We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waddled out after a wonderful dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellenic Republic Brunswick

Hellenic Republic Brunswick
434 Lygon St, Brunswick East, Moreland, Victoria 3057, Australia
03 9381 1222
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Greek, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hellenic Republic is a traditional Greek taverna with a contemporary twist - perfect for modern Melburnians!Our food philosophy is simple – fantastic, fresh produce to prepare traditional recipes in a clean, contemporary style. At Hellenic, kefalograviera saganaki is served with sweet peppered figs; local wines are served by the half litre and succulent meats are cooked over char coal.We recommend our Trapezi menu as the best way to dine at Hellenic Republic, where our chefs prepare a selection of our finest dishes for guests to share. The restaurant seats 120 guests, or alternatively can accommodate up to 220 standing guests for a stand up cocktail function.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Waddled out after a wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The number 8 tram takes you from the city to Hellenic Republic, which is past all the usual restaurant areas. It's a great little place with some fantastic food, and we thoroughly loved all of it. The goat leg and the pistachio pudding thing were standouts, but it was all fantastic. Worth the short trip out there, but make sure your clothes aren't too tight fitting as it's some delicious and hefty food on offer that will leave you more than satisfied.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    133
    41
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Child friendly it is not!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We dined at the Hellenic Republic last night. Although it is promoted as child friendly, I don't really think it is. We had an unfortunate accident at our table when my grandson, who is not 2 yet broke a glass. The shards were extremely sharp and dangerous. Although he didn’t hurt himself, I would have thought for a child friendly restaurant, Duralex glasses would have been a better choice. Also the marble topped tables don’t help. Wooden topped tables would prevent this type of potentially dangerous accident..

Incidentally the waitress who served us, had an unfortunate reaction to this incident, we really got the bum’s rush to get out of there pronto! She also gabbled through the menu at the beginning, not giving us time to get a handle on how it worked.
I am not a novice to dining out at restuarants. I have spent lots and lots of time in the Napa Valley in California eating out at all the Michelin starred restuarants there many times. I am not being unreasonable to suggest that your staff be better trained in their attitude to incidents. And another thing, It doesn’t create a great impression to see staff standing about rubbing one another’s backs when the place was absolutely packed.

You don’t need to create a great Greek atmosphere by having loud Greek Music, it is obvious that this is a Greek restaurant and if you must have music, it could have been a lot quieter. Restaurants in the Napa Valley don’t have any music and still seem to attract a world wide clientele who are there for the food, and conversation, not to be drowned out by music.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Melbourne Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

In our five days in staying in Melbourne and eating at some Melbourne's finest restaurants. This was our most enjoyable experience by far. We went here for Sunday lunch and enjoyed the Greek dips with warm bread for starters followed by Slow roasted shoulder of lamb. We finished with the Deconstructed Pistachio Jelly Meringue Thingy which was lovely and the rice pudding w salted caramel & shortbread which was just divine.....one of the finest deserts i've ever had.

The service was absolutely tremendous and the atmosphere was relaxed, family orientated but with class. We would eat here every week if we lived in Melbourne.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this restaurant on 5 occasions and have never left disappointed. The service from the attentive and knowledgeable staff is excellent. The food is flavoursome and fresh with occasional menu updates based on the availability of produce. My recommendations for shared mains include the smoked pork and leek sausages with house mustard, the Cypriot salad and the slow-roasted lamb. I look forward to going back again soon!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great atmosphere, cheerful and lively but not deafeningly noisy. Lovely staff, wonderful food. The Saganaki with figs was beautiful, we had generous plates of fantastic slow cooked lamb and spit roasted chicken, all of our food was tasty and delicious. The wine list is interesting and I wished I knew more about Macedonian wines, however our waiter's recommendation was just fine.

I I lived in Melbourne I'd want to eat here every week.

Advice for visitors to Melbourne - the street numbers in Lygon Street repeat themselves after about #600 and Hellenic Republic is #434 in the second lot of numbering. We didn't know this and nor did our GPS.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellenic Republic Brunswick also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hellenic Republic Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellenic Republic Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.