We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanview Motel

Save Saved
You added Oceanview Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Oceanview Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   16196 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92649-1808   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We also booked on Priceline and did not even get into the room. No office staff for 20 minutes, then when we spoke w/office staff they were rude. Was not given a refund either. Be smart and do not stay here. the scenery is not what you think......shame on you Oceanview Motel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    9
    6
    21
See reviews for
5
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver,Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here based on suggestions from family members. When we arrived they had just purchased a new key system and had not learned how to make keys so they finally got us a key that worked. The phones did not work and we were not able to contact the other family members staying at the hotel. We were put on a bottom floor with a view of the street. The room smelled of smoke and there was a microwave thrown onto a chair in the corner of the room. The hotel is right on a very busy street and the noise lasted all night. There were no views of the ocean from any floor and it was 2 blocks to the beach across the busy highway. It was within walking distance of some restaurants but they did not look very inviting. The hotel was a long way from Huntington Beach and in fact was on the edge of sunset beach. At 1AM 6 people checked in to the room next to ours and the stereo was cranked all night and rocked the walls. There were people streaming in and out of the room all night and yelling outside of our window despite several request to keep it down. We called the front desk and they did nothing. All 6 were smoking inside and outside of the room. We had reserved 3 nights and only lasted 1. We will not return and could not recommend this to any friends.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one but try to get 3rd floor and at least the noise will not echo off the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very rude staff, had an emergency trying to reach some family staying here and staff wouldnt even give us their room # so had to drive 2 hrs to get to them instead of just calling and having them head home. Very disappointed and upset with the staff!!!!!!!! Very RUDE PEOPLE

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Kind of loud from traffic found a bug in our bedding a cockroach i think and our room was cleaned late like 4 pm and after funding that bug done cleaning and setting up new bedding at 8 pm with no discount or anything. I wont stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Showed up an hour early, was told if I wanted to check in there was a 25,00 fee. I asked what the fee would be to cancel the reservation and the rude lady said full price! Hairs all over the bath tub, door broken off the frame, bugs in the bed. Spend a little extra money and don't stay here

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

First, this dump is found in Sunset Beach, it might be in the HB zipcode but plan to go to the water tower in Sunset and you will find it. I called for directions to find a surly woman from a call center who was no wiser until I told her I was passing the water tower (local landmark).
The premises are old and although they are trying hard, it shows. It is cheap, as other people have mentioned, but the inability to sleep (PCH is steps from your door) makes it no bargain.

If you are focused on the beach, it's a fair price for the proximity. Remember however that fellow partyers will make life tough on you late at night as the walls are thin.
Something that creeped me out also was the way that my toiletries were moved out of the shower every day. I got the feeling that my things were examined and to top it off, every evening I came back to find that they had unplugged the fridge even though I had things (beer, juices etc) in there.
The wifi was fast, the room was ok but I will pay more somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: the "ocean view" on the 3rd floor is a "peekaboo" at best. The second floor migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Me and my boyfriend were on a road trip through the west coast. We've stayed there for two nights, because of our friends wedding. It was cheap, clean, and close to the beach (and to the wedding :). But I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay. Every morning about 9-11 a.m. the lady who was a manager was walking around the motel and staring through the windows. When I asked her why does she do it - she told me she was checking if there are people in the room, beacuse she wanted to know if they checked out already. It was very stupid - you have the check-in and check-out time - so you don't have to spy on people! That's why I think it was good only for a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Motel

Also Known As:
Oceanview Hotel
Oceanview Motel Huntington Beach
Oceanview Hotel Huntington Beach
Address: 16196 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92649-1808
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Oceanview Motel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Oceanview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.