We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House at Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Beach House at Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nites Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
cookville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Spend the extra money and get a room with a view and balcony. Well worth the expense! Loved being able to sit on the balacony and watch the sunsets. Great breakfast downstairs. They were even shooting a video or commercial right next door. Tours are available thru the hotel which is a major plus. Only thing I would change would be parking. They only have vallet which would have cost us more than the car rental for the whole week so we got a taxi to and from hotel. Easy to gwt around and a safe place to walk around and shop even at night. Look forward to going back as soon as possible! !!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    135
    29
    18
    13
See reviews for
137
215
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Arrived to find out we had been given an upgrade. Hotel easy drive from the airport. Room we was very clean and tidy, small kitchen included. Room had view of beach, however if light sleeper could be an issue as you can hear everyone walking or roller blading past room. Guess this might be an issue in busy summer months. Had small issue with delivery of luggage but handled very well by reception staff. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the beach front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We LOVED this place. It was our last and best stop on a 6 day driving tour of CA. We got to the hotel very early (around noon) and were thrilled that we could check in right away. After 6 hours in the car, this was a plus. When we checked in, we were told we were "upgraded" to ocean front, which confused us because we thought that's what we booked anyway. After reading some other reviews, maybe we booked ocean VIEW, not FRONT...? Either way, for $350, we stayed in a second floor room with a balcony right over the strand and with incredible views of the beach and a magnificent sunset. The room was great. We were only here one night, but would love to come back for a more extended stay. We had a bedroom, living room area, kitchenette, fireplace, and 2 flat screen TVs. The room was extremely clean, including shrink wrap on everything in the kitchen. The location was perfect. We walked the strand for miles, enjoying the beach views and the incredible houses you're surrounded by. We really liked that the area didn't feel touristy. There were only a couple of hotels in the area, and this one looked like the nicest, and best location. You could walk anywhere you would need to go in the area: restaurants, bars, corner store, and liquor store all in walking distance. We had a very relaxing stay and wish we had more time here. We had no problem with noise from the strand, although I could see a privacy issue if you were on the ground floor. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony, taking in the view and people watching. Can't wait to go back! Even though this hotel might seem expensive to some--it's worth it! And make sure your room is 2nd floor or higher with the beachfront view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here three nights while on a business trip. Most guests are obviously here on vacation.The sand is literally 20 feet from the hotel, and the ocean-front rooms are beautiful. My room consisted of a king bed, small work desk, and sofa/coffee table area with a gas fireplace. It also has a mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, tea kettle, sink and hotplate. There are good-size flat-screen TVs in both the "living area" and the bed area. The bathroom has both a tub (with rubber ducky!) and a shower, and came with Aveda bath amenities (although the conditioner is no good).

Everything in the room is super-clean, almost germaphobic-standard clean. For example, the coffee pot, mugs and silverware are wrapped in shrinkwrap to show it hasn't been used. The towels and bathrobe could be softer but are clean and fine. There isn't really room service; what they call room service is actually delivery from a local bar. It's about a two-minute walk to the restaurant, so I recommend calling ahead for takeout if you don't order enough food to meet the delivery $20 minimum (or don't want to pay the delivery fee, plus tip). And actually, lots of restaurant choices are within short walking distance, so get out and take a look what's there (just south of the hotel).

My only complaint about this particular room is the noise. When I checked in, they told me I'd been "upgraded" from an ocean-view room (in which you can actually only see the ocean from the balcony, apparently -- do read the room descriptions carefully) to an ocean-front room. However, it seems they only "upgrade" you to one of the ground-level ocean-front rooms, which sit right along an extremely busy walking/biking/skating path. There's not much privacy and it gets pretty noisy until late at night. I wouldn't really consider this an upgrade, although the view is pretty great. The best rooms are the second- and third-floor ocean-front rooms.

The free continental breakfast is high-quality, although there's not much variety. The orange and grapefruit juices taste especially fresh. Breakfast consists of bread, several pastries, mini muffins and bagels, standard pieces of fruit (bananas, oranges, red delicious apples), flavored yogurt and two types of cold cereal. The breakfast cafe has some tables outside overlooking the beach, which was a great way to start the day (if a bit chilly in October).

