We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Save Saved
You added Beach House at Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beach House at Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chino, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a surprise in my own Southern California backyard! Ocean front room added to the feel of actually being right on the beach. Loved using the fireplace as one day it was cloudy and very windy. Room had what we needed, clean, staff friendly and helpful, beach chairs provided, walking distance to restaurants, and continental breakfast had all you needed to start the day. Yes, there were dings here and there but it didn't detract from the view and location!

Room Tip: Third floor ocean front great! If you will be on the beach all day, any room would do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable time with us in Hermosa Beach and that you found a great little retreat right here in Southern California. We hope to see you again soon in the near future. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    118
    25
    17
    10
See reviews for
107
176
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Beach house is a perfect location. You are on the beach or the strand in 30 seconds. The room was clean and well appointed. The staff (front desk, valet and housekeeping) were all friendly and helpful and it was nice to have beach chairs, beach towels, volleyballs and even sand buckets and shovels available for use at no charge if we wanted them. The only negative thing I can say is that I thought the breakfast was lacking--it would have been nice if they had yogurt or hard boiled eggs--lots of carbs, but not much protein. But that is really a very small negative to an extremely positive experience. I will for sure come back to the Beach House and stay again and I will recommend it to anyone I know traveling to the Hermosa Beach Area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for such a positive review. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait to see you back again. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hermosa Beach is a fantastic place. The hotel is good, very well located. A little bit worn out. It would be good if they could refresh rooms and bathrooms, it's clean though.
We had a total ocean front in the first building on a high floor, and I think it was worth it. It was amazing!
All in all I would come back because of the location, but would prefer if they could refresh the hotel before. It really needs some updating!
Staff was ok but it seemed that they were quite bored working there. Difficult to see a smile. Breakfast is a joke, really. Tiny room with very few options. Good thing was that the best breakfast restaurant were just in front: "Good Stuff" You can eat healthy there, and it is delicious!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review is here at the Beach House Hermosa Beach. We are glad you enjoyed the Hermosa area and hope we can accommodate you on a future visit. I apologize if our staff was not accommodating and we review these comments very seriously. And, our breakfast room does get busy, and we try to accommodate all with extended hours to 11 AM each day. And, we are in the process of totally repainting the rooms right now. Thank you again for your comments and do hope you will return. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Beach House in Hermosa Beach, CA has a lot going for it, such as location, right near the foot of Pier Avenue and on the Strand. Unfortunately it puts on airs that it can't justify. The room size and layout is fine, but you can't help but see the dings in the walls and furniture, not to mention the mold in every corner and crevice in the bathroom.

The free breakfast is worth just that, tired and ordinary (just a bit over a Holiday Inn) food matched by the staff. For the prices you would think that they could do better, as many other upscale properties do both in the US and elsewhere. Apparently they don't feel that is necessary.

What really set the relationship off was the quite misleading "Ocean View" for what the reality was of sitting across the street from some of Hermosa's less delightful shops and bungalows. See my picture to get the real view of "Ocean View". Shame on them.

I just can't bring myself to go through the sad interactions with the staff that promised one thing and then found no reason to match them with actions. Pitiful. If you start the interaction with a Franklin in your outstretched hand, then maybe you might get some attention. Bring a few and be prepared to share to get what you deserve anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations but hope we can do better in the future. We work hard to accommodate needs, and to provide a hospitable and friendly environment and staff. Again, I apologize for your stay and do appreciate your comments, all of which are being reviewed. Thank you. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Right on the Beach and very accessible for the airport. Beautifully clean and well appointed, Having been in Australia and Hawaii we were very glad of the open fire in our room as LA was a little cool. Not cheap but worth the money to stay somewhere a bit quieter than usual for the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

When booking a 4 star hotel and above.. the staff should be just as amazing as the hotel. Upon checking in we we're given a room in the back building. That was fine, we booked an ocean view since all the ocean front rooms had already been booked out. The view is pretty okay.. but the room is extremely loud. All you can hear is the traffic and valet. As i write this the room has just been filled with exhaust from a passing car.

Now this is my biggest problem... as per Hotels.com, the room we reserved comes with a KING sized bed. This is NOT a king size bed. When we called down to the front desk we were told that only SOME of the rooms come with a King size bed and they could move us down to the end of the hall. I walked down there, the maid was still cleaning up the room and I looked to see how the view was. There was NO ocean view. So we called back, and the front desk basically told us either move or deal with it. Completely missing the point that I booked an OCEAN VIEW SUITE with a KING BED, Not a STANDARD VIEW with a KING BED.

The room itself has a lot of wear and tear. Stains on the couches, dust all over the place (as it had not been cleaned properly), paint missing, mold in the shower grout, bathroom door doesn't lock, etc. Which in a 4 star hotel is not acceptable when you're paying $300+ a night.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street would be better for sleeping. Stay away from room 223.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the misunderstanding with the rooms. Each room is identical in bed size, except for a few which are special rooms, and we apologize this is one you received. We will do our best to help you in the future, and do hope you will give us a second chance. We take your comments seriously and will investigate your issues. I welcome you to book with me directly next time if you will give us a second chance, and I will personally make sure we have no room issues for you, and we will do our best to improve your experience at the Beach House. Thank you again. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a midweek getaway. The rooms are king bed suites with a pullout couch. We had chilly weather and loved the gas fireplace. They have a stove top, microwave and mini fridge. The linens were comfortable and furnishings were new. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a partial beach view off the beach it wasn't bad. The rooms were quite and we slept great. Great breakfast at Good Stuff next door and a short walk to Martha's on 22nd street. Lots of restaurant choices within a few blocks. We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We agree--the location to The Strand and Hermosa Beach is unbeatable. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for the review and come back soon. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach House at Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel
Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House at Hermosa Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimenatary continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Beach House at Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Hermosa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.