We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn-Huntington Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn-Huntington Beach to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn-Huntington Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17251 S. Beach Blvd, Beach Blvd & Warner Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92647   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Huntington Beach
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is at LEAST a 10 min drive from the beach and has no amenities or services of use nearby. Full of college students drinking and partying even though they didn't really bother us as we were the other side of the hotel.

We checked in late in the evening (8pm) and you can't even get into the lobby as they have a "night window".

Our rooms smelled disgustingly of mold and the toilet flushed once then blocked.

Breakfast is included but unless you like OJ, coloured cereal or tiny dry muffins, stay clear because that is the extent to it

Defintiely would not recommend this place nor stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin865, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn-Huntington Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you fro your feedback concerning the stay at our Hotel. We did have a large group of university students from abroad that were staying at the hotel during your stay. We have addressed the issues you experienced with your room. Our goal is that each guest has a positvive experience at our hotel, so please accept our apologizes for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    46
    40
    32
See reviews for
71
25
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Room was 3rd floor so no over head noise, but the walls are thin so we listened to giggling and loud drunk talking half the night. Parking lot was a meeting place under our window for numerous drunk guests and they had a need to loudly share their events of the night.
We stay at the Howard Johnson's across from Disneyland numerous times and have never had any of the issues we had at this one. In fact we will be there for several days in Aug.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin865, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn-Huntington Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I would like to apologize for the noise at our hotel. Our hotel has recently had a lot of university students from abroad as guests. We value your feedback and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My family and I stayed here again twice after my first review. We got a king suite and there was a party going on next door. You could here others yelling at this party to quiet down. I called down to the lobby twice and after a couple of long hours the party either stopped or they got kicked out. The next time we stayed there, we found out how thin the walls were as we hear a girl next door have sex and on the other side of us another couple arguing. Another party was going on all night so bring your ear plugs cause the front desk did not do anything. We love the location but its too much of a party house and you won't feel safe here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn-Huntington Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn-Huntington Beach

Address: 17251 S. Beach Blvd, Beach Blvd & Warner Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn-Huntington Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn-Huntington Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn-Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Howard Johnson Huntington Beach
Huntington Beach Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn-Huntington Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.