We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Beach House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House at Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Beach House at Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nites Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Baltimore MD
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Beach House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was our second stay at Beach House and it certainly won't be our last! The location right near the Hermosa Beach Pier is perfect, and so are the accommodations and staff.

We stayed in a beach-front room on the first floor and really enjoyed not only the view but the ability to sit out on our comfortable little deck and watch all the action on The Strand. It felt like Beach House was our home on Hermosa Beach! Both of the rooms we had (ocean-front this year and ocean view last year) were roomy with a perfect configuration - sort of a suite but all in one large room. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom amenities were great (fantastic Aveda shampoo of which we may have smuggled a few home) and the mini-kitchen came in handy a few times.

We rented bikes from nearby Hermosa Cycle and kept them in the hotel's storage facility - this is a must-do in HB. The hotel supplied beach chairs and towels which was a nice touch. Hermosa Beach is very laid-back area with lots of fun things to do and the entire South Bay area is full of great dining and entertainment.

Breakfast was strictly continental with excellent coffee and a very relaxing outdoor seating area. If you want more than that there are good choices less than a block away.

The jacuzzi area was disappointing and should be imploded and replaced, but that's not what you really go to Hermosa Beach for anyway.

Hats off to the friendly and accommodating staff, especially Karla at the front desk who was instrumental in making our stay even more enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    135
    29
    18
    13
See reviews for
137
215
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A perfect location right on the Strand at Hermosa Beach. The room (sea view) was beautiful with two TV's, a stove, microwave, refrig and dishes. All you need to set up house. The breakfast is probably the low point of the day. Not a very large selection especially for the price you're paying for the room. There are selection of newspapers in the lobby for no charge.

Parking your car costs $25 per day (plus tax!). There are some nice restaurants in the area, some within walking distance. It was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had an ocean front suite, which was basically all one room with a king bed, and a small living area separated by a half wall. The boys slept on the "magic couch", there is a microwave, small refrigerator, electric burners, utensils, plates, teapot, etc. Continental breakfast is included, which is really nice. There is a balcony with a couple of chairs, great place to sit and watch people go by on the strand, watch the beach volleyball, or just the ocean. The bed and pillows were comfy, really nice people working there. Beach chairs and towels, and sand toys available. Overall, we were very happy here!

Room Tip: ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Was so looking forward to waking up to the sea, that would have been ok if i had managed to sleep.....
Had asked for a top floor sea view,when I arrived taxi just dumped me and my many bags outside. . No one came out to help (8pm) That should have been a red flag then , surly reception no welcome, ! just key and told no top rooms ( I had booked months ago)

People in room above walked the room all night , and People outside on boardwalk partied until 1 am! I couldn't win.
And as for the free breakfast , don't bother

I couldn't wait to check out and get to a decent hotel, what a waste of $400.....(USD)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Leeanne -I am sorry you did not exnjoy your stay at the Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach. We pride ourselves on good customer service and I am sorry we disappointed you. On Ocean Front Suites, our top category and most popular rooms, we guarantee a room type, but are unable to guarantee the top floor. We do our best to fill all requests, but sometimes are unable to put guests in their first choice of location in the hotel. If your upstairs neighbors bothered you, again our apologies. The Strand, directly in front of the hotel, can be busy from morning through into the night. This is why we have heavy paned-sliding doors, which delete the outside sounds. It is hard to enjoy the outside waves with the dog walkers, bikers and others always on The Strand and we are sorry if it made it difficult to sleep. Again, we work to meet and exceed all expectations of every guest and we hope you will give us a second chance. Thank you for your remarks and research every comment. We do hope you will return to the Beach House and please contact me directly if I can be of service to you.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last August, 2013, and it was great from the start. We were trying to get a room with front beach exposure, and weren't able to book one with such short notice; about 6 days in advance of our trip. But, when we checked in, they told us they were giving us an upgrade to a beach front room. We walked in and were immediately thrilled. They gave us a room on the ground floor, beach front. We literally had our own balcony right on the walkway, which is is all that separates you from the sand and ocean. We had some chairs and a table to relax at when we were in the room. We also had a fold out, second bed, which accommodated a guest from LA we had visit for a night. It was fantastic. The room was fabulous as well, sporting a good size fridge, stereo system, two big TV's, a range burner for cooking, plates and silverware, and a great bathroom that was kept incredibly clean. The desk staff is very friendly and professional, and 24 hours. The hotel is stumbling distance from all of the food and nightlife, as well as the main shopping drag. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be right on the beach in Hermosa Beach. You can walk down to Manhattan Beach on one side, and Redondo Beach on the other, it's very relaxing.

