We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve

Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve
Entrance at Warner Ave. and PCH, (opposite Bolsa Chica State Beach), Huntington Beach, CA
714 846 1114
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching
Attraction details
california
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We always enjoy coming to this lovely area, and it's hard to believe it is adjacent to the ocean, just on the other side of PCH. We bring our grandkids to hike along the pathway, and they delight in getting to see the vast birdlife up close. We feel very fortunate to have this special place in our backyard and are grateful to the efforts of so many people to preserve it for generations to come.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birders Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I go to this place every month of the year. In fact, when you cross the bridge if you see a female with a camera looking for birds to photograph it just might be me! Be sure to say HI! Truely I love this place. There are trails and large ponds and so many types of birds! Worth the visit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great walking/hiking outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful walk or hike off the main highway. Bird watching and nature in a quiet setting along a well maintained dirt trail. Parking at the start of the trail.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love the wild life.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a cool little spot. When I was there the water was full of jellies. They were so interesting to watch. There is something pleasing about walking around the ocean area with the smell of the sea, and all the sea life.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Okay, I guess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a large ecological reserve with some walking/jogging trails around the outer edge. It's not very attractive and while we did walk about 4 miles, we didn't really see anything new after the first mile. There are several brown pelicans (endangered) here and watching them fishing in the early morning was quite interesting. It would be a lot better if there weren't oil rigs throughout the place and for an ecological reserve there seemed to be a lot of trash.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.