We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mother-Daughter Retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hume Lake Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hume
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hume Lake Campgrounds
Hume Road, Hume, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Mother-Daughter Retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We did not camp at the campgrounds, but actually stayed in their cabins in that area. My daughter and I attended the Hume Lake Mother-Daughter Retreat in May 2012, and it was wonderful! We stayed in their "Standard Housing" cabin, which was rather rustic, but it had the basic amenities (camp-style bunkbeds, electrical outlets and private bathroom). Nicer accomodations would have cost more, so we were fine with "Standard." The food was excellent, and I found myself looking forward to every meal! They had great activities for both kids and adults, and we found that the weekend went by very quickly! I cannot say enough about the service and the excellent quality of the staff-- if you need anything, or have any issue, it will be resolved quickly. For example, we had a little problem with ants in our cabin, and someone came by immediately to take care of it. There is no cell phone service, so tell your boss not to call you when you're there. However, they had wireless at the camp, so if you HAD to answer e-mails, you could do that. We took a nice walk around the lake (about 3 miles), and it was absolutely beautiful. Make sure you bring your camera!

Room Tip: Bring a jacket, even if it's spring or summer. It can get chilly up there. We were there in May...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

August 2012. My boyfriend and I were on a camping vacation on the Sequoia Nationa park. We haven't plan or reserved any of the campground we had stop. This was a very nice one. Great temperature - not too cold not too hot, close to the lake (our site had a view on the lake). Very family and pet friendly. First campground with a recycle trash can. No shower, but decent bathroom with a flush tolilet, sink and mirror. The camp host was also very gentle and helpful.
Some noise from he Christian camp on the other side of the lake but not too disturbing. Definately recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

It’s been a few years since my Husband and I camped at Hume Lake, but we had a great time. We were camping in my Tent Trailer and were lucky enough to get a spot that was fairly level. The Camp Host was the nicest elderly gentlemen who gave us tips on the best fishing spots and dropped off fire wood every day. We loved it so much we want to return this summer. The bathrooms were clean enough and when we really needed a shower we had to drive quite a way to another camp ground that had pay showers. We did rent row boats for a few bucks at the Christian Camp, ate at their snack bar that was pretty good considering the location and all, we also ate the fish that my husband caught in the lake that was delicious! The camp sites are well shaded, we didn’t see any bears (THANK GOD) and we did see a few deer. If you like to have a fun place to camp that is pretty quiet for the most part this is a good spot to pitch your tent or drop anchor with your RV or trailer.

Room Tip: Check the camp sites if you have a trailer or RV a lot of them are on uneven ground or sloping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I've stayed at this campground every summer since '97. Compared to other campgrounds, this one has more amenities, the most important being flush toilets and running (ice cold) water. I enjoy forested campgrounds with rivers and lakes, and I don't like to see regular bushes and dry desert, so that is why I come back here every year.
Many of the sites are shaded, and all have picnic benches and firepits. I believe most sites, if not all, have bear lockers. All sites are a short walk to the lake, which provides a place to fish and swim.
For gas, food, and supplies, you can take a short drive over to the Hume Lake Christian Campground at the end of the lake. They also provide rowboats, and very slow and weak motorboats, but I don't know what their rental policy is if your are not staying at their campground.
There is plenty to see around here: Grizzly Falls, Grant's tree, 2 caves, the lake, Kern River, and the Sequioa Forest in general. You can also follow the source of Hume Lake upriver and find nice sitting pools under very small waterfalls.
Another nice campground nearby is Upper Lodgepole, which is really green. I would love to stay here, but this campground is very rocky, and I have 2 young ones.
This is a great campground.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Being the 4th of july weekend we actually found a spot in the Christian Camp, we had room 204, it was cozy, but there was enough room for 7 of us to have a good sleep. The lake is in the perfect location, the dining hall where we had breakfast overlooking the lake was wonderfull. Nice pool, the a.m. fog on the lake was a once in a lifetime experience. We had no luck with fishing, however lot's of fun at the "ready for you" fire pits, they are available all night long, fire wood included. You are free to do what you want and come and go as you please,not strict rules. It really was a treat, for the price we paid I believe the room should have been alot better but, it beats camping out in a tent freezing all night. The breakfast was not great but it was filling! I am reviewing the Christian camp grounds...they have so much available for you to do so bring your CASH, we rented a row boat that was pretty fun, we went to "Sandy Cove" beach area of the lake, we had a blast, the water was warm, the view was like only something you could imagine, it was BEAUTIFUL!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

After one year of trying to get a reservation on Recreation.gov, I was finally able to reserve 5 days stay at Hume Lake Campground. Our space was on the loop closest to the lake, and was a stones throw away across the access road to a small private beach on pristine Hume Lake. While the Christian camp at the end of the lake became loud on occasion, the campground spaciousness and respectful fellow campers made this a very restful vacation.

There are no showers at the campground, but we brought our outdoor shower tent and solar showers which worked well after a dusty day of hiking in the Sequoias. There are flush toilets with sinks in the bathroom and potable water available. Most camping spaces have pine trees shading them, but we did bring a shade canopy which we used, as it was very warm during the day. Warning - if you're in a tent trailer (like us!) or RV, plan on doing a little leveling as many of the driveways in the camping spaces are sloped, and mostly dirt.

Come prepared, because other than the small general store at the Christian Camp, it's twelve miles to the nearest other small store or restaurant. The general store does have ice, charcoal, condiments and snacks, but nothing more substantial.

On two separate evenings deer came right into the campground. No bears have been sighted for some time, but bear boxes are still heavily utilized.

Bring your bug spray, floatation devices & sunscreen for a lovely weekend!

  • Liked — proximity to the lake, camping spaces were VERY large
  • Disliked — occasional noise (bull horns and bells) from the Christian Camp nearby
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hume Lake Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Lake Campgrounds

Also Known As:
Hume Lake Campgrounds Hotel
Hume Lake Campgrounds Hotel Hume
Address: Hume Road, Hume, CA
Location: United States > California > Hume
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Hume

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hume Lake Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hume Lake Campgrounds to your Saves list