We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place..... do u think ur worthy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
7979 Center Ave, Huntington Beach, CA 92647-3052
+1 714-891-4666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 493 Restaurants in Huntington Beach
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Beach Avenue
Transit: Public bus transit, 29 North Route, Huntington Beach to La Habra - Bus stop #2718.
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“excellent place..... do u think ur worthy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Buca is simply a place that is perfect for all occasions. If you luv italian food this is the place. Everything is bulk,huge,troth.... whatever you wanna call it. This is a perfect place for gathering of all sizes. If you have 10 people and order 4 dishes you are good to go. Everything is huge and good tasting. The pizza is surfboard size and paper thin and is ever so tasty.The service is always excellent, major props to all at Buca

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Food - Missing Hospitality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The food was good for a big chain restaurant. Service is family style, so probably better for a group. We went as a group of three couples and had a great time. Food was good: spicy calamari, salad, chicken saltimbocca, three cheese ravioli and eggplant parmigiana. All good choices. Servings come in large “feed 6,” or small “feed 3” and we got large on everything but the chicken. There was plenty of food, but not the excess that math would suggest (27 servings for 6 people). Our server helped us order the right quantity for our six average to smaller eaters; we only had a single container of left-overs, which our three teenagers at home devoured immediately.
I would have given a 4 star-very good rating except for the lack of a few hospitalities. First, the hostess guy forced us into a table that was way too small (gave us a choice of small or smaller when we asked), but the waitress saw our sardine-can condition and graciously moved us to a perfect table (in a room with plenty of large open tables). I don’t know the hostess job very well ( e.g. balancing who goes to a certain server), but I can’t imagine anything being more important than customers minimal comfort.
When the meal was done and plates were cleared we were still enjoying our visit with friends that we only see once a year. It was about 30 minutes before closing (9:30pm) and the restaurant was pretty cleared out, except for a private party in the next room. I don’t know if the air conditioning system was adjusting to all the people leaving, but our room was all of a sudden receiving blasting heat to the point that we soon had to leave in discomfort. Outside that room was perfectly cool with the ac still working fine. They wouldn’t have cranked up the thermostat in our room just to get us out so they could leave a few minutes early, would they? Whatever the cause, it was not the nice finishing touch on the evening you would hope for.
Bottom line: it takes more than putting out acceptable food and corporate decorating to make an exceptional dining experience. Hospitality is key and unfortunately a couple of people can undo everyone else’s good efforts. I would have mentioned this to someone as we were leaving if anyone had cared to ask, or even to say good bye.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Noisy place but fun for groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We went here Saturday night. You have to be careful on how you order or you will have more food than you can imagine. The food is always good. The wait can be long its very unpredictable. I would make a reservation if you have more than 2.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
“A little better than average Italian food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Had a client business lunch here today and it was a little better than average Italian food. The menu is very traditional Italian fair and your chose of either family or individual size portions. I think It's one of the better Italian chain restaurants in the U.S. The food is nothing great, but it's good and you get good size portions. This is the second time I have been here and it's always busy and the service is good. I plan on returning here to eat when I'm in the area again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Have had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

For an Italian place the pasta was so over cooked I couldn't even eat it and it was ordered al dente. Prices are a bit Hugh too

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buca di Beppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.