We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I have stayed in a hovel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18382 Beach Boulevard, Huntington Beach, CA 92648 (Formerly Starlight Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Now I have stayed in a hovel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Curse me for not using Trip Advisor when booking this hotel because then I would have known ~ that little restful sleep occurs when sleeping on a poorly covered king box spring ~that a motel in 2012 does NOT provide ANY form of soap ~ that a malfunctioning shower head can and will spray the bathroom, the floor, and the adjoining dressing area in 2.0 seconds ~ that three kinds of bugs (ants, gnats and daddy longlegs) live in hovels in Huntington Beach in November. Beyond that, the door did lock and the taped window kept most of the fog at bay. Glad to leave this one behind. People, please do not make my mistake. Use Trip Advisor EVERY time you leave home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    4
    9
See reviews for
3
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Overall a good stay.. Friendly staff and clean rooms but quite far away from the beach and "mainstreet" with all the restaurants and shops.. Really liked Huntington beach itself, awesome beach and lots of great restaurants!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We joked about how bad it was... We survived... Most Surrounding Hotels are very expensive... so we were glad to at least have something... The WiFi worked and no extra charge for it.... Old round Tube TV with broken DirecTV - he came and fixed it though. The Kicker - there was pistachio shells all over the mat and the walkway in the front of our room, we asked if they would sweep them up - they swepped up some of them - Hilarious, like - you cant sweep up all of them. We never did get rid of all the pistachio shells at our front entrance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

The outside looked nice/average. They only had 1 room left and it was a smoking room. I don't smoke but he was nice enough to let me look at the room to check it out. I did a quick look just see how bad the smell was and it wasn't that bad. He told me it was going to be 84 but gave it to me for 75.
I really should of took a better look at the room first. But it was a Friday night and everything else around was sold out or close to 200. for the night. They offered free HBO but there was no channels at all. So no t.v
I didn't feel comfortable sleeping there. It felt dirty. The walls looked dirty. The shower curtain was filthy and so was the window curtain. Counter tops and desk looked dirty. The towels looked stained and had hair on them. The window had duck tape around it. The peep hole had toilet paper in it. The bathroom window had no window! Someone could crawl through it if they wanted to. I really don't like leaving bad reviews but I do hope the owner will look at this and actually try to put some effort into making this place better.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is the worst motel I've ever stayed in my life. The walls were full of dirt n hand print, hair in the beds, ants in the bathroom and it smelled like curry. Don't stay here unless u have too!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Ok, we were tired of searching for a place to stay in that night and as nearly all the other hotels had no vacancy we were happy to have a place to stay for the night. We didn't expect the best and the first impression was slightly ok (no Cockroaches). But the bathroom was really dirty and smelled like an ash tray. The first night was ok because 75 dollars are cheap for 5 people and we decided to stay another night and then the real nightmare began. We had nearly 30 bed bugs killed until we moved out. My body looked like streusel cake the next few days.

If you search for a cheap place to stay, you can do that, but it can ruin the rest of your trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Came here as a last resort and regretted not spending the extra money for a better place. Everything is really dirty, the comforter smelled like urine, and there were ants in the bed. Not to mention the questionble stains on the chairs and drapes. Avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 18382 Beach Boulevard, Huntington Beach, CA 92648 (Formerly Starlight Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rodeway Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.