Staff members were friendly every time we interacted. Overall, an average- to above-average hotel (for the price) in a phenomenal location.

Room Tip: Ocean-front rooms on the first floor are a bit noisy. I wouldn't pay extra for one of these room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I've stayed here several times in 2013 for business travel. If you want an amazing beach view and location, this is not it. It's right on the beach, but the Hermosa pier is not the most magical place on the California coast. If you just want to get some sand in your toes and walk by the water, it's quick access. I wouldn't hang the success of a beach vacation or romantic getaway on this location, however.

The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated, almost like little suites. The ocean view rooms do have a view of the ocean, but beware, if you get a 1st floor ocean view room, people are walking right by you on the boardwalk, not even worth opening the shutters. Another time, I was surprised to find a volleyball tournament set up right outside my room.

The exterior and lobby are dated compared to the room interiors. The hotel has no restaurant. The continental breakfast is just average, you can get a better breakfast burrito down the street instead. There is a little outdoor terrace where you can eat breakfast, which is nice. It's a quick walk to lots of restaurant and some shopping options.

Each time I stayed, I had to specifically ask for the wifi password, which is annoying. Employees did not seem to go out of their way to greet people or take their stay to the next level. No one was rude or anything, just average. One time they did screw up my bill and put valet parking on it when I hadn't brought a car. It got fixed, but do check your line items carefully.

Room Tip: You do not want the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Walking into this room, with the sun coming through the glass door and the ocean waves coming through..it doesn't get much better.

Was re for a girls weekend and we loved this hotel. It came recommended by friends who've stayed here but then I read all the Trip Visor reviews, as I always do to help make good decisions.

The hotel isn't fancy, but it doesn't matter if you just want to relax and enjoy the view and area. Beds were comfy...even the queen pull out (good not great). We lived on the balcony and the Ocean Front upgrade was worth every penny because we knew we were going to spend time just hanging out. Small frig and microwave were great. The area is perfect o walk to shops and great restaurants! And at least once walk The Strand from there to Manhattan Beach as fun to see the houses and people watch.

Only suggestion is the hotel should have balcony blinds open when guests walk in their room...it's breathtaking yet was closed up. And those sliding blinds are difficult until you figure them out (be patient).

Room Tip: Ocean View made the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We drove from Santa Monica down to this hotel for one night on our anniversary. We reserved an Ocean View room for $350. When we arrived, we realized they lied - there is no ocean view from the ocean view rooms. Our view was facing north to a street and some buildings. You have to walk out on the balcony and look far to the left to see it. I have a better view of the ocean from my apartment. We told the woman at the front desk, who was extremely rude, and she said "oh you should have booked an ocean FRONT room. But sorry those are sold out months in advance so you can't upgrade." P.S. Those rooms are an additional $300. Okay. So we went back to our room, which was clean at least. Hermosa Beach pier is loud and full of young people. We're in our early 30's and we felt it was a bunch of college kids. But back to the hotel - the TV was broken. We called and they sent someone to fix it. Then the bathtub drain was broken. They sent another person to come and fix it. He was very nice. There isn't room service - you have to order from closeby restaurants. A fire alarm went off at 2am for 20 minutes waking us from what was supposed to be our one night of sleep without interruptions. There apparently wasn't a fire and no one was pranking, it was a faulty electrical thing that set it off. The continental breakfast wasn't really great. Better off going to Good Stuff next door. One of the desk ladies was nice to us when we were checking out, so they're not all miserable there. She apologized for the misunderstanding about this supposed "ocean view" and also about the fire alarm. I'm not sure it was worth the money, I could have just stayed at home and had a more romantic time with less stress. Luckily we laughed the whole time so it wasn't a horrible evening. I don't see any reason I'd come back here.

Room Tip: Do not expect an ocean view from the ocean view rooms. You have to book an ocean FRONT room which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House at Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House at Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimenatary continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach House at Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Hermosa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.