Room Tip: Direct beach front rooms are the way to go here, although most rooms afford a decent view of the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I think it is one of the best places to stay if you can afford the high price. The problem is that when you pay what this place charges especially during the busy times, your expectations for what you get in return are elevated and that was the case with me and relative to what the rooms cost here, I believe that I had a mixed experience. I think it starts with the staff. I particularly think that they could be a little bit more friendly and accommodating. For example, I had requested that I be given a room on the first floor when I did the booking and when I arrived at the hotel, I was told that it was not available at first and then was told that it is available but it will be an extra charge. Really. After paying almost 400 per night, you want to charge more for staying on the first floor. After I agreed to pay a small premium for supposedly partial ocean view room, I entered the room to find out that it had zero ocean view. Looking at the grass and a little park area that is in front of the ocean should not qualify the room as a partial ocean view room but the front desk person was less then accommodating and less then friendly to make any changes. The rooms themselves are not bad but after a person pays what this places charges, I expect something more then a bottle of water in the room. Possibly even something as simple as a small chocolate or a cookie with a thank you note would be more then sufficient. Just something to feel the guests special who are paying twice as much as other places nearby of the benefit of staying on the beach. Some of the rooms at this location are located in the building number 2 or the building that is further from the beach and these rooms have terrible views or new views whatsoever so make sure that you take this account when making reservations. If you can score a room in the building where the reservation desk is located, that is more ideal. The valet guys at this hotel are a hit or miss also. Some are really nice like Teffery and some are not very friendly and made faces unless I gave them 5 dollars or so in tip when taking the car which I paid several different times. The breakfast can also improve as it is consistent of some cereal, cookies, fruit, and some juices. Again, I would be more then happy if the room were not so expensive. The gym is a joke. It is a small room with not much to offer but I was happy that they had something. The pool is small but I guess when you are staying on the beach, it might not be a big issue for some people. The location is it's strongest attribute. It is right near all of the action with actives on the beach and the clubs, bars, and discos near the hotel. Overall, as I said, if you can afford to pay a high price and want to stay on the beach at an awesome location, this is the right place for you. But if you care about other amenities and even remotely care about costs, I would look at other options.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the building closest to the beach and you should be in good shape with the view and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Every year the Los Angeles beaches are crowded during the summer as it's perfect beach weather, especially in June through September. One of the less traveled areas is Hermosa Beach, a charming small town located between two bigger sisters, Redondo Beach and Manhattan Beach. When you want to stay awhile here, do try the Beach House Hotel which is located smack dab next to the beautiful wide beach of Hermosa. And also the view has a plus, the Hermosa Beach pier. The street leading up to the pier, Pier Ave. is blocked off for a block and you'll find a choice of cafes and restaurants that won't leave you wanting. The hotel rooms are close by but the evenings are quiet, except for the occasional skate boarder going by on the Strand walkway directly in front of the hotel. You'll have everything you want there: continental breakfast included, beach chairs, umbrellas and towels, and parking nearby. We enjoy this hotel every year and it never disappoints, no matter what month of the year we go.

Room Tip: Choose the second or third beach front rooms! Best views looking down on the Strand. The rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House at Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House at Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimenatary continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach House at Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Hermosa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.