We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Huntington Beach
New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The friendliness of the staff really made this place nice. From the folks at the front desk, to the valet parkers, to the maintenance folks I ran into on the elevator, everyone was in great spirits and friendly. I went to Huntington Beach to participate in the marathon, and the hotel had flyers of places that were running meal specials/super bowl parties for the runners, etc. nice touch.

I got one of the cheaper rooms that faced the courtyard, and it was fine - bathroom was huge and clean.

I didn't eat at the restaurant or have room service, so I can't comment on that.

It was pricey, but cheaper than the big-name hotels in the area, and of course - right across the street from the beach - you get what you pay for. I would totally would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Joshua H,

How did you do in the marathon? The weather here for the marathon weekend was perfect for runners. Warm but a little bit cloudy, so you all were not getting pounded by the sun.

Our staff was so excited when they read your comments about how friendly we are here. This is one area of the hotel we really pride ourselves on. We strive to be so different compared to other hotel's staffs. Thank you so much for the kind comments, it just makes us want to work that much harder for our guests.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    181
    42
    18
    9
See reviews for
163
258
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love everything about this hotel. Great rooms, good bar, GREAT LOCATION! Stay here if you are visiting Southern CA! Make sure to go to the Tuesday Night market too. Great bargains and cool finds. One street over from the hotel on duh, Tuesday night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear lisarichmondrox,

Just wanted to send a quick thank you out for the review of hour hotel and the mention of the Tuesday night street fair over on main street. There are just so many things going on in HB that people do not know about. It is weeks full of fun and there are so many things to do. Thanks for spending time with us, especially the bar!! Our bloddy mary bar is the best.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, so close to everything! I was suprised to get to my room and have the phone flashing red with a message - it was just the front desk welcoming me and making sure I didn't need anything... such a nice touch. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean view, it's worth it. Beautiful sunset from room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Chicago222,

Have you seen our new hotel inn Chicago yet? Hotel Lincoln is a part of the Joie De Vivre Hotel Collection. I heard the restaurant and bar there is amazing.

Thanks for the quick note and feedback regarding the touch with the welcome calls here at the hotel. It is just way for us to check up on our guests to see how things are going. Much gratitude for the feedback and be sure to visit our hotel up your way.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Loved this hotel, the only reason it didn't get a 5 was because there wasn't much info on the s'mores times and the bar drinks are expensive! Apart from that the place is great the staff are really helpful. Rooms are so comfortable and I loved the bathroom. Visit the shack for breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room looked into the court yard I didn't mind it, no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear EnglandEverton,

Is Everton your favortie EPL football team? Sorry, but had to ask because I am a huge soccer fan. We really appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us here at Shorebreak. The team posts all tripadvisor comments for all the employees to see. Huntington Beach seems to be a popular destination for the English, so be sure to tell all your friends about us. Take care and thanks again.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom Courtyard Suite as travelling with my husband, infant son and brother. The 2 bedroom suite worked out cheaper than us getting 2 rooms.
Staff were so friendly and helpful and would always greet us with a smile. The hotel is in such a great location, right across the road from the beach, resturants and shopping. The rooms were very spacious and bright and the decor worked so well with the area. Our only disappointment was the fact there was no furniture at all in the courtyard area in our room and having such a tall wall meant that we couldnt see anything but concrete when we were out there. But in saying that we never had anytime to sit out there! Only other issue was that there was no door on the second bedroom so there is a slight lack of privacy for that person/s in that room.
Loved the special touches that the hotel included especially the complimentary wine hour every evening.
Would definitely stay here again and will be back to Huntington Beach

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear bergrum,

We appreciate your wonderful comments regarding your experience here at Shorebreak. It was nice to know the two-bedroom suite worked out for you and your family. We are currently looking to have furniture placed in all of our larger terrace rooms in 2013. The reason for this change is because of the feedback we have received from our guests such as yourself. The team really appreciates feedback and we will do whatever makes a guest's experience better. Thank you for the review and hope to see you again in the near future.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here last weekend. What a great location, across the street from the pier and beach; and a beautiful view from our room and balcony. The room was nicely decorated, and the bathroom large. We enjoyed the complimentary wine hour in our room and lobby. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the on site restaurant. The food was above average, attentive service, and very calm and pretty dining area. We will definitely stay again !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Diane C,

Thank you so much for posting a review of your experience here at the Shorebreak. It seems like you were able to take advantage of most of our services including Zimzala and wine hour. Personally, Zimzala is one of my most favorite restaurants in Huntington Beach. We really appreciate the positive reinforcement and hope to see you again really soon.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Shorebreak on New Years Eve. Unfortunately, we were not participating much in the celebration as we were in the midst of a long road trip and sleep was our primary goal before hitting the road again early the next morning. So, let me just clarify that we assume the level of noise and activity at the hotel was not normal. With that said, the room itself was well laid out and had a lovely view of the beach. Very comfortable. The property has a cool vibe related to surfing and has very nice common areas including fire pits in the deck area. Staff was pleasant if not overtly helpful. Not a complaint, but an observation. We were traveling with two small dogs and the hotel is very pet friendly, down to the lobby level (hidden outside) pet potty area. There was one item of concern. Upon arriving at our room, there were two glasses with dirty silverware in them sitting directly outside the door. One of my pet peeves with a hotel is dirty dishes in hallways. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, I assumed someone would pick this up, perhaps even the bell staff upon delivering luggage. Unfortunately, when we left the next morning they were still sitting in the hallway. One suggestion for the hotel. Coffee in the morning would be nice, as I would have expected some in the lobby. Perhaps they do and they were running late on New Years Day, as we left around 7 AM. Overall, enough positive to warrant a second stay.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the noisy lobby. Very dog friendly. If you don't care for dogs, stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Russell P,

Thank you so much for posting about your New Years Eve with us. Yes, this is absolutely the time of year when guests like to be "social" and that is why we keep the restaurant and bar open till 1:00am. I was sorry fo rhear about your housekeeping issues, the Executive Housekeeper has been informed and we will be doing some additional training with our room attendants in the coming days. It was nice to hear that your doggies had a good time. We really appreciate the feedback and hope to see you in the near future.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Southern California beach experience with a contemporary twist. Shorebreak Hotel combines the relaxed, sun-drenched spirit of the Orange County coastline with edgy modern accents. The only hotel located near the iconic intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway, Shorebreak situates you at the center of eclectic shopping, dining, and entertainment…all within earshot of crashing ocean waves. A singular boutique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorebreak Hotel Huntington Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.