We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite Hollister place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Running Rooster

Running Rooster
1570 Shelton Dr, Hollister, CA 95023
(831) 638-9940
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Hollister
Restaurant details
Hollister, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My new favorite Hollister place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The Running Rooster remodeled last month. They did a great job with their remodel. This place has great burgers and beer.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent BBQ, cold beer, great service. I had the tri-tip sandwich with fries, it was awesome. My co-worker had the fish tacos, which filled the plate and were reported to be excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPV, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best. Burger. Ever. ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Best. Burger. Ever. That's what it said on the restaurant as we drove through Hollister on a road trip looking for a decent meal. That's what made us turn around and go in.

They. Come. Close. Although it wasn't THE best burger I ever ate, it was pretty darn close! They grill outside on a gas grill and it was extremely tasty. I ordered the El Jefe. Excellent choice!! Though not quite as spicy as I'm used to (I like it HOT), it was really, really good. I ordered the garlic fries to go with them... mouthwateringly yummy because I love garlic. Next time, I'll try the Ring of Fire burger and see if it burns my fins off... :)

Definitely would make this a food stop on our way up or down the state and would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Burgers and Shakes were good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great service,super friendly waitress, the burgers were cooked fresh and seasoned nicely. The chocolate shake was delish!! Need I say more

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Smoky inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

Food was good, smoke from outdoor grill blows inside and one leaves with irritated eyes and stinking of smoke. Needs ventilation to blow the smoke out the door and from entering the restaurant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Running Rooster also viewed

 

Been to Running Rooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Running Rooster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.