We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House at Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Beach House at Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nites Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
lesve
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

this hotel is very well located just on the beach , it's a very clean hotel nice staff room are big with sofa kitchenette big bathroom and very quiet just on the border of the pacific ocean
internet network is good and easy to connect , breakfast is poor at the level of the choice

Room Tip: all rooms are well but if you want to see sea from your room need to book front sea because from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks for your recent stay and review of the Beach House in Hermosa Beach. We appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed the hotel and the Hermosa area. Our Continental Breakfast is included with your stay and we are sorry if it did not fulfill your needs. We have pastries, bagels, morning breads, coffee, tea, juices, fresh fruit and yogurt. In addition, we have several excellent choices around the hotel with a more complete breakfast and we are happy to assist you in finding them. We do hope you will return and visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    135
    29
    18
    13
See reviews for
137
215
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Indeed, the location of The Beach House is second-to-none. But this is reflected in the room rate which also brings expectations of excellence.

On a return visit over Labor Day weekend, we found black mold in our bathroom. Of course, the hotel was sold out so moving wasn't an option. We also noticed that the property seemed to have fallen into a bit of disrepair, e.g., the railings on the balcony were rusty. Again, not what one expects considering the reputation of the hotel and room rates.

When we returned home, I received a survey and took time to let them know - along with photos of the mold - that we were disappointed. The Front Desk Manager replied: "I have looked at the pictures you sent, needless to say I am embarrassed. We do believe that the Beach House is a first class establishment. The state of your bathroom is unacceptable. I can assure that we are already taking the necessary steps to correct the problem. We certainly value you as returning guest. I would like to offer you a complimentary night."

Fair enough, right? They offered to mail a gift certificate, since I didn't know when we would return. That was in October. We received nothing. I contacted the Front Desk Manager again in November, since I was planning a return visit. Nothing.

I'm afraid The Beach House experience - for us - has degraded from 5 stars to a dim light. How disappointing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your honest review regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your candor and apologize for the problem in the bathroom and shower stall. It has been corrected and again, we do apologize we were unable to move you during your stay. We neglected to send your complimentary stay Certificate but it has now been sent. Again, it was an error on our part and we always work to treat every guest with respect and courtesy and honesty. We look forward to your next return and please feel free to call me or our Front Office Manager Jerry directly to help you with your next reservation at the Beach House Hotel in Hermosa Beach. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Another great weekend at the Beach House. It is always an excellent experience. Have been enjoying for several years always first choice when in the South Bay. Location can't be better and cont. breakfast always good.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best and well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay and review of the Beach House Hotel in Hermosa Beach. We loved having you and hope you will come again on your next trip to the South Bay. We look forward to your visit!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hotel is located right on the beach. Room was clean, modern and had all amenities you need. A very relaxing place to chill. Breakfast could have had a little more to choose from given what you pay to stay here. We stayed here after travelling around for 3 weeks and a great way to relax. Plenty of great restaurants and bars in walking distance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Der Angie - thank you for your recent visit to the Beach House Hotel in Hermosa Beach. We were happy to be your last stop on your trip and hope you will come see us again on your next visit from Australia. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Beach House.
Best regards,
Marje Bennetts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location is great for relaxing and Hermosa Beach. We had a ocean front suite on the second floor, which was awesome. The view is great and the noise from the sidewalk is not disturbing at all.
Room had everything that one could desire, including 2 TV’s, fireplace (yes, a real fire), full kitchen, etc. No complaints there.
The breakfast is the only reason why giving only 4 stars. Coffee was terrible and choice of food items very limited. Then again, it was complimentary, but for the price we paid for the suite, I would expect bit more. Luckily there are number of restaurants in the close vicinity that serve good breakfast.
If you need a hotel that is close to Hollywood and Santa Monica, this is not for you. However, I would recommend this if you’re after a beach location in a relaxing surroundings. We will be going back...

Room Tip: Request a upper floor rooms. The rooms on the ground floor might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Jani - thank you for your recent stay at the Beach House Hermosa Beach and for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the area and the hotel. Our Continental Breakfast includes breakfast breads, bagels, whole fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals, with coffee and teas, and you are correct, for a complete breakfast with eggs, there are several very good options within walking distance. We do appreciate your remarks and hope on your next trip over, you will again stay with us at the Beach House Hotel. Hermosa is an oasis from the busier cities to our north and our guests enjoy the true beach-town atmosphere provided in the South Bay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Marje B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at the beach house. This was a memorable trip. The rooms were beautiful. Very comfortable bed. We had a effect view of the sunset each night from our balcony. Everyone made us feel welcome and always asked what they could do! The morning breakfast was great. There were so many places close by to walk to rent bikes, grab a beer or just enjoy the view.
We will be returning for another wonderful trip.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra to have a room overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Friends from Kansas - Thanks for much for your stay and recent review of the Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach. We agree, it is a great place to relax, walk or bike the area, and just chill. The November sunsets are some of the best of the year and this year many were spectacular. Thanks again for your visit and we hope to see you back at the Beach House Hotel Hermosa.
Warm regards from the beach ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaretville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stay at the beach house for a much anticipated long weekend every year. The location, right off of the strand, overlooking the beach and pacific is perfect. the rooms are huge; really open suites with plush king size bed, wood-burning fireplace, and a super luxe bathroom. the hotel is casually elegant with terrific yet unobtrusive service. Hermosa Beach is fun and the pier hops in the evening with scores of twenty-somethings. On the downside is the dearth of top-notch restaurants for dinner though breakfast and lunch options are many. I can't wait till next year and my return to the beach house!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House at Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House at Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimenatary continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Beach House at Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Hermosa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.