We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Save Saved
You added Beach House at Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach House at Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Coastal Romance Package
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Hermosa Beach
southampton u.k
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Right on the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a beach front room on the third floor. We have visited Hermosa Beach before so knew where the hotel was. After a 4 day drive from Phoenix we were looking forward to the rest. We were not disappointed. Our room was large with a super king bed and sofa area. There was a fridge and small stove and microwave. There is a gas fire if it got cool and air con was quiet. The real bonus is the balcony were we sat and watch the sunset. I would get a second or third floor room as there is a path along the front with people walking or cycling past all day. The hotel do a continental breakfast and you can sit outside and watch the beach and the people pass by. They also loan you beach chairs.
There are lots of decent restaurants near by but we loved our room and balcony so much we took a pizza back and ate it there one night. If you stay over a weekend see if there is a show on at The Comedy and Magic Club just a few 100 metres away. We had a great evening out there and it wasn't too expensive.
If you have a car you will have to pay $24 a night to park it at the hotel. The wifi was free and fast. We were able to FaceTime our children back home. This might not be the cheapest hotel you ever stay in but it is great value because of its quality and location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    122
    26
    18
    10
See reviews for
122
187
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We took a 4 day three night break at the beach house. We had a great time. We reserved a Beach view room and were given a Beach Front room on the ground floor. I was a little concerned but am very very glad we took it. The only problem was that there is a walk way that lots of people walk, run, bike on in front of your room. At first it was wierd but after an hour it was kind of neat seeing a very diverse group.
The hotel is old but well maintained. The continental breakfast was average with the exception that you get to eat it looking directrly at the beach.

Volleyball is played between the hotel and the ocean. It was kind of relaxing to sit on the deck and watch people play and practice. There were many Pro level players practicing and they worked a lot harder than you might expect.

We walked the walkway (I think they call it the strand) a few miles one day and rented bikes the next day. We took the STAND all the way to Santa Monica pier the next. This proved to be a lot longer than it looked on the map. The ride was enjoyable except for a few miles that went thru traffic.

The biggest negative was the temperature. Since we usually go to the beach in Florida we were not expecting the temp to be as cool as it was. We needed jackets every evening. Oh yea, they have gas fire places in the room, and we used it every night.

Overall we had a good time staying at the Beach House. My individual ratings are not as high as I would normally give to a hotel because of the price. The Beach House cost for a night is higher than most I have stayed at so I think that there are things that they could do to get a hight rating.
With that said, I would still stay there again.

Room Tip: I would choose a beach front room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Beach House Hotel @ Hermosa Beach provided just the right blend of peace and tranquility while still being accessible and fun. I had the pleasure of staying here on the tail end of a business trip as a "treat" to myself and it was wonderful. The in room fireplace was so nice, as was the separate shower and bath. It was so clean and comfortable not to mention the great location. The Beach house is within walking distance of some great bars and restaurants. My only regret was not staying longer but I will makeup for that on my next visit. I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: As a note, the ocean view and partial were all sold out so my room faced the back of someone else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Perfect location and great rooms... we didn't get the oceanfront as they were sold out but the ocean views (room 319 or 317) are nice too because you can enjoy the people watching. The beach is just steps away and they had a nice complimentary continental breakfast. Definitely will come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Given the amazing vacation we had when staying at their sister facility at Half Moon Bay (HMB), we booked a week at this location in Hermosa Beach. I could easily summarize the experience as BLISSFUL.
Located right on the beach and the amazing 26 mile beach trail, this hotel brings you the consummate and almost opulent SoCal beach experience. We encountered no trouble finding the Beach House and check in was seamless--forget about early check in since few check out early here. You can take your chances on street parking but valet parking is secure, close and dependable and frankly, just one of those things you suck up. Clearly, the Ocean FRONT rooms are the most expensive. Ocean VIEW sometimes requires some neck work but honestly, the price is not that much more. And, yes, it is expensive here but I defy you to find a better property for this price or less in this area. The rooms are carbon copies of those at the HMB property, right down to the fireplace. A spartan little kitchenette (2 burner stove, frig, sink, glassware, silverware, microwave), comprehensive in-room stereo, great WiFi, and two TVs. The sleeping section is slightly elevated above the living section and was incredibly comfortable and adjacent to the well lit bathroom. We opted for the Ocean FRONT room (with its accompanying patio!) and were not disappointed—a stunning view awaited us at every moment. To their credit, beach noise was barely discernible when the patio door was closed. Breakfast was on the first floor and seating is inside or outside, adjacent to the beach trail. This offering is virtually identical to that at HMB—a carb-laden spread. If that’s not your thing, forage for staples at the nearby Safway—you have plenty of storage in your room. While the BH does not offer bikes, the cycle shop next door couldn't be more accommodating—be sure to tell them you’re staying at the BH for a 10% discount. We rented for the week, since we used the trail every day. The parking garage has a separate, locked area for your bike storage. There is a comprehensive fitness room and a hot tub. There are plenty of eateries and markets within walking distance.
This facility doesn't try to be anything other than luxurious, quintessential beach living.
Idyllic in every way! We would absolutely return here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a pigeon ledge just under the patio--hard to describe but it served as a nesting are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Spent the weekend at the Beach House and overall the experience was good. Room was spacious and clean, view was excellent, we ended up in a handicap room but didn't ask for that. Only one thing that made our experience not 100% great was the valet. We knew going in that the public parking garage behind the hotel was $32 for overnight and we didn't want to worry about metered parking. Hotel valet was $24/night. So picking the less expensive and more convenient option, we went with the valet. Our room was not ready to check-in when we first arrived so we kept our luggage in our car and went bike riding until our room was ready. When we got back around 3:00 to check-in, my husband asked the valet for our car key so we could get our luggage out of the car. My husband and I are the type of travelers that don't require a lot of attention. Our luggage is on wheels and we prefer to take our luggage to our rooms ourselves. But the valet would not give my husband our keys and said it was the "hotel policy" for them to go and get our car out of the garage (which was 50 ft away), drive it back up to the valet stand - all so we could get our luggage out and they could drive the car back to the garage. Ridiculous policy!! I was waiting by our car when the valet came to unlock the car and told the valet in no uncertain terms that he was not driving our car out of the garage! All we wanted was our luggage and I personally hauled both suitcases back to the valet stand where my husband was waiting because they wouldn't give him the car keys. We were wondering later if I had needed to get some sunscreen or jackets out of our car, would the valet again require us to have them drive our car to the valet stand, get the items out, and then drive the car back again??? Management needs to re-visit this policy!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I've read the reviews, and everything people say about the location and beauty of this hotel is true. In addition, the service was absolutely extraordinary. Jasmine at the front desk was delightful and charming, and made sure that our every need was met. She manages a staff of friendly, professional people; Don engaged my four year old granddaughter every time she came through the lobby, and Alina offered excellent suggestions to make our stay even better. What a wonderful experience, I can't wait to return. S.Press

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach House at Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House at Hermosa Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimenatary continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Amex, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beach House at Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Hermosa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.