We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Shore Cafe and Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added West Shore Cafe and Inn to your Saves list
West Shore Cafe and Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   5160 West Lake Blvd., Homewood, CA 96141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Homewood B&B and Inns
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unparalleled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I just stayed three nights at this fabulous resort.

The only thing that exceeded the fantastic location and amenities were the truly oustanding people who work there. Friendly, competent and helpful each and every one!

If there were any individual employee to be singled out however, it would have to be Robin at the front desk. She always went way above and beyond what you would expect from a staff member at a resort. She even offered to scrape the ice off of our car windows one morning!

We will definitely recommend this resort on all our advertising (we own rental properties) because of Robin. Just wish we could steal her away to work for us in Hawaii!!!

Sincerely

David and Frances Messer

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica N, Manager at West Shore Cafe and Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Good Morning Mr. Messer-

Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you in the near future! Please visit our website for promos and events!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at West Shore Inn last weekend with my parents. The rooms are beautiful, the service is great and you can't beat the setting. For the quality and the location, I think this resort is great value.

The suites are very spacious and very well decorated / designed. As soon as I walked in, I felt immediately at home and relaxed. Our suite was on the mountain side. At night, I could hear the groomers working the mountain. It didn't keep me up. I assume the lake side is quieter and will certainly have nicer views.

The lodge is directly across from Homewood Resort, which is more of a "locals" hill. I like Homewood because it has the best views of all the ski resorts in Tahoe (almost all the runs feature views of the lake), it's more affordable and the lines aren't as long. There are plenty of glades runs, although the terrain isn't as challenging as Squaw, which is probably the most built up of all the ski resorts on the North Shore. Squaw is about 20-25 minutes from West Shore Inn.

Tips:

-Skip eating at the restaurant in the inn. It's pretty mediocre. Instead, have happy hour at the inn while the sun is setting over the lake and then head to Truckee (30 minutes away) for dinner. Restaurant Trokay is a real gem
-Check out Emerald Bay. It's about 20 minutes west of the inn. True world class beauty

Room Tip: Lake side is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been traveling around Tahoe for decades but just this year was introduced to this beautiful property. Just six guest rooms, very intimate. Marlette and Mt. Watson suites are the best in the house and absolutely gorgeous: two rooms, two fireplaces, two balconies and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking that glorious lake. Decor is very Ralph Lauren-esque. If you're a skier, you don't even need a car; the lifts at Homewood Mountain Resort are directly across the road. The restaurant, with a wall of windows facing the lake, is one of the most beautiful dining spaces at Tahoe. Food is expensive but doesn't disappoint. The Sunday dinner special - $15 entree paired with a $5 glass of wine - is a good deal (even if you'll spend another $15 on a salad). On Mondays, entrees are half price. Lots of locals at happy hour.

Room Tip: Three rooms/suites face the lake; three are standard rooms facing the road. The rate sheet has all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early for dinner and they were able to seat us. The food was delicious especially the short ribs and the salmon. Portions were ample sized and the service was attentive. The view of the lake is stupendous, so arrive early to enjoy the view.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We came here for lunch while skiing at Homewood. The views here are amazing. Great service and just a very nice place to enjoy a meal. Nothing too special about their lunch menu, burgers, fish and chips etc. Just go for the view and atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We attended a wedding at the lovely West Shore Cafe and Inn and stayed in the Peak Ellis room upstairs. Although we did not stay in one of the Lake Tahoe-facing suites, our room was cozy and well appointed with a romantic fireplace and comfy furnishings.

From start to finish the staff went out of their way to be helpful. One extremely helpful staff member even helped us source discount coupons for our snowmobile tour!

We also really enjoyed the included breakfasts. The croissants were especially awesome, perfectly flaky on the outside and pleasurably chewy on the inside.

For those of you planning your nuptials, the wedding we attended was gorgeous. The ceremony took place outside on the lakeside patio with the glorious sunset blazing in the background. The afterparty took up the entire restaurant inside with plenty of room for the guests to eat dinner and dance the night away.

PARTING THOUGHT: West Shore Cafe and Inn is a great place for a romantic woodland getaway! Too bad there are no direct flights from NYC!

Room Tip: Consider splurging for the Lake Tahoe-facing suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a great day skiing across the Street at Homewood and a wonderful time with friends at the end of the day for Apre Ski at the West Shore Cafe. Very welcoming to skiers with special Happy Hour in the Bar. You can just walk across the Street from the Ski Lift. Beautiful architecture and rustic upscale interior design. Just my style for Tahoe. I felt very at home here and the bathrooms are nice as well. I can just imagine how nice the hotel suites must be here. Very good appetizers and cocktails, friendly service, spectacular views over the lake and nice fellow skiers/ boarders doing Apre Ski.
Some people arrived via a private boat from the South Shore in the morning for skiing at Homewood and had some special deal at West Shore Cafe for Dinner and than back to the South Shore in the evening from the West Shore dock. Would be fun to do this next time. We had a condo on Needle Peak Road on the Nevada side and drove over to Homewood. We will come back and it would be nice to spend a night at this beautiful Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to West Shore Cafe and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Shore Cafe and Inn

Address: 5160 West Lake Blvd., Homewood, CA 96141
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Homewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Homewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Shore Cafe and Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A picturesque lake-front restaurant and inn located adjacent to Homewood Mountain Resort, the West Shore Cafe and Inn offers a festive, lake-view setting with elegant-yet-approachable cuisine at affordable prices. Whether you are enjoying a meal in the classic Tahoe dining room, having a cocktail at the bar, or basking in the sunshine on the legendary West Shore Cafe deck and pier, the beauty of Lake Tahoe will make a lasting impression on you from every corner of the space. It is impeccably appointed with classic mountain architecture and a warm, luxurious interior with Persian rugs over slate floors, knotty alder moldings throughout, oversized leather couches and chairs, rustic bronze chandeliers and fixtures, and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking Lake Tahoe and its surrounding mountain peaks. It offers a spectacular, year-round gathering place for the Lake Tahoe community and its guests, while contributing to the revitalization of the West Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your West Shore Cafe and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Shore Cafe Hotel Homewood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Shore Cafe and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.