We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellenic Republic Brunswick

Hellenic Republic Brunswick
434 Lygon St, Brunswick East, Moreland, Victoria 3057, Australia
03 9381 1222
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Greek, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hellenic Republic is a traditional Greek taverna with a contemporary twist - perfect for modern Melburnians!Our food philosophy is simple – fantastic, fresh produce to prepare traditional recipes in a clean, contemporary style. At Hellenic, kefalograviera saganaki is served with sweet peppered figs; local wines are served by the half litre and succulent meats are cooked over char coal.We recommend our Trapezi menu as the best way to dine at Hellenic Republic, where our chefs prepare a selection of our finest dishes for guests to share. The restaurant seats 120 guests, or alternatively can accommodate up to 220 standing guests for a stand up cocktail function.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Fantastic service after arriving 45 mins late for our booking. Great recommendations by very knowledgeable waitress to help keep our 3 boys happy & fed. Superb simple fresh food, yummy desserts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    134
    42
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bustling, cheerful, modern version of a Greek taverna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Warm, charming waitress added a lot to our enjoyment of our evening. Traditional items like the tzatziki and saganaki with figs were delicious and Cypriot salad lovely but calamari was oddly slimy and potatoes were bland. But really, it's a place that is so generous and cheerful, it doesn't matter!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great night out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Love this bustling little place, the food was great, fresh and tasty, would really recommend this for a different friendly night out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Really enjoyed Hellenic Republic- wanted to go there since the press club a year ago and so glad we did! One of the best set menu's we've had, AND you can swap any item on the set menu with an a la carte dish. Highlight was the pita bread, dips and the meats were amazing.

Tip- swap the desert on the below menu for the Greek doughnuts. They are AWESOME.

We had the following which I believe is well priced for what we received...

$58 Trapezi
MEZZETHAKIA SMALL TASTES Olives, Warm pita bread, Taramosalata Tyri saganaki with peppered figs, Roasted pumpkin croquettes, goats curd Calamari, fennel, citrus salad
THALASSINA SEAFOOD
Fish from the grill, briam vinaigrette Scallops with skordalia crust Cypriot grain salad
KREATA MEATS Meat of the day,
Lemon roasted potatoes, Cabbage Salad, Tzatziki
EPITHORPIO DESSERT
Opted for doughnuts in place of rice pudding

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely good, fabulous atmosphere. A bit pricey but that is to be expected. The desserts are amazing. Make sure you book ahead.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellenic Republic Brunswick also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hellenic Republic Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellenic Republic Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.