We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful county, nice place to have a breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Shack Cafe

Sugar Shack Cafe
213 1/2 Main St, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5127
(714) 536-0355
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Sao Paulo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beatiful county, nice place to have a breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Try the breakfast, excellent flavor. If it's sunny, seat outside.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    93
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
01720
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Energetic Location; Enjoyed our breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Well we expected a wait and we did have a 30 minute wait on a Friday morning. The place has an energetic buzz but it works. The food was fine - no disappointment. What we liked was the menu flexibility - ordering 1 or more of an item. Mix and match without ending up with a costly meal. The omelets were very good etc. The staff was helpul with good follow-up. Courteous despite being busy.

My only suggestion is that they run 2 self-service lists - one for the front and one for the patio so most folks sign up on both resulting in lists that are longer than they really are and it does waste time. SWould be better to have one and just send people where the opening is available.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We recently visited Huntington Beach with our family on spring break and ate at the Sugar Shack for breakfast. Breakfast was great, service was friendly and quick. Go early because on Fridays and weekends there can be up to an hour wait to get a table. We will definitely go back next time we're in the area.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
1 review
“Sucks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Horrible! Horrible! Horrible!! I think that the people writing the reviews for this place must work here. I was here today for lunch and had the special - baked chicken and it was bad. It was very bland and the gravy was cold. You knew instantly that the corn was frozen and the mash potato's we cold as well. My wife was very disappointed with her BBQ chicken sandwich as well. I can't figure out how this place rates so well:(

  • Visited December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
big rapids
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010 via mobile

We have a family of 5 and stumbled on it. The service and food were top notch. It was also a great little history stop for us. We learned the story of Timmy Turner and his wife waited on us. She was the best as Timmy would say story teller. Enjoyed the entire experience.
It's a must stop for SoCal
If we every get back from Michigan we'll go again

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Shack Cafe also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Sugar Shack Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Shack Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.