We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House at Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Beach House at Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ocean View Suites-$329
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beaumont, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Beach House is a wonderful place. The staff is always attentive and friendly. The rooms are spotless. The views are unbelievable. Access to restaurants, shops and bars within walking distance is great. Bicycles can be rented - also within walking distance. The review mentioning "luck of the draw" as far as being assigned the same room is a valid concern; however, we always call and request the room we want - and we do pay extra for ocean view, as you would with any upscale hotel. The rooms are clearly explained on the internet site. Also, no food service is really not a problem since there are so many places to eat very close by. There are always volleyball games going on during the day (especially Friday through Sunday) outside the ocean view rooms, which are entertaining. I would, and have, highly recommended, this facility to others.

Room Tip: pay the extra for ocean view - highest level (3) is best -
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear djparks1000- Thank you for your kind review about our Hotel and staff. We love being in the heart of Hermosa Beach where our guests have access so some great restaurants, shops, and activities for everyone. You can always do some great “people watching” also when you’re right on the strand. We’re thankful you frequent the Beach House Hotel-Hermosa Beach and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    145
    29
    18
    13
See reviews for
152
228
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a dozen times in the past year and a half, including three times since December 2013. It is one of my favorite hotels on my travel circuit but also one of my most frustrating. I love the location and the rooms can be amazing (full beach view with balcony), decent (peak around the balcony to see a side ocean view) and horrible (a balcony looking at a roof 2 feet away). So, your stay will depend on the luck of the room draw and if you pay up for the full ocean view. The rooms are a nice size and very bright with a fridge, a fireplace and two TVs. Not much offered for breakfast, no pool (if you care, I don't) and no food service. However, as mentioned elsewhere, you have lots of food and fun all over the place on the Strand and a block away on the area by the Hermosa Pier. The most frustrating thing is the hotel's refusal to make any effort to reward or recognize frequent stays. I thought it was more of a vacation hotel, but I noticed other business travelers who have stayed here as well. Beefing up the breakfast offering and doing something for a frequent visitor would go a long way to improve this hotel. Getting assigned room 123 after being at this location several times in quick succession shows no concern for the frequent traveler.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear AMD 50 -- we appreciate your recent visits to the Beach House Hotel in Hermosa Beach and are sorry you did not find everything perfect. We are a small boutique hotel, and you are right, we do not have a frequent guest program but we do have many, many business travelers who choose to stay with us. And, we apologize if the room selection is not what you requested and we will do our best to make sure that does not happen on your next visit. As for food service, we provide a Continental Breakfast only, but we offer daily Room Service options for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from two of our neighboring restaurants who deliver to our rooms. Plus, as you mentioned, we have many restaurants within the few blocks surrounding the hotel, so hopefully, these can meet our guests' needs.

Thank you for your candor and we do appreciate your comments. We hope you will return again and feel free to call me directly if I can assist you in your next reservation.
Best,

Marje B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great location, many restaurants and some shopping all within walking distance, we didn't even rent a car. Can be a bit noisy on weekends, but it is what we expected for the area. Nice staff and has beach amenities (chairs, toys) available free of charge. Breakfast was adequate nothing great or surprising.

Room Tip: Don't be disappointed with a partial ocean view, request 3rd floor for best ocean, beach view wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Jan- Thank you for your recent visit and kind words about the Beach House Hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and got to take advantage of our convenient location and nearby shops. It’s great to be in a location where you have access to just about everything from great restaurants, fun activities, and plenty of coastal sightseeing. Thank you again for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We liked how close the rooms were to everything...beaches bars...and shops.
the staff was very nice and helpful.
we will stay here again as well as refer the Beach Hotel to others.
I also recommend checking out the FFFF. BAR....the fact that hermosa is a smokeless area is a true gem.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are happy you had a great time at the Beach House and in Hermosa Beach. It is a perfect time of year for a beach getaway -- without the crowds but with the great winter sunsets. We hope you come back again soon and thanks again for your kind words.
Marje B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Hermosa Beach House is in the most perfect location in Hermosa Beach. Small luxury hotel situated 2 blocks away from the Happenings on the Pier but just close enough to quiet and peace on the ocean that you feel like you really escaped.

Hotel service is awesome. The breakfast served each meal overlooking the ocean is a bonus. My only complaint is the lack of bigger room options especially if you want to travel with a family and need some privacy.

There are a lot of fun brunch spots nearby such as Martha's and Good Stuff and shopping. Definitely rent a bike and take an afternoon riding up to Venice Beach. You will smile the entire trip.

Room Tip: Request one on the second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Karumba2030- Thank you for your kind compliments about the Beach House Hotel and our staff. We’re so glad you were able to enjoy your stay and took advantage of a bike ride up the coast. Being in the heart of Hermosa Beach, everyone wants to come to the Pier, but we’re happy you were able to escape the noise and have a relaxing time. Thank you again for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stay in this hotel 4-6 weekends each spring while visiting the South bay where we use to live. We fly in after work on Friday evenings and arrive about 10 p.m normally. Most times this leads us getting the less than desirable rooms - even though we are frequent visitors. Last year - we ended up in a handicap room that had a full size bed. We asked to be moved - but they were sold out and we had to stay in the room. Afterwards I had a phone call with Jerry the GM of the hotel. He ensured me he would make note of our room preferences and thanked us for our loyalty to the hotel. We checked in to the hotel on Friday night last week and guess what - we were put into room 123 (the same handicapped room with a full bed that I specifically asked not to be in.). After much dispute - we were moved. Im not sure why this hotel is not able to know when you have a guest who frequents your hotel over and over - and why you would not take care of them. Overall the service is not great. The front desk is not helpful and act as if your putting them out. Our room we were put in had half eaten cupcake boxes left in the room when we checked in. There was mold in the shower and the walls had gashes in them. The wood in the room is pretty beat up. The next day they forgot to clean our room. I love the location of this hotel - and want it to live up to my expectations but it continues to fail. I hope that they invest money in both the upkeep and the talent and make this the hotel it should be.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The place was very nice, but it had the old 'to the side' ocean view when I was expecting a straight out the window ocean view. The location is great and our room was very nice. This place is right on the strand so it would great to have a strand facing room.

Room Tip: Make sure you talk to someone about the view in your particular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Glenn- Thank you for your visit to the Beach House Hotel-Hermosa Beach. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you were able to explore all that Hermosa Beach and our neighboring towns have to offer. I apologize you were not able to have a direct view of the Ocean, but I do hope you come back to try one of our Ocean Front rooms so you can have the perfect “ocean view” experience. Thank you for your compliments about the location and room, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House at Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House at Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Beach House at Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Hermosa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.