We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I came here alone for vacation and the Staff is VERY friendly, they made me feel very welcomed. my room was immaculate, trendy and cozy. Loved the complimentary wine hour and hotel restaurant has great food and staff. Short walk away from the pier, shopping and FOOD!! I had a slight issue with my tv but they were really accommodating with resolving it :) I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear motoXracerGirl,

Are you really a MotoX Racer? Thats so cool. You have to come by the next time you stay with us and introduce yourself. The staff sends a shout out for recognizing them for their efforts. Thank you so much for the kind review, we really apprecate the exposure. Hopefully we will see you again really soon when its time t take another vacation.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    188
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
167
270
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place is great. Period. Five stars. Are there nits to be picked? Sure. Can't believe they charge for internet access. Which costs the hotel nothing. And the parking is ridiculously expensive. But it's not the hotel's fault. It's the city of Huntington Beach that's determined to rip off tourists.

That said, we loved this place. We always travel with our Golden Retriever, and they treated her as one of the family. The service is spectacular. We were checked in by an angel named Jill. But truth be told, everyone on the staff is wonderful. My family owned a hotel for 35 years, and I know this is a difficult business. But this management is obviously top of the line, as is the staff.

The restaurant is very good as well, if perhaps a little pricey. The room was spotless. They have a sorta funky sliding door for the bathroom, which I guess is all the style. But I hated it. No privacy at all.

But the decor is spectacular, the room exceptional, and the bedding and linens top shelf all the way.

They have an interior courtyard with fire pits -- a really good design and a nice touch.

If you stay here, I am certain you will love your visit. Especially if you travel with Man's best friend.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with the wrap-around deck. Spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear thecaddy,

Great screen name, especially coming from Palm Springs with all the golf courses. A huge thank you from our entire staff for the kind compliments about the staff and our hotel. I also appreciate the comments about the parking, which is correct that the city has control over that. It is a priority that your furry friend has a good time too. I hope he was able to take advantage of the doggy menu. We really apprciate the return business and hope to see you again in the near future.


Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Rooms were comfortable and decorated better than most. Wireless internet worked well. Exercise room was good for me - 2 elipticals, a recumbent bike, treadmill, weights, exercise balls, etc. The only complaint was that there wasn't anywhere to hang your clothes to dry. I would work out, then wash my gear in the sink, but then had trouble finding anywhere to hang them. They had free wine each night in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear onustack,

Just a quick shout out and thank you for posting a review of your experience with us here at Shorebreak. We really appreciate the positive comments. I was sorry to hear that you didn't have anything to hang your wet clothes on. We recently had a suggested to add an additional hook in the shower to hang surfer's wet suits on after surfing, which we are doing.

We really hope to see you again in the near future. Thanks for staying with us.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was so excited to find a room here within my company's allowance a couple of months ago, I just wish that happened more frequently cause I would rather stay here every time I visit Orange County! Everything about this hotel is comfortable, the rooms are well designed and laid out, the bathrooms are a good size, the furniture is comfortable. The common spaces are nice as well, the courtyard area is really nice to relax and sit by the fire pits. My most recent stay I had a room overlooking the courtyard and it did get a bit loud at times, so I prefer the outer rooms. Just like every other Joie de Vivre hotel I've stayed at, the service was excellent. The location is also really good. I was sad I didn't have more time to walk around on this last trip because there is a LOT to walk to. It's also pretty easy to get to other parts of Orange County from here, so even if the beach isn't your destination, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear aknoble,

Thanks for mentioning our key location on this site. I was so happy to hear that you've stayed with us before and wanted so badly to come back. Joie De Vivre's main advanatge over the competing hotels is the people we hire. Many of our hotels do not have all the bells and whistles that the larger hotels have. We really appreciate all the compliments from the rooms to the public areas. Thanks for being such a loyal customer to Joie de Vivre, we really appreciate it.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is right in downtown Huntington Beach within walking distance of many great restaurants and the beach. The location is fantastic, I like motels where I can leave the car parked and walk everywhere I need to go. The motel is also very clean and nice. I especially like the bean bag furniture. The beds were much more comfortable as well. This is one of the more memorable hotels I have stayed in, very nice.

Also, the hotel staff is fantastic. I have not experienced better service. I highly recommend this motel and will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear WAhiker,

Our staff would like to thank you for the wonderful compliments you left about them in your review. Above all, comments about the people that work here get us the most excited. I will be sure to post this review in our employee break room for everyone to see,

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As a Relais & Chateaux many-time hotel guest, I find the Shorebreak, well, FRESH. The service from reservation, valet parking, check-in, greeting by name throughout my stay and check-out is seamless. A choice of complimentary amenities like valet parking, breakfast, newspaper or bottle of wine adds to the value of the experience. I enjoyed an ocean-front junior suite both stays, and caught views of surfers out at sunrise and para-surfers at sunset. A complimentary glass of wine at wine hour in the lobby is also appreciated. I especially appreciate the option to waive daily housekeeping for a $5 Zimzala gift card per day, and though there are a multitude of dining options in the area, Zimzala is always one of my first choices for extraordinary food and service. Shorebreak's commitment to green lifestyle is also a draw. I really cannot say enough about the Shorebreak, and can't wait to return. I live on the east coast, and have a daughter who lives on the west coast. Though it's a long plane ride, the John Wayne airport is easy, car rental is easy, and as soon as I pull up to the Shorebreak - I feel the west coast vibe...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear brklynbnd,

We really appreciate a review that mentions some of our "green" efforts here at the hotel. Thank you so much for the kind comments about the staff and Zimzala. It is such a joy to know when someone has come back for a return stay. The survival of a small hotel like us really depends on our loyal guests. We sure hope to see you out here again really soon.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

It was my first time at the Shorebreak. Check-in was fast, was given a king bed room with street views. The room had a nice balcony. Evertyhing was clean, the shower was huge, and the bed was confortable. I was staying only for a night (Saturday) and the hotel was perfectly located, as close to the beach as you will find, one street away from Main street where all the action is (restaurants, bars, shops).
The hotel had a nice 7 to 8 (I believe) wine tasting event. You get two glasses for free, a great ''aperitif'' before going out to eat.
Didn't try the hotel restaurant but it seems to be crowed and had a nice terasse.
What others have pointed out as negative (expensive parking, wi-fi not free) did not bother me. Took a cheap shared shuttle from LAX. Didn't pay for the wi-fi, as I only needed it for a short time and you get 20 minutes free at the business center.
Slept well, check-out was fast. Would come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear RoliQc,

Go Canada!!! My extended family is from Quebec. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Especially mentioning the wine hour we have for our guests that some people forget about. Hope you enjoyed the surf and sand. please recommend us to your friend and family.

Paul Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Southern California beach experience with a contemporary twist. Shorebreak Hotel combines the relaxed, sun-drenched spirit of the Orange County coastline with edgy modern accents. The only hotel located near the iconic intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway, Shorebreak situates you at the center of eclectic shopping, dining, and entertainment…all within earshot of crashing ocean waves. A singular boutique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorebreak Hotel Huntington Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.