We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but don't expect wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% Off
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, but don't expect wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as the first part of our vacation and had a descent experience. First off, this hotel is so centrally located that you can easily make a quick stop back at the room if you are around town during the day. The staff is great and made us feel relaxed.

However, I will echo the sentiment of another reviewer that the wifi was beyond horrendous. Also, we did not receive our welcome glass of wine for being joy of life members, which was a bit disappointing since I was looking forward to that after a long day of travel.

I would stay here again, just plan on coming for the location and plan on using the Internet not in your hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello Waterchick84,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. We are definitely blessed to be in the location we are and to have so many amazing people that work here. We love being able to absorb the culture you see out in Huntington Beach and bring it all indoors as the Shorebreak Hotel. As for the internet issues that you experienced during your stay, it is an issue that we are currently working on and hope to improve upon soon. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Catherine Sobral
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    200
    49
    18
    9
See reviews for
174
281
32
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in June as a couple.

Valet and check-in were fine, the girl on reception was very pleasant when checking us in. The hotel was apparently fully booked when we arrived so we were on the 3rd floor with a view of the garden area.

The room was smaller than I expected it to be, we had 2 large suitcases and didn't really have anywhere to store them. There's was one small closet with little hanging or storage space. There was a small desk area next to the TV which made the room even more cramp. Strangely enough, the bathroom was very spacious. Much bigger than the average hotel bathroom which was weird considering the actual room was so small.

The hotel gym was also small, only 5 or so machines to use. Not much space to do any floor exercises.

The outside area of the hotel was very nice, there were 3 firepits which were lit at around 5pm. We enjoyed having a glass of complimentry wine and sitting by the fire (there's a wine hour for guests everyday at 5pm). Order the cheese board from the restaurant to enjoy with your wine!The annoying thing was that out of the 4 nights we were there, for 3 nights this outside area was closed after 6pm for 'private functions'. This was very disappointing, as a paying guest I would expect to have full use of the hotels facilities.

I was very suprised that there was no free wi-fi in the hotel, not even in the hotel lobby! I've stayed in a hotel without free wifi in the lobby. If you need internet access you can go to the business centre and gain access for 20 minutes for free.

It was my husband's birthday during our stay, so in the morning I requested for a cake to be sent to our room at 6pm when we returned to our room. When we actually returned, there was no cake to be seen, reception had forgotten about it so I called to remind them and it was sent up 30 minutes later.

We ate at the restaurant on my husband's birthday, the food was good but overpriced. I ordered the duck which was ok, we had the Campfire thing for dessert which was awful - way too sweet for my liking.

The location of the hotel can't be beaten, it's right on the Pacific Coast Highway opposite the beach. Valet is very expensive ($24) but I couldn't find alternative parking anywhere, the public carpark next to the hotel charge around $20 as well!

After reading the great reviews on here I was looking forward to staying at this hotel during our tour of California. However, I was a little underwhelmed by it all to be honest. Maybe my expectations were too high. We were on our honeymoon and stayed in 8 hotels in California/Hawaii over 3 weeks and this was the only hotel which didn't recognise the fact that it was our honeymoon. Every other hotel congratulated us when we checked-in at the very least. I was disappointed with the hotel staff considering they've been praised so highly on here by other guests. There isn't a massive choice of hotels in Huntington Beach, so maybe that's why Shorebreak is ranked so highly on here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello r17byx,

Thank you for choosing the Shorebreak Hotel as one of the hotels you visited on your honeymoon. It sounds like it was quite a trip from the UK to so many destinations in California and Hawaii. California and Hawaii have beautiful landscapes and I am glad that we were able to be a part of your romantic adventure. The atmosphere of Huntington beach can definitely play to both, and we are lucky to have our location right in the midst of it all. I would really like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at our hotel and that we did not acknowledge your special occasion. The Shorebreak is known for there customer service and attention to detail and I am so sorry that you did not have the experience that you were expecting. I know that the UK is a ways away from California, but I hope that on your next visit you will give us another try and let us dazzle you with what we can really do. I hope that your trip home went well and that we will see you again in the near future should you choose to return. If and when you do, please reach out to me, I would love to assist you in your arrangements.

Warm Regards,

Catherine Sobral
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had a SoCal trip booked, and knew I needed to be in Orange County the next day after meetings in San Diego. While I could have stayed in Irvine land-locked with traffic etc., I decided I wanted to check-out what was on the water side.

Not kidding you, same price per night as the Hampton Inn in Irvine/Foothill Ranch that I've stayed at before (isn't anything to write home about).

I valet, and multiple hotel staff were there helping and proactively making sure I had everything I needed. Check-in, and the front desk were very nice, quick and told me about the lounge/restaurant closing in 30 mins. I hadn't had dinner, so I ran up to drop bags and wash my hands, etc. so I could grab a bite to eat. I guess it's pretty slow on a Wednesday, because the kitchen had already closed. The front desk recommended Ra, because it was still open I'm thinking (mostly). It was fine, but I've eaten at one in Atlanta & they aren't anything special.

