We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, curious lack of facilities in the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House at Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Beach House at Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nites Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Gerrards Cross
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great rooms, curious lack of facilities in the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Lovely spacious room, two huge tvs, lounge area, fridge, microwave, kettle! on 2-ring hob and coffee maker. No restaurant, and breakfast room very sparsely furnished with aluminium garden furniture and would accommodate about 20 at a push - given the size of the hotel that's just not enough! There are plenty of places very nearby to eat so maybe that's why they didn't add a restaurant. Odd tho!
no pool, small jacuzzi.
I wasn't sure what customer this hotel was aimed at. One who wants to watch tv and cook for themselves in a very plush room ... that kind of suggests those who can't afford to go out and eat, but the room rate was too high for that.
Odd again!

Great location on the beach in a small town that's got very lively nightlife 100 metres away. Good for those in their 20s/30s wanting beach in the day and booze at night - or those with kids wanting the beach in the day and a comfortable spacious suite at night - in a lovely but expensive hotel!

Room Tip: Nice view if you face the sea, but then you would get some noise from passers by especially late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and you are right, we do not have a restaurant on site but there are over 10 within an easy walk from our front door. We do offer the complimentary Continental breakfast and although the room is not large, we expand to our outside patio almost all year around and keep the breakfast room open from 6:30 AM – 11 AM each day with extended hours to meet all our guests needs. For meals, few of our guests do not cook, but some prepare snacks or family foods, and we also offer room service from neighboring restaurants from 7 am – 3p.m. Again, most of our guests enjoy the restaurants that are within an easy walk in our two block radius. The Beach House is a small oasis in this active beach city where you can return and enjoy a comfortable room with your own patio or balcony to enjoy the outdoors. Thank you again and we appreciate your comments. Best Regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    135
    29
    18
    13
See reviews for
137
215
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful rooms BIG.. It's like a studio apartment! The only thing I would complain about is that it doesn't have a bar/restaurant. But u can walk to pier in a minute.. Also paper thin walls u can hear everything from outside noice to the staff. Overall this hotel is great !! I'm staying here now. Had to write this now . GREAT HOTEL. PERFECT ROOM!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We hope the rest of your stay with us was just as enjoyable as the beginning. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed at the beautiful Beach House on a rollicking spring break trip to California with my mom. We came from the heartland, and neither of us had been to sunny LA before. Carefully chose the Beach House by comparing the LA Frommer's Guide (which declared it both a "special find" and a "best splurge hotel") against what seemed universally positive TripAdvisor reviews. We arrived at the hotel just after dark, and check-in was a breeze.

I'd actually never stayed at a place with valet parking before, in a Beverly Hillbillies sort of way, but the front desk guy as well as the valets were all very nice and chatty, assuaging my Midwestern suspicion toward both Strangers and People Taking One's Car. Before we left, one of the valets was like, "Come back and see us sometime--the sun is always here!" :)

We stayed four nights in a third-floor ocean view room, which was well worth the money, and not obstructed at all. So glad we went for it. We were even in the second building, the one farther from the beach, but it felt practically oceanfront (see pictures). We pulled out the sofa bed to watch a scary movie on the big screen one night. Went to sleep to the sound of the ocean, woke up to the sound of the ocean. Super lovely.

We stayed during the week, and barely even saw any other guests except at breakfast. Walked out on the beach and pier a few times, but spent most of the time sightseeing. The beach was not crowded at all, though this was March.

Breakfast was great! Brownies and other baked items, fresh fruits, juice, cereal. Wifi was consistent--they gave us the password at check-in. Didn't have time for the jacuzzi tub, but it was there, along with a rubber ducky, patiently awaiting the next patrons. The bathroom was huge and well-cleaned everyday, housekeeping was thorough.

Altogether, a totally lovely first trip to Los Angeles, thanks in large part to a fabulous hotel. I would definitely recommend the Beach House to anyone!

Room Tip: The oceanview felt oceanfront to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review of the Beach House. We appreciate the accolades and that we were able to help make your first trip to Los Angeles so enjoyable. Please come back and see us again. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here two nights in June in a ground floor ocean front room. Wonderful view. Beach is 5 feet away. Room is perfect for a family of 3 or 4 with little ones. Very clean. Comfy bed and linens. Two flatscreens and a little privacy wall that separates bed area from small living room space with pull out couch. Little kitchen stocked with all the utensils you would need to make sandwiches for the beach or a snack. Small fridge and hot plate just right for a 3-4 day stay. Didnt take advantage of the free breakfast but some traveling companions did and claimed it was typical of what you would find in at a free hotel breakfast. Beach in the middle of this June week was very quiet and not crowded at all. Some noise can be heard in room 110 from the hotel lobby and the skateboarders on the boardwalk at night. Wasn't really a big deal to me.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and please bring your family back soon. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Once again The Beach House and Jerry Kronk have done it again! Amazing. I have reviewed the kindness and consideration of Jerry before but I am going to do it again. I am a Big Brother Big Sister of America and my 11 year old "little" had never seen the ocean in her life. Leave it to Jerry to ensure we had a 3rd floor ocean view room for the entire stay. A trip NONE of us will ever forget. As a former Hermosa Beach local , nobody can make you feel more at home in Hermosa than the Beach House.. And be certain to ask for Jerry!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
We are overjoyed we could make this a special trip for your "little". We will pass your compliments on to Jerry and we appreciate your kind words. Please come back again soon. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed two nights in the Oceanside room. Was great. It was clean and obviously the view was great. Staff were fine. It was a little steep ($320), but I was on vacation and it was worth it. I will l stay there again. The area is good too. It's completely central.

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms are $329. Can see ocean from bed. Oceanview rooms are $280. Can see ocean from pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Beach House and hope you come back again soon. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Beach House with some friends who have been here countless times. They had always raved about it, but we never believed them till now. The rooms are spacious suites, with a "bi-level" living area with a full couch, chair, fireplace, table. There is a tv above the fireplace and next to it is a fully equipped kitchennette with a refrigerator and coffee service if you need it. The dishes, cups, silverware are all wrapped in plastic (which I loved!) and then comes the best part, the bed. The bed is amazing...the linens are delicious and there is another tv in front of the bed. The bathrooms are roomy, with a separate shower and jacuzzi tub and lots of space to spread out your toilettries if needed. The hotel is adjacent to many wonderful dining options, people watching or just enjoying the view. The staff even provides complimentary beach chairs if you want to get out even closer to the ocean. Although we didn't have breakfast at the hotel, I did walk past it and it seemed like a typical continental breakfast with coffee, fruit, pastries and cereal. BUT the hotel does have excellent suggestions (and coupons) for some of the nearby restaurants if you need something heartier to start your day. All in all, an excellent choice for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor, the walls are thin and you can hear when someone is walking around up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House at Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your getaway at the Beach House and we welcome you back soon. Best Regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House at Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House at Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimenatary continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach House at Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Hermosa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.