We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunsets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Save Saved
You added Beach House at Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beach House at Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our third stay at The Beach House. The rooms are clean, comfortable and if you are able to secure a beach facing room, the views are spectacular. We arrived on the Saturday of a long weekend, and the noise from the beach can be pretty loud with the sliding glass door open. To us, the sound of people having fun can't be a bad thing, but closing the door allows for pretty good sound proofing. The room-to-room soundproofing is also very good. Our first night, there were 2 couples next door who smoked on their balcony most of the night which was unfortunate. As Hermosa Beach boasts being a "smoke free beach", its too bad we had to be subjected to that awful smell.

We contacted the front desk prior to departure to remind them that we had requested, and hoped for, one of the corner top floor rooms. The response you receive will depend on who is on the desk. I received two curt, not particularly welcoming emails, then suddenly received a third one that was polite, warm and welcoming. Perhaps management might want to put one person in charge of responding to guest's emails. We did not get a corner room, but at least we were on the top floor.

The amenities in the bathroom have changed a little. For years I have been very impressed that they included an eye makeup remover wipe every day, which I greatly appreciated. This year I left my wipes at home. There was one wipe (although not as good quality as past years) included in the basket the first night, but never again for the remainder of the week. Also, if you need to use a shower cap, bring your own. They do supply one, but, try as I might, I could not get all of my shoulder length hair into the cap, they are very, very small. The soap and shampoo products are Aveda.

The cleaning staff will occasionally forget to clean your room if you don't vacate early enough. However, a reminder to the front desk rectifies that.

There is an in room bar, and a price list, but during all 3 of our visits, we have never been given a key to the bar. We've never bothered to ask the front desk about it, since we usually buy our own wine, etc., and place it in the ample room refrigerator. There is also a new alarm system on the wall in the bedroom and the bathroom, with various buttons and alarms, but we could not find any instructions in the welcome book, and we didn't bother asking the front desk.

The breakfast room is fine, as long as its not too crowded, with baked goods, coffee tea, some fruit and two dispensing containers of the same Raisin Bran. We ate most of our breakfasts at either Scotty's or Good Stuff near the hotel.

All-in-all, we had another wonderful week at The Beach House.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Beach House and we appreciate that we continue to be your choice hotel when you visit Los Angeles. We wanted to address a few of your concerns and we appreciate the feedback so we can investigate and work on any issues for our guests. First, we apologize for the smokers next door. We are a completely 100% Smoke Free Hotel with no smoking allowed in guest rooms, lobby or meeting rooms. Unfortunately, we cannot regulate outdoor smoking but we do encourage our guests not to smoke while they are with us. It is a choice they can make. As for the emails you received prior to your stay, thanks for pointing out the differences and yes, they are answered by our Front Desk staff. We will investigate this practice and make sure our warm hospitality is apparent in all communications.
In the room, you were assigned one of our (2) special handicap rooms (made for both the blind and deaf traveler) with special sound and light sensors. The room you requested on the corner, is one of these rooms. It is not new equipment and we are sorry it was not pointed out to you as to not worry about the buttons. And our mini bar is not in the room. We do have a locked cabinet in each room for additional housekeeping supplies, but there is no traditional (with key offered) mini bar. The listing of items given to you that we have available at the Front Desk. We have refrigerators in all rooms, but they are not stocked. Our amenities in the bathrooms have not changed, still Aveda products and yes we still have the make-up remover product which should have been in the bathroom basket of supplies. Some of the supplies have moved (to the shower or bath areas) but all are the same, and they might have been in a different place than you expected. Please let us know next time if anything is missing and we will be sure to correct it for you. Thanks again for your comments and feel free to contact me directly on your next stay and I will be happy to make your reservations for you. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    118
    25
    17
    10
See reviews for
107
176
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms are what you would expect from a higher end hotel (as they are a bit pricey). Location is excellent, as you are right next to the beach. Not only are the volleyball courts right in front of the hotel, you are right next door to Pier Avenue which is where all the restaurants and night life is. Boogie boards and beach chairs are provided by the hotel for your days on the wonderful beach. Mornings are usually overcast, but the the sun breaks through for the afternoons. We had a south facing, partial ocean view on the second floor, so you could see the pier and part of the beach. The only negative about this room is that some mornings you could heard loud delivery trucks in the alley (near front of the hotel) which could wake light sleepers. Other positives: Bike/Roller Blade rental places are within an arms reach for cruising the strand. It is a great bike ride all the way up to Venice Beach on a bike on the strand (although a small section is on the streets through Marina Del Rey). I believe it is about 10 level miles each way and is an easy ride. There is a small convenience store in walking distance (pricey), but you'll need to drive a few blocks up to Pacific Coast Highway for a full grocery store with regular prices. Nice continental breakfast for the mornings next to the strand. In my opinion, this is the best place to stay in Hermosa!

