We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Shore Cafe

West Shore Cafe
5160 West Lake Blvd, Homewood, CA 96141
(530) 525-5200
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 restaurants in Homewood
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Homewood Mountain Resort
Transit: Tahoe Area Regional Transit hosts a shuttle drop-off and pick-up location outside the West Shore Cafe.
Description: A picturesque lakefront restaurant and inn located at Lake Tahoe's west shore, the West Shore Cafe offers guests delicious cuisine and superb service amidst some of the world's most beautiful surroundings. West Shore Cafe offers a festive and romantic Lakeview setting with elegant, yet approachable cuisine at affordable prices. As a year-round destination, the West Shore Cafe beckons skiers during the winter months and is mere steps from sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort. During summer months, the West Shore Cafe's location is ideal for those cruising the bike path, as well as boaters touring Lake Tahoe. West Shore Cafe hosts several buoys, and welcomes boaters and kayakers ashore.
Carmichael, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meal and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Dinner last night was sensational! Sat outside on the deck and was treated to a beautiful sunset and delicious meal. Our service was excellent throughout. I had a bouillabaisse with shrimp, scallops, crawfish and fish which I really enjoyed. The broth was amazing. They have heaters on the deck so even after the sun sets it remains very comfortable. Such a beautiful setting. I would definitely recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    39
    14
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Lakeside Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Eating on the shore of beautiful Lake Tahoe is a not-to-be missed experience. West Shore is a more elegant outdoor dining option around the Lake than you may normally find. They have an extensive wine list, but the menu seems is somewhat limited and it's rather expensive. But the food is very, very good. We were disappointed that when our meals arrived, so did the wasps. They were very bothersome throughout the meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“beautiful view yummy lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

loved sitting outside for lunch with great view of the lake. don't miss the tomato peach caprese starter -- the addition of sweet peach slices to an heirloom tomato caprese was delish. the maine lobster roll was one of the best i've ever had and i've lived in new england! so often in a lobster roll, a cafe will overwhelm the lobster with gobs of mayo and other ingredients to 'extend' the amount of lobster. at westshore, lobster was the star in the sandwich--just the merest bit of mayo and some crunchy celery and tarragon. lots of lobster--yum! the wild salmon was cooked a bit on the rare side, so be sure to let the server know if you like your salmon cooked through. fettucine was creamy good, fish n chips were good, sweet potato fries were good, drinks were food. the service was definitely not rushed but i considered this a plus as it allowed more time to enjoy the view. we drove to west shore cafe, but the north tahoe water shuttle stops right at the dock of the cafe--we might try that next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant with an unstoppable view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Shore Cafe is on the edge of the lake facing east with inside and outside dining. Our meal was excellent beginning with cocktails, an incredibly fresh salad, the four entrees were done to perfection and the desserts (only two) were terrific. They have a very nice wine list with a great fume blanc and a cabernet with dinner. The service was not rushed, we watched the alpenglow as the day that began with a hard hike turned into a mallow evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Elegant Special Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The West Shore Cafe is really beautiful and amazing indoor and outdoors. Dinners are a bit on the spendy side, but you can also have a beer and a gourmet burger and enjoy the setting for $30 so something for everyone. Our dinner was a bit hit and miss but mainly because it was packed and the staff and kitchen was going like crazy. If you are anywhere near the West Shore, make sure to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Shore Cafe also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to West Shore Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Shore Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added West Shore Cafe to your Saves list