We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I'd rate this hotel as a 4star 'plus'. It's certainly not 5 star or deluxe, but for the rates it charges I don't think you could be disappointed with what it has to offer. The rooms are well appointed, larger than average, beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are also oversized and reasonably modern. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Maybe one criticism is that the pool area is not large enough for the size of hotel and can get crowded. Don't be fooled by the marketing of the Slyders 'water park' - it's three small kiddie slides that will only keep the under 6s entertained, I would say. Prices are also reasonable for a hotel like this, with a retail area where you can get pizza's (delicious but very calorie laden) for delivery at the pool or your room and coffee and groceries if you need them at reasonable-ish prices. I booked through trivago.com and got a very good deal on this hotel. If you can get a great rate, then I would certainly recommend it. Just watch out, as other reviewers have mentioned the only parking option is $29 a day valet parking. So you need to view this as part of the room rate. I only used the spa on the day I left to get changed (no children allowed so we had not used it previously) and it did look very nice. All in all a good hotel, just across from the beach. Having read reviews that criticised the 'highway' right next to it, I would not think this should be a concern. It's not a highway, it's PCH and you won't be aware of it. I never heard a sound.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    735
    309
    87
    38
    21
See reviews for
481
259
28
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We've traveled the almost the entire coast during our 2 /1/2 week California stay and this was the best hotel/resort. It was gorgeous. The property is located on Huntington Beach, it has beautiful pools with poolside food service and warm towels as you exit the pool, hot tubs, fire pit for evening bonfires, restaurants, surf lessons and bike rentals on site, 24 hr. spacious fitness room (they even have washcloths in a fridge/cooler for after workouts), spa, mini grocery store on property, etc. This hotel has it all. Our kids said "I like this place better then Atlantis". It was a very relaxing stay. The kids had an amazing time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our family stayed here in August. The hotel is beautiful and the property is very large (lots of walking). There are two main pools. My youngest child loved the kids pool with the waterslide as well as visiting with the Koi fish near the spa. The beach is easily accessed by the private bridge over the road. The rooms are very nicely decorated and well maintained.

I had a couple of issues with this hotel which is why I did not give it an excellent rating. First, it is mandatory to valet park your car which is costly and when it is busy can take up to 20 minutes just to get your car. The cost of staying is high but as there are only a few hotels right on the beach, there are very few options.

We did eat at a couple of the restaurants at the hotel. The California restaurant severs a buffet breakfast which we found to have a poor selection and the order items were very average at best. We ate dinner at the grill which was much better and I would recommend it. The service and food were great. On the weekend there was a band playing which made it very festive and fun.

Overall, the service at the hotel was great and the front desk clerk responded quickly to our requests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was at the moved to the Hyatt Regency when my original choice hotel was full. What an amazing place compared to where I was originally planning on staying. Facilities are excellent and the size of the resort is impressive. Rooms were large and well appointed; quite a long walk from the main lifts if you're at the far end!

Not best for single business traveller (mainly a family/couples hotel) and beware long queues at valet parking with an excessive fee! Go on, try self-parking....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is gorgeous. The kids love, love the pool/waterside area. The grounds are kept perfectly lovely. The decor is a Spanish modern feel, so quite beautiful. I would image this would be the ideal wedding destination. Saw several weddings here.
Food is good. Do wish a larger selection at the pool. The red chair bar is cozy and relaxing.
We always have excellent waiters at the Californian. Good food!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were only able to stay for one night at this hotel, and wished that we could have stayed much longer. We enjoyed every minute there. From the very pleasant and helpful staff, to the gorgeous grounds, wonderful spa, and excellent meal at Pete's sunset grille, our experience was absolutely great and exceeded our expectations. Each staff member we encountered was gracious and went out of their way to assist us. Thank you to Linda, the masseuse at the spa, who gave me one of the best massages I've had in years! At Pete's Sunset Grille, the chef accommodated my husband who is a vegetarian with a delicious innovative, veggie meal. The room with our courtyard view was lovely and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for more, just a few more days at the resort!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

As you enter the property you take a deep sigh and know that this is truly a special place. The sprawling grounds are immaculately groomed. There are two pools to choose from, one for families the other for more adult enjoyment. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. There is a private bridge over Pacific Coast Highway that takes you to Surf City's famous wide and sandy beach. The resort is within walking distance of downtown restaurants and shops but there is a fun little shopping mall on the property as well. The staff are all very friendly, especially at "The Californian" reataurant where my husband and I enjoyed delicious breakfasts out on the patio each morning. Our 5-night stay here could not have been more pleasant and we can't wait to return here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.

At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa
Hyatt Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach
Huntington Beach Hyatt
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.