We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Shore Cafe and Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added West Shore Cafe and Inn to your Saves list
West Shore Cafe and Inn
5160 West Lake Blvd., Homewood, CA 96141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Homewood B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We came here for lunch while skiing at Homewood. The views here are amazing. Great service and just a very nice place to enjoy a meal. Nothing too special about their lunch menu, burgers, fish and chips etc. Just go for the view and atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We attended a wedding at the lovely West Shore Cafe and Inn and stayed in the Peak Ellis room upstairs. Although we did not stay in one of the Lake Tahoe-facing suites, our room was cozy and well appointed with a romantic fireplace and comfy furnishings.

From start to finish the staff went out of their way to be helpful. One extremely helpful staff member even helped us source discount coupons for our snowmobile tour!

We also really enjoyed the included breakfasts. The croissants were especially awesome, perfectly flaky on the outside and pleasurably chewy on the inside.

For those of you planning your nuptials, the wedding we attended was gorgeous. The ceremony took place outside on the lakeside patio with the glorious sunset blazing in the background. The afterparty took up the entire restaurant inside with plenty of room for the guests to eat dinner and dance the night away.

PARTING THOUGHT: West Shore Cafe and Inn is a great place for a romantic woodland getaway! Too bad there are no direct flights from NYC!

Room Tip: Consider splurging for the Lake Tahoe-facing suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a great day skiing across the Street at Homewood and a wonderful time with friends at the end of the day for Apre Ski at the West Shore Cafe. Very welcoming to skiers with special Happy Hour in the Bar. You can just walk across the Street from the Ski Lift. Beautiful architecture and rustic upscale interior design. Just my style for Tahoe. I felt very at home here and the bathrooms are nice as well. I can just imagine how nice the hotel suites must be here. Very good appetizers and cocktails, friendly service, spectacular views over the lake and nice fellow skiers/ boarders doing Apre Ski.
Some people arrived via a private boat from the South Shore in the morning for skiing at Homewood and had some special deal at West Shore Cafe for Dinner and than back to the South Shore in the evening from the West Shore dock. Would be fun to do this next time. We had a condo on Needle Peak Road on the Nevada side and drove over to Homewood. We will come back and it would be nice to spend a night at this beautiful Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had an unforgettable stay at the West Shore Inn this past weekend. My husband summarized it best as we were leaving when he said our weekend at the Inn was “magical.”

We stayed in the Marlette Peak Suite. What a special experience! The rooms face directly onto the pier and the lake. It is so relaxing to watch the boats coming and going and the people eating and having a great time. Just a lovely vibe, and all of this in front of the beautiful water and mountains of Lake Tahoe. It is mesmerizing. The suite has 2 balconies and 2 large windows that face this view so you become visually transfixed even when you are inside.

The Marlette Peak Suite has 2 bathrooms, 2 fireplaces and 2 flat screen TVs. Also the small refrigerator is stocked with complimentary drinks. A continental breakfast is included with cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit. Their croissants and muffins were delicious. We had to leave the Inn at 5:30 am on Monday morning and they made sure to have the coffee and baked goods ready to go for us to enjoy on the road.

Staying at the West Shore Inn felt like we were staying in a private club – and I mean that in the best possible way. The ambiance, the service and the food are superb and yet only a certain amount of people can be accommodated.

We stay frequently at the Hyatt on North Shore and we love that as well. But that is a large facility which comes with both the positives and negatives of its size (though granted, mostly positives!). The only thing that the Hyatt has that the West Shore Inn does not have that matters to us is the sandy beach with lounge chairs/umbrellas and great beach service to go along with it. You could sunbathe at the shore at the Inn but it is pebbley, not sandy. I believe there are kayaks and canoes available for a small fee and we will plan to do that next time.

Lunch and dinner at the West Shore Café is wonderful! (Please see my restaurant review for more info). Make a reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water in the summertime and ask to face Homewood Ski Resort on the opposit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I came for a wedding that was actually at West Shore Inn and Cafe. We stayed in the Mckinney Suite. We were surprised how big the suite is. We could of had several people stay with us. Everyone there was quite hospitable and friendly. We had lunch there on our first day and the food was very good. We noticed with us and others around us that you have to wait awhile to get your food, but honestly you hardly notice because you paying too much attention to your surroundings. Even the breakfast in the morning was very tasty. We will go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent a weekend at West Shore Cafe and Inn on our 3+ week driving vacation through the West. At this point we were starting North toward home. We arrived in lovely sunshine but it did change and was a lot cooler but still sunny the entire time. We were in the "economy" mode so booked a room with a view of the mountain as we rarely spend time in the room....it was very lovely and comfortable tho not as large as others I viewed through the open doors. We enjoyed a nice meal inside the dining room altho service was a bit scattered - a big party going on at the other end of the room. No real problem as we enjoyed the view. :-) The next day we did a drive around the lake ( really lovely scenery ) and knew we had made the best selection for lodging considering the hotels that we passed. On return we enjoyed a Mojito tasting outside - we were better prepared that some guests as we had jackets!! living in the PNW one is always ready for the elements. That evening we dined in town (for variety sake) and enjoyed another good meal. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if your budget allows.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahoe
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent an overnight at West Shore Cafe and Inn--what luxury! What fun! Our Sugar Pine Point Suite overlooked the lakefront deck scene with people coming and going by boat, and enjoying live music. The suite was opulent (as it should be given the cost). The check-in and check-out process was very smooth and all the hotel staff were super indulging and polite. We had dinner reservations for Sat night. While waiting for our table we enjoyed drinks at the outdoor bar, where the bartender was extremely polite and attentive. She did offer us food at the bar (contrary to another review). Although we did have to wait quite a bit due to the crowds, it was worth it because chef Rustie had his menu down. The food was fantastic--really the best we've had in Tahoe. We sat out on the beautiful deck and soaked up the scene during our meal. Sunday morning we took out one of the Inn's complimentary kayaks and took in the beautiful waters of Tahoe while gawking at the local architecture on shore. A fantastic overnight!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room, but the lakeview rooms are better for views and taking in the deck scene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Shore Cafe and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Shore Cafe and Inn

Address: 5160 West Lake Blvd., Homewood, CA 96141
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Homewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Homewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A picturesque lake-front restaurant and inn located adjacent to Homewood Mountain Resort, the West Shore Cafe and Inn offers a festive, lake-view setting with elegant-yet-approachable cuisine at affordable prices. Whether you are enjoying a meal in the classic Tahoe dining room, having a cocktail at the bar, or basking in the sunshine on the legendary West Shore Cafe deck and pier, the beauty of Lake Tahoe will make a lasting impression on you from every corner of the space. It is impeccably appointed with classic mountain architecture and a warm, luxurious interior with Persian rugs over slate floors, knotty alder moldings throughout, oversized leather couches and chairs, rustic bronze chandeliers and fixtures, and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking Lake Tahoe and its surrounding mountain peaks. It offers a spectacular, year-round gathering place for the Lake Tahoe community and its guests, while contributing to the revitalization of the West Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your West Shore Cafe and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Shore Cafe Hotel Homewood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Shore Cafe and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.