We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property with ocean views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Beautiful property with ocean views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are Hyatt Diamond so we expect a lot. Stayed here six nights recently and loved it. The service was excellent - restaurant staff, spa staff, concierge, and Shannon at the front desk - good job! The property is well kept and beautifully landscaped. It is right across the street from the beach walk. I was concerned about noise from PCH highway but somehow they have kept it quiet! Park across the street along the beach to save money. Bed was comfortable and decor was warm and inviting. Quaint shops including Gallery run by Peggy - stop in she is delightful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    736
    309
    87
    38
    21
See reviews for
481
260
28
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Hyatt's location (adjacent to the beach and walking distance to downtown) is what will draw most travelers to this amazing resort, but the seasoned traveler will notice the little things. The grounds were immaculate (grooming and cleanliness). The staff could not have been more pleasant. In my opinion, a motivated/ happy staff can be the difference between a good and a great experience. From the front desk agent, (who greeted me with a huge smile and inquired as to where I was from and why I was in town) to the baristas at the Surf City Grocers (they remembered each morning how I liked my coffee from the day before) to the front drive/ door person/ valet staff (they were always smiling and thanking me), I truly was impressed. Although it was a little too cold for the pools, I walked the resort and noticed that they had multiple areas for business travelers (pool in the middle of the hotel) or families (pools with waterslides) and couples (grotto of hot tubs) to enjoy. The hotel has a resort fee which I found to be beneficial as I used the fitness center, internet in the room and sauna in the spa along with drinking the bottled water each day. Overall, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed at (I am lucky enough to stay at only 4 and 5 diamond hotels) due to unmistakable sense of place in Surf City USA.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Really a nice place and I would give it 4 stars but 20 bucks to park and one ply toilet paper for a 275 dollar room just dont get it for me!!!!!! Sorry, but if I'm paying the big bucks I want some bang for it! And on top a that if you want to use the steam room you pay a resort fee to boot!!!! if you are J Paul Getty go for it! And byot. Bring yer own toilet paper!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the comments regarding your February stay at the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort and Spa. We appreciate your sharing feedback regarding the toilet paper in particular and we thank you for recognizining the resort as a really nice place in general. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back as our guest in the future and thank you again for your suggestions.

With my best regards,

Eron Hodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I recently went to Huntington Beach for a sales convention.the staff was very accommodating and friendly. They upgraded my room without me asking! The food was phenomenal for a large convention. We all were very impressed. The walkway to the beach was very convenient too,
,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Hyatt Regency HB has become our family's favorite hotel/resort of all time. We were upgraded to the Catalina, a top-floor corner suite with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the grounds, the pool, with partial ocean view. The mediocre view did not bother us because our stay this time was off-season and the weather was overcast most of the time. However, this did not dampen our experience as we enjoyed the room so much, and the suite came with the Regency Club access, providing us with daily breakfast, snacks, and beverages throughout the day. Our young kids (3 and 5) loved it so much at this hotel that they wanted to stay "forever." A big plus is that there is a sky walk that takes you directly onto the beach. Again, being there off-season meant that we had the beach all to ourselves for the most part. My husband and I never liked spending much time in HB because it really isn't our vibe, but the Hyatt HB has changed our feelings completely. The people we encountered at the hotel and nearby are also extremely friendly and enthusiastic. We cannot wait to go back to the Hyatt HB!

Room Tip: Take advantage of the e-standby upgrade if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, great staff throughout the hotel. Food delicious. The 'surf restaurant' in particular had a great menu and fantasticly friendly staff. Comfortable rooms with the best bed. Would love to go back, such a relaxing place. Would have liked the option to be able to park our own car, but the valet parking was efficient, and friendly.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, co
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I'm not really a fancy resort/restaurant kind of guy. Also we were there for a series of business meetings and didn't get much chance to enjoy the amenities. But, I'll try to give a balanced review.

Very nice food, although not my style. Mostly, our meals were buffet-style, so I didn't have a chance to check out the restaurants.

Drinks seemed kind of overpriced at the bars.

The room was quite nice. Pillow-top on the bed a little soft for my tastes. Good size, room to set up your laptop and work. Strangely, although the TV was a nice flat screen, the signal didn't seem to be HD. It wasn't great, especially for the price posted, but it was nice.

Location was right across from the beach. We were in meetings all day and it was cool in the evening, so that wasn't great, but probably would be for a vacation.

Overall, I guess I'd say it's a real nice place if you go in knowing that it's quite expensive. If you're into that sort of thing, you'll probably really like it; if you're more of a plain person, it's probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa
Hyatt Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach
Huntington Beach Hyatt
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.