stayed with us at Comfort Suites. I called our cleaning staff meeting and retrained them how to clean rooms with balcony.

Regards,

Sachin Amin

G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Huntington Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Huntington Beach

Address: 16301 Beach Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Huntington Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites hotel is ideally located in the heart of Huntington Beach, close to the Huntington Beach Pier and Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve. This Huntington Beach, CA hotel is minutes from area attractions, including Disneyland Resort, Downtown Disney's Garden Walk, Knott's Berry Farm, Queen Mary, Universal Studios Hollywood, Catalina Island, Anaheim Convention Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, the OC Fair & Event Center, the Orange County Performing Arts center, Bella Terra Shopping Mall, Southcoast Plaza and Block of the Orange Huntington Beach vacation hotels. The Long Beach Airport is 11 miles, the Los Angeles International Airport is 30 miles and the John Wayne Airport is 10 miles from the hotel. There is a wide variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the area within minimum walking distance. Guests will enjoy many full-service amenities, including the free SAVORY STARTS breakfast which features a rotational menu, free weekday newspaper, free wireless high-speed Internet access, Southern California Hotels fitness center, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. This Huntington Beach, CA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like computer hook-ups, voice mail and access to copy and fax services. Hotel's near Surf City USA. All guest rooms include refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, massage shower head and pillow-top mattress. The Specially designed Theme Suites come equipped with balcony, loveseat and free champagne. Call the hotel direct and ask about Special rates for these elegantly decorated Theme Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Huntington Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Huntington Beach Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Huntington Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.