We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648 (Formerly Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early + Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“This place is AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Especially if you like Huntington Beach!
Right there by the pier, awesome rooms, great looking, and so much more!
But the great part is that they treat you so good! Not just a customer filling a room!
They care about you and their hotel! It's more than the Motel 6, BUT do you want class or mess?
This place is sweet! Just look at the pics and then it's even better in person! Waking up and looking out at the ocean and pier! AWESOME!
Don't hesitate to go here!

Room Tip: Ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear hbsurfer1,

Your screen name is probably the best of all time. Go HB! Thanks for the kind comments about the hotel. Obviously your a local and it is so important to our success that the community supports us. Much appreciated my friend.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    224
    54
    22
    12
See reviews for
199
314
39
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I thought the boutique hotel was adorable and appreciated edgy decor with great location close to HB pier. Loved they are pet friendly. Staff very caring about our 11pm check-in after all day event. However.... we were put in a room where the elevator kept clanking all night with every entry or exit. My BF got no sleep and said would not spend another night in the hotel. To be fair after complaining to staff was compensated $50.00 for trouble and not charged the additional night for cancelling after offering to switch rooms. Very fair. Stay here... just get a quiet room away from the elevator!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Julie W,

Much gratitude for submitting a review of your experience here at Shorebreak. I was so happy to hear that you guys had a great time with the exception of the elevator noise. Our Engineering team did have a third party come out to take a look at the elevators because of this review. It seems all has been taken care of. I am glad the front desk was able to compensate you for your troubles. Please accept my sincere apology and we sure hope to see you again in the near future.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were able to find a great deal on Kayak and after reading all the reviews for The Shorebreak we booked a room for one night~So happy we did! We took the advise of another traveler and joined The Joy of Life Club. Upon arrival, we were informed that they had upgraded our room and offered us free Internet... We loved everything about the hotel and can't wait to return! Zimzala Restaurant was fabulous and their Pork Chop is the best we've ever had... This a must if you are in Huntington. They even have a Doggie menu! Thank you to all the staff at the hotel~you are all top notch!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear kunk5,

It is very obvious that you did your homework before you came to Huntington Beach. Kayak, Joy of Life Club, etc. Next time I would suggest booking direct because we have a best rate match guarantee. Isn't the port chop amazing? I typically do not eat pork, but I always make an exception for the Zimzala pork chop.

Thank you so much for staying with us and posting about your experience. Hope to see you again here at Shorebreak.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you're looking for a hip hotel with a fantastic beachfront location, then this is the place for you.
If you're looking for a hotel where you can stroll out in the morning, grab a coffee from the nearby Starbuck's and walk over to the HB pier and watch the morning surfers, then this is definitely the hotel for you.

Rooms vary with Oceanfront rooms having the beds placed so they are facing the ocean which is an amazing way to wake up each morning (Huntington Beach is literally located on the other side of the street about 50 yards away.) The city view rooms are a more affordable price point but their views are of the surrounding residential homes and sadly, these views leave much to be desired. Just keep the sheer curtains closed. The worst rooms are the ones with a city view but also next to their AC - there is a constant hum in the room that would make sleeping impossible if you ask me. I got this room once and immediately told them to give me another room and they did.

Breakfast at their restaurant Zimbala is delicious but I am puzzled by why it is always empty in the mornings. I think their food is better than the brunch options on main st. I tried those places and thought they were average. Plus you don't have to queue a ridiculously long time at Zimbala for a table either.

Staff are young, friendly and try to please. If there is a negative, I would say it is the rather high parking fees. If you 're only staying 1 night, save yourself the $ and grab a spot in the surrounding streets. Even the metered spots are free in the evenings and early mornings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Hopping-along ,

As a frequent stayer here at the Shorebreak, thank you so much for posting a comprehensive review of our hotel and room types. For any curious traveler coming to our hotel, this review definitely gives them some great advice regarding room types parking and local services. I too am a fan of our breakfasts and they do have the best breakfast menu in the area. It is nice to see a frequent guest like yourself agrees with me.

Thanks once again for staying with us.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Shorebreak on one of the "Snique Away" promotions. The hotel lived up to it's billing with a very Surf-vibe. The staff were wonderful and the evening wine-hour was great as well. Would stay there again if I ever return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear andyillinois,

We appreciate the review you submitted to this website. Snique Away is a large provider of business for us here at the Shorebreak. Hopefully you were able to also give them some positive feedback regarding your stay here. Thank you so much for giving us some praise and we hope to see you out here on the west coast again really soon.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect and you couldn't get any closer to the beach unless you actually slept on the beach.
This is a very cool hotel with a total surf vibe which makes you feel like surfing, even if you don't :)
Valet drivers were very helpful with directions and always welcomed us back. Front desk staff worked to get us a good upgrade at a nominal price, which was worth it. Get the room with views of the beach since that is why you're staying there.
Cocktail hour from 5p-6p daily which was very enjoyable. Didn't go to the restaurant/bar but it was very busy so next time we'll go for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This was a great location and our room had a nice big verandah to watch the sunset from. The free glass of wine each night was also a nice touch. The lack of free wifi was a let down. Especially as we used wifi to book the room. Car parking was also not included. For the price it was a little disappointing.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Coctailqueen,

Just wanted to send a quick thank you for your short review of the hotel. We appreciate the feedback. I will be sure to let the staff know about your wonderful comments.

I do apologize for the issues with charging for the internet and parking. The wifi and parking fees are right in line with the comparable hotels in the area and we do our best to match or offer a lower price to draw guests to stay with us. We do our best to post this on our website and on all publications. It is also attached to our comfirmation, which is sent to every guest who books directly through our website.

Sincere apologies,

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 19 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,769 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#9 of 19 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Regency Inn
BEST WESTERN Regency Inn
#5 of 19 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Huntington Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN Huntington Beach In...
#8 of 19 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suite...
#6 of 19 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648 (Formerly Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Southern California beach experience with a contemporary twist. Shorebreak Hotel combines the relaxed, sun-drenched spirit of the Orange County coastline with edgy modern accents. The only hotel located near the iconic intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway, Shorebreak situates you at the center of eclectic shopping, dining, and entertainment…all within earshot of crashing ocean waves. A singular boutique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorebreak Hotel Huntington Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorebreak Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.