The room had a laid-back surfer vibe without being campy or cheesy. Bean bags on the floor, extremely comfortable bed, great bathroom with plenty of room & open glass shower. Their toiletries are the "Lather" brand, and they were a nice touch as well.

I ordered an omelet for room service with coffee, as I had a few conference calls to get through before checking out. Super fast, great food and presentation. Definitely one of the best room service breakfasts I may have ever had.

The location is literally "in" The Strand complex. You cannot stay any closer to the Huntington Beach Pier than Shorebreak. I will absolutely try to book this hotel again when I'm in Southern California. It beats a generic business hotel, any day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Front Office Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear ladybugkim,
I am happy you decided to check out the coast of the OC and got to experience the Shorebreak Hotel. You definitely picked a good spot to experience what Huntington Beach has to offer with Main Street and the beach not far away, there is not much more you could ask for in location. I am sorry that you did not get a chance to experience Zimzala’s atmosphere for dinner, I hope on your next stay with us you will, room service is only a taste of what we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the OC coast when you next come down from Seattle.

Helen Berkley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I say it was hiding in plain sight because I've lived in Orange County for 30 years and gone up and down Main Street in Huntington Beach hundreds of times without knowing that this gem of a hotel is just on the next street over. We stayed there for a "stay-cation" one weekend and had a wonderful experience. You can't beat the location, with lots of retail all around and, of course, the ocean and the pier less than a block away. The hotel is dog-friendly, so we brought ours and had a fun stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Front Office Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear ScottM92821,
So glad that you finally found us and decided to have your “stay-cation” here. Our location is our number one selling point, who can beat being walking distance to all the restaurants on Main Street or our beautiful beach and pier. I am happy you were able to bring your dogs with you, I hope you found time to take them down to the dog beach so they could frolic in the ocean with the others. Next time you need another vacation and don’t want to go far, think of us!

Helen Berkley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. Join the joy of life club and get free wifi, newspaper, and a welcome gift (we got a bottle of Chardonnay). Our room had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Very spacious. Nice patio with two tables and eight chairs but the patio is closed in with a high wall and no view. Friendly staff. They have beach towels, umbrellas, and chairs at the front desk. Free wine 5-6 everyday. Great happy hour 3-7 everyday. If you don't want maid service you get a $5 gift card at the bar/restaurant each day. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Front Office Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear scottstraveler,
Glad you got some time to get away from the heat of Arizona and enjoy the coastal breezes we have here in Huntington Beach. I am happy to hear that you will be back to stay with us again and enjoy all our amenities.

Helen Berkley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Just had the opportunity to stay here for the first time after several trips to Huntington Beach - wish I had done it sooner. The location is perfect and the ambiance of Surf City is reflected in Shorebreak to a T. Plus being a weekly business traveler - what is most important to me - it was extremely clean. Also everyone was friendly and helpful. Valet your car and enjoy free wine from 5-6 in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Front Office Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear santogim,

I am glad to hear that you got to finally try us out and I hope that you will think of us the next time you are over this way on business. Our location is a key seller for us, its great having the beach right at your doorstep. Even if you are here on business and working all day, the evenings by beach are great for just watching the sunsets or going for a stroll. Our décor is definitely incorporating the Surf City feel of HB, we like to blend into our environment. We look forward to you staying with us again on your next trip.

Helen Berkley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Shorebreak Hotel In Huntington Beach. I have stayed here before, and I must say it is the best place in Huntington Beach to stay. Location: I like to walk while traveling and the Shorebreak is a five minute walk to the beach, shopping, restaurants, and nightlife. Check in was easy... although I was not able to use my "Joy of Life" benefits due to my making reservations with an online travel site. This meant I did not receive my complimentary morning newspaper, and travel perks associated with Joy of Life. Not really an issue. My room was on the top floor- very quiet- and I had a huge patio/balcony that had a table and 4 chairs and a sun lounge. The bathroom spotless, and very well designed. I travel quite often and one thing I judge a hotel by is the visibility of the housekeeping staff. Housekeeping is rarely seen in the best of hotels. I did not see housekeeping once during my five day stay at the Shorebreak, yet my room, common areas, and exterior of the Shorebreak was always spotless. This hotel is a great place to relax and enjoy the California beach scene. It would be nice to have a pool, but the having the beach across the street was just amazing. the wine reception is a nice perk which I enjoyed every day. It is a fun way to sample California wines, and relax in the lobby before dinner. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if the noise of the beach and Pacific Coast Highway are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Front Office Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear mmramz,

Love the comments! Best Hotel in HB that is what we want to be. Thanks for the observations about our housekeeping team. I will be sure to let them all know that you found the hotel spotless without them being intrusive. You are right; we are in a great spot for those that like to walk. Having the ocean, pier, shops and restaurants all a short walk away is a big bonus. Location is key and we sure have it. Look forward to having you back with us again soon.

Helen Berkley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Southern California beach experience with a contemporary twist. Shorebreak Hotel combines the relaxed, sun-drenched spirit of the Orange County coastline with edgy modern accents. The only hotel located near the iconic intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway, Shorebreak situates you at the center of eclectic shopping, dining, and entertainment…all within earshot of crashing ocean waves. A singular boutique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorebreak Hotel Huntington Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.