We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO AHEAD, LET THE DOGS OUT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntington Dog Beach

Huntington Dog Beach
Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Huntington Beach
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“GO AHEAD, LET THE DOGS OUT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Well, OK, it's not exactly a place to put a towel down and sunbathe for the day, but there's no question the dogs love it. Their owners too! What I find remarkable is the dogs are in such good humor they seem to -- at least for the most part -- avoid fighting over territory or whatever else dogs fight over. And that's good!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    59
    11
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bark heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'm not a dog person, but the people who are swear by this place for their canine friends. Looks like everyone polices the poop.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Wales. UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Only in California !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Really missed our dogs visiting Dog Beach the dogs have a ball at this beach but it also was family friendly, worth a visit

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“DOGS DOGS AND MORE DOGS, very few cities allow a free dog, good for HB.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My Golden has never been happier!!!!He run crazy and leaps in the waves, I know He's smiling, but his tounge is hanging out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville,CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our dogs enjoyed their off leash experience at Huntington Dog Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We recently spent a week traveling around Southern California in an RV with our two mid-sized dogs. We heard about this dog beach from a waitress who said she takes her dog there regularly and has never had any problems. Our dogs had so much fun running off-leash on the beach and playing in the water. There is approximately 1 1/2 miles of beach dedicated for dog use, which means that even if there are quite a few people and dogs there, it doesn't seem crowded. We were there in early December and the weather was 72 degrees ! Everyone we saw picked up after their dogs and the beach was very clean the day we were there. The only drawback for us was that there is no RV parking at the dog beach, so we had to use a State run parking lot approx 1/4 mile away and then walk to the beach. Cost for parking was $20 for the day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntington Dog Beach also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Huntington Dog Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntington Dog Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.