We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views of the lake but would love for Ellis to get upgraded to a high speed quad.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Mountain Resort

Homewood Mountain Resort
5145 W. Lake Blvd, Homewood, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Homewood
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Attraction details
1 review
“Awesome views of the lake but would love for Ellis to get upgraded to a high speed quad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Our family had two fun days of skiing and absolutely loved the views of the lake. The people working at the resort were very nice. We loved the club panini and the garlic fries at the north lodge. Ellis needs to be upgraded; it is painfully slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
david.pattison@chrobinson.com
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“one of the most beautiful ski areas in the country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

this is always one of our stops on a trip to Tahoe for skiing. it's especially good on a busy holiday day. very laid back, not too crowded. You cannot beat the scenery!! The price is right. There are nice runs thru the trees. the only "knock" it receives is it could use one more high speed lift. just one though, we don't want to do anything crazy!! the burgers outside the chalet are excellent for lunch. and if you want a nice apres ski stop before heading home, go to West Shore Cafe across the street. not the big party scene like other places. good food and drinks with a nice view.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waste of time and money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We enrolled our son for two-full days lesson because we thought he would have fun learning ski again after his first wonderful experience at Squaw Valley. It ended up letting him wait most of the time after going through the "magic carpet" conveyor that would bring the kids uphill. As i was watching the first day, my son waited for 20mins until he made his first run down the slope and they took a break like 30mins. When they came back after a break they made the same slow run going to conveyor and waited again that long and lunch break followed, urgh!. So it was like only 4runs the whole day. That was ridiculous! The second day was worst. Our 4y.o son did not want to go back there but since we already paid the 2days lesson we persuaded him to go half day taking the afternoon class only. The whole time i was watching, same thing happened they let our son stood up for 35mins and i even saw him from afar waving at me, yawning and trying to sit down. I wanted to call the attention of the teacher but I said since he was the next one to be pulled down so i waited...he waited and waited. But what annoyed me when the (lady) instructor pulled 2kids behind my son and went down the slopes and that would take another ten minutes of waiting. When i saw that went straight to the guy with folder (named Francisco - not sure that was my son mentioned). He felt sorry and said - the instructor pulled the kids behind him because he cannot go down the slope yet - HORRIBLE! That's why we sent our son to ski school in order to learn! When he noticed that i was really mad he offered a free one-on-one lesson for an hour. But what's the use of the lesson when my son was already terribly exhausted and tired. Two thumbs down! (Attached photo - That's the teacher and my son in blue).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homewoodmtn, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello Redskin,
While we are sorry to hear about your negative experience with our Ski School, we do appreciate the feedback and hope that you may give Homewood another shot. We do pride ourselves in excellent customer service and it appears that we dropped the ball the day you came. Please know the situation has been addressed and we encourage you to come back and try again on us. If you would like to contact the Ski and Snowboard School Management team, we would be happy to provide you with another lesson and hopefully a more positive experience for your child. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to hear back from you.
Homewood Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Do not use this ski school!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Horrible experience! I paid $135 for my daughter to be ignored most of the day, she never even got lunch! MOST of the instructors were nice they just had too many students to deal with. Unfortunately they have an employee named "Nick", he was so rude and unprofessional. He really seemed to hate being there. The only thing he enjoyed was yelling at the parents,"Back up!! Get behind the fence!!!!" He should be fired! I will never go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homewoodmtn, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Kris,
I'm so sorry to hear you had a poor experience at Homewood. We do appreciate all feedback in an effort to provide the best possible experience for our guests and I can assure you that we have addressed the situation. If you would like to contact our management team in the Ski and Snowboard School, we would love for you to come back and try our ski school again on us and have a more positive experience. Again, we are sorry for dropping the ball and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went here to save a few bucks at the end of an expensive snowboard trip. We had heard mixed reviews about this resort and were a bit leery. What a pleasant surprise! There were no crowds, the mountain was really nice and the views are damn impressive! Great runs, nice little bar and decent food. Will most definitely be back :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homewood Mountain Resort also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Homewood Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.