Room Tip: Of course the best rooms are right on the strand, full ocean view, but you will pay more for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and in the South Bay. We are in the heart of this beach city, so we do get some beach/ traffic noise sometimes but we hope you enjoyed your room. We hope to see you soon on another visit. Best Regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Every January we try to escape the cold and spent some days under the sun and on the (Hermosa) beach.
Very, very nice hotel with big rooms opening to the beach.
Sunsets can be just unbelievable.
Absolutely worth the money even more on the higher price side.
Valet service for the car is quite expensive but necessary if you know the parking situation in Manhattan Beach.
Breakfast room is a big negative point. Too noisy, too small.

Room Tip: WE'd recommend to book a room on the 3rd level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are glad to be your hotel of choice in Hermosa Beach. We are happy you had a good time and we hope to see you again on a future visit to Southern California. In the winter weather, it is harder to utilize the outside breakfast area seating, so we apologize if you felt cramped. We do offer trays if you wish to take food to enjoy in your room. Thank you very much for the review. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Beachhouse and wish I could have stayed longer! The rooms were large, clean, and I loved having a fireplace in my room. The location was exremely convenient to the beach and surrounding restaurants. Wish I could have stayed longer- I will definitly be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We appreciate you staying with us and we are happy you had an enjoyable stay in the South Bay. We hope to see you again soon on a future visit. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was woken at 2am with the guests in the room above walking around. They were not heavy footed or anything but the floor was squeaking under their feet. Car alarms were sounding from their parking garage a few times. They were also remodeling the hallways and there was a lot of wall 'patching' going on but even some of the patching had dirt on possibly indicating it had been that way for some time.

The room was great. Two TV's and a nicely equipped kitchenette. Bed was OK, not great.
The shower was only 'warm' in the morning - I could not get it to go hot.

The check-in staff were excellent. Shame I couldn't say the same for the check-out staff.

In the morning, I spoke to the front desk staff about my concerns - after all, this was a $330 a night hotel.

The front desk manager was unsympathetic to my issues and refused to reduce the room rate. I escalated through my travel agent (hotels.com) who were told by the manager that they could not find anything wrong with the room and the hotel engineer confirmed no hot water problems that morning. How they could come to this conclusion without even going to the room and sending someone upstairs to the room above to walk around I have no idea.

They eventually refunded my valet parking fee $24 but not the $3.50 toothbrush and toothpaste kit.

I do not recommend this hotel and will not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Beach Hose. We apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. Due to our beach location and small hotel, we sometimes do have night time noises and for this we apologize. We are pleased you enjoyed the room interior and hope the rest of your time in Hermosa Beach was pleasant. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked this hotel on expedia and we were very pleased to know that the reviews that helped us decide to book were right on. The hotel is literally right on the beach. There is a small strip with some decedent, well-priced restaurants and shops a block from the hotel and Manhattan and Redondo beach are both within walking distance. The rooms are spacious. Ours had an amazingly comfortable king size bed, a horribly uncomfortable and very sqeaky queen sofabed, two tvs, a small balcony with two chairs, Vcr and stereo, a couple of burners to heat up food, a microwave, coffee maker and cutlery. The hotel is about 15 minutes from LAX but you would never know it. I don't think I noticed an airplane fly overhead once.

asked for an upgrade to a room facing the ocean or with a partial ocean view but given that we had paid for a standard room they refused the request. Maybe a bit cheeky to ask but given that the hotel was very quiet on January 4 I was a little disappointed that they didn't give in. Valet only parking is $24 per night.

Like other places on the coast, there isn't much to do after it gets dark (which is about 6pm in the winter) unless you want to drive into LA, go to the nearby mall, eat, or walk on the beach in the dark.

We would definitely return to this hotel - it is one of our favorites now in California - but I would get a room away from the parking lot, and ask to be moved if the sofabed next time is as bad as the last.

Room Tip: If it's possible, ask for a room that doesn't look over the parking lot. We like the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you let our front staff know about the pull out bed so we could remedy the situation. And, so you know we are in the process of placing new sofa beds in all guest rooms. As for evening activities, there is a great Comedy & Magic Club, lots of close-by restaurants and lounges, and although not lots for young children, we do have daytime bike rentals and beach activities when in season for you. Thanks again for your visit and we look forward to your return visit. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Several of us stayed here during a company outing in December and Jessica R. did a phenomenal job setting us up with great rooms. The location could not be beat - great views and the beach is literally a stone's throw. Service was great, the staff was friendly and helpful and even the cookies in the lobby were good. I would definitely recommend the Beach House to friends, family and strangers.

Room Tip: The beach view rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach and we are very pleased you and your company colleagues enjoyed the hotel and Hermosa Beach. We agree, the setting is spectacular and even on winter days, the beach is a wonder locale. We appreciate your comments on Jessica, our Convention Services Manager, and are happy she could work with your group and help you enjoy a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for your kind comments. Happy 2013, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach House at Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel
Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House at Hermosa Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimenatary continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Beach House at Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Hermosa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.