We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Huntington Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
SW Wales. UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lovely family resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

During our trip to California this summer our family stayed at this resort in August 2012 for 5 nights. We are a family of 5 2 adults & 3 children (ages 16 /14/ 10 years).
We loved the relaxed Mediterranean atmosphere of this hotel, and the wonderful beach location.
We stayed in a very spacious Governor’s Suite; it was overlooking the main pool and had a balcony with a fantastic view of the ocean.
The suite was very clean and comfortable for all the family.
We ate in The Californian for the breakfast buffet daily ,staff were friendly and accommodating. We also ate at Pete’s Sunset Grille the staff were lovely and food delicious.
The pool side bar staff were always on hand for food & snacks we found the portions a good standards & size.
The hotel is a 15 minute walk to Huntington, don’t miss the lovely market and resturants.
We also used the small hotel gym that had everything we needed. I highly recommend the lovely Spa the staff are very friendly and helpful, also the fire pits are lovely in the evening for a relaxing drink.
Downside as everyone says is the parking charge, Hyatt please include this cost as there is no alturnative.

Room Tip: Join the Hyatt's Presidents club ocean view's are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    377
    97
    40
    28
See reviews for
594
307
32
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was supposed to be one of the highlights of our summer vacation. I reserved a ocean view room on the club level (booked and prepaid everything more than 6 months in advance!) and even called ahead to make sure that we really get a nice room. They couldn't have cared less!!! Upon checking in I was told that there is no more room on the club level left and no ocean view either. The guy at the reservation desk went several times to talk to his supervisor - but no, nothing could be done. They offered a 50 USD off for the inconvenience - which is RIDICULOUS!!! We ended up in an accessible room (why that???) miles away from the club level and with no ocean view but a view (and horrible smell) of the mexican restaurant which belongs to the hotel. Although it all happened this summer I am still so p..., I stopped staying in Hyatt Hotels - which to that date was my favourite chain.
The club lounge was totally overcrowded and nothing special, the hotel mainly seemed to cater to conventions (and it was July!) and a constantly drunk tattoo-crowd (saw several people puking in the bushes around the pools, isn't that nice?).
I am giving 2 points instead of 1 because of the location, which is really fabulous. Hotel of no return...!!!

Room Tip: Stay next door at the Hilton Waterfront!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your experience at the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach over this past summer. We regret having fallen short of your expectations, as well as our own. Our team prides itself on addressing the needs of each guest we encounter to ensure they have a pleasant stay. Your comments will be shared with our team to help us improve upon any shortfalls or inconsistencies. Our Resort is synonomous with providing an exceptional experience for our guests, so we were happy to hear you felt the location was excellent and we certainly hope you'll reconsider giving Hyatt another opportunity in the future to restore your faith.

With my best regards,

Eron Hodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a great family hotel, walking distance to the beach. I must admit I was a little shocked when I checked out on the bill since it had a few hidden charges. Would recommend this hotel if you have kids but not so much if you are traveling for business or for a romantic stay.

Room Tip: This hotel is huge so be prepared to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This attractive upscale resort is normally out of our budget but I was able to get an online deal, so I splurged for one night. The staff is very friendly and useful. The room is a standard upscale hotel room, nothing remarkable, though the beds are very comfortable. Our room had a mini-fridge and a tiny coffee maker with Starbucks packets. The bathroom was quite capacious. The resort is lovely with nice landscaping and artworks and even though it was chilly, I enjoyed the spa grotto area. You can see the ocean from the pools and many of the rooms. The down side of this resort, aside from the cost, is that the Pacific Coast Highway runs just beneath it and you can hear highway noise from the pool areas. There are four hot tubs, one in its own attractive grotto area, though they had too much chlorine in them for my kids. They were getting quite itchy. I would suggest the resort regulate the chlorine based on occupancy, since if no one is in the pools, they don't need as much. I liked the little market which had reasonably priced sandwiches. Firepits are nice, too and the sunset views are spectacular. They have a kids' club, though I didn't need it. Small but well stocked fitness room open 24 hours with all modern machines. There was also a kid water park but I didn't see it. If you join the Hyatt loyalty club, you may be able to get them to give you a free upgrade. In addition to the room fee, they also charge a $28 resort fee and $29 for valet parking though you can park across at the city lot for less. We will be back!

Room Tip: If you join the Hyatt loyalty club you might be able to get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at this Hyatt for 2 nights in early December. Our room overlooked the ocean with a balcony, and the hotel provides easy access to the beach. The hotel was tastefully and beautifully decorated for the holiday, including a sand sculpture in the lobby. Our room was spacious and well-appointed. The grounds are beautiful, including a number of fountains, and beautiful flower gardens, and lots of places to sit, relax and enjoy the views. We enjoyed the hot cocoa and ginger cookies offered in the lobby each afternoon - delicious! The staff (front desk, valet, housekeeping and restaurant servers) was warm and welcoming, and eager to please. We also enjoyed the sunshine in the courtyard that is surrounded by several retail shops, including a great little art gallery (The Gallery HB) that features works by Dean Torrance of Jan & Dean fame, among others such as Sebastian Kruger. Parking is a bit expensive (valet only, too).

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Everyone was very pleasant and accommodating. The beds were super comfy, and the food was so nice. Super close to the beach, but also has pools and hot tubs. The property is lush and green, super enormous! The holiday decor was just enough. I would definitely stay here again. The only complaint I had, is poor cell phone service, but they can't do anything about that.
Watch out for hidden resort fees, and wifi.
Love this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This place is big so bring your walking shoes! This property must sit on several hundred acres and is a beautiful mission inspired gem of a hotel. The check in process was fast, efficient and very friendly. The Hotel has a small beach town feel with many great food options, shopping and easy beach access. I really enjoyed the location and all the ammenties located right on property. The beach access is a short walk over a pedestrian bridge. The rooms are big and very well appointed. We had a great ocean view room with a wonderful balcony on the 3rd floor. I could easily stay at this hotel for a week and never be bored.
The only issue we had while there was with the valet guys and check in area.....very long waits to get the car and they seem to give better service to the Mercedes Benz, Range Rover and Porsche clients than everyone else. They allow those clients to park whereever they like, leave their cars for long period of times and generally clog up the small pull in area. We had a rental car so we were regulated to "General Public" service level which at times was a bit rude and not very warm feeling which is ashame as its often your first and last impression.
That experience aside, this is a great hotel with tons of character, lots of charm and a great location to experience the great beaches of california.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.