We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntington Surf Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huntington Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huntington Surf Inn
720 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Huntington Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at. I would recomend it to anyone and everyone! The rooms are so neat and the sitting area was really relaxing. I loved how close it was to the beach. I defiantly plan on staying here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    52
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
51
51
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great place to stay in Huntington Beach. Excellent service and James and Julie made us very welcome and feel right at home. It is located directly across from the surf beach and approx. 150m walk from main street. Would definitely stay here again! We had room 9.. spot on :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murfreesboro,Tn
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice small hotel without the $27 a day parking fee. Manager was very nice and provide my wife a blanket. We stayed in #8 room and was very quite. Located two blocks from the pier and several nice Resturant. Checkout Rubys at the end of the pier and Dukes. Very safe area to walk around after dark. We had a great stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are return visitors to the Surf Inn...The rooms are clean, and each has a different theme.Julie ,and James manage the place and made us feel like being with family ! Ideal location, just steps away from the beach, with lots of shopping close by. For us, this is the only place to stay for a great getaway !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear surfin59,

We are moved always by comments from guests like yourselves who are like family to us indeed.
Hope to see you again soon and thank you for pointing out our strengths in customer service and our great location.
Please take care,

L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Had horrible experience w best western across the street so we came here and boy are we glad we did!! The women up front (Julie) was more then friendly, rooms are super cute, clean, convenient to Main Street and beds a comfortable. Defiantly will be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My family and I stayed in 3 rooms for 4 days as we were in town to hold a Memorial Service for my brother. He was a lifelong surfer and his favorite place was Bolsa Chica State Beach, just up the road from the Huntington Surf Inn.

The hotel is in a perfect location, within a short walking distance to Huntington Beach Pier, beach and restaurants and shopping. Nice to be able to stroll down rather than have to hop in the car and look for a place to park. The couple who run the place are good people. The rooms are a nice size and were perfect for our needs. It is right across the street from the ocean and sitting on the outside terrace is quite peaceful.

There are two items that need attention and this place will be perfect.

The rooms need a thorough cleaning. There was dirt/crumbs, enough to make a visible pile in my sister-in-laws's room. She complained to the office and it was cleaned up right away. We had hair stuck onto the walls of the bathroom, around the baseboards and in the shower. There was accumulated dust in spots on the furniture. Nothing horrible or gross, just inattention to detail. I should have said something, but I was in a bad place, emotionally, and just didn't have the energy to complain.

The second thing would be to fix the gap at the bottom of the outside door. The hotel is right on the Pacific Coast Highway and you can hear the traffic. We all tried stuffing towels under it, but could still hear the cars. I use ear plugs, but they didn't help. We could all fall to sleep but were all awoken, early in the morning hours, as the traffic began to pick up again. Again, a simple fix.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the 2nd floor, with parking underneath. They all face onto the side street, of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you want some quiet, go for room 8. It's furthest away from Pacific Highway and you can barely hear any noise pollution. Then again, I went in the middle of the low season, so I can't speak for peak season. When you contact them, you get a reply as if it's a big business of some sort. It's a family business. The husband or wife will be the one replying. They are very friendly people and will do everything they can to help you.

Obviously there was different manageI don't know about the rest of the rooms, but I'll write my review purely from what I experienced. I had a large flat screen TV, Queen sized (comfy) bed, private bathroom (each room has one), a small fridge, microwave, chest of drawers, a table with two chairs and a light, and unlimited fast wifi.

Bedrooms are made on demand, rather than daily. There is one parking bay per room below the house (the house is raised). There is a raised balcony opposite room 1 that looks out to the street and beach. Nice place to chill, that is. There is a CVS/Pharmacy literally a block away that supplies most consumables you'll need and Zack's surfboard has an alright range of boards on Huntington beach faced Northside of the pier.

I had three issues with the place. Firstly, aside from the microwave there are no cooking appliances. Main street is only a few blocks away though and that has an array of eating options. Secondly, there is no cutlery immediately available. This problem is solved easily though as the owners have a plentiful supply of paper plates and plastic eating utensils. Third, there are no showers or anywhere to hang clothes to dry (not that I saw anywhere). There is a laundromat on (if I remember correctly) 17th & Olive streets (small shopping complex - remember to take heaps of quarters!). The above problems are relatively easily solved, hence a very good rating.

Room Tip: Room 1 is closest to the road, room 8 the furthest (opposite the office) and 9 is adjacent the offic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Address: 720 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntington Surf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Huntington Surf Inn to your Saves list