We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Communication Equals Poor Management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hermosa to your Saves list
Hotel Hermosa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2515 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Poor Communication Equals Poor Management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am a travel writer. Recently I was in LA for an event and had very pleasant memories of this hotel. I contacted their customer relations dept to enquire about the corporate rates, attaching verification. No response whatsover. I then emailed the manager of Hotel Hermosa. No response. Finally, just in the offchance that she had not received my email I left a voice message. Nothing. So, simply put, the message I receive from this is poor communication, poor management. Which, the end of the day, makes me glad I did not stay at this hotel. Reading some of the past reviews confirms this too. It takes 2 minutes to acknowledge or write a refusal letter. There is absolutely no excuse.
We are staying happily down the road at another hotel

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
9
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was a little apprehensive on booking this hotel as there were some worrying reviews. However we chose Hermosa as we wanted to be near Hermosa Beach. Firstly, we travelled from England and it took us almost 22 hours, On arrival the receptionist, a young woman was so welcoming although we were her last check in and also late. Our room was lovely. Spacious, immaculate, fridge, hair dryer, iron and TV (which showed us the debut of Games of Thrones!) a large bathroom with a bathtub and complimentary cosmetics. Also complimentary ice.

The breakfast which had been described as 'complimentary' was exceptional. A selection of cereals, porridge/oatmeal complemented with almonds and cranberries. Toast. Butter. 2% and whole milk. Freshly made waffle with golden syrup. Yoghurt, cream cheese and peanut butter/jam, also chocolate drinks. Scrambled and boiled eggs with bacon and sausage. Fresh pastries, muffins. Fruit juices, coffee also decaf and teas, English Breakfast and herbals. Lovely fresh fruit, very helpful and charming staff at breakfast. Coffee and iced water is served in reception throughout the day

There is a small secluded pool at this hotel with a hot tub. Amazing. Why this hotel do not advertise the important fact that there is a lift and hoist into the pool is beyond me.

We found the bed comfortable and the linen immaculate.

The ambience of this hotel is unique, a beautiful reception with chandeliers overlooking a terrace. Massive congratulations to the gardener (and those who keep the swimming pool immaculate). Topiary lit up at night and a lovely view and terraces overlooking the Pacific Ocean is wonderful.

Is there a downside. Not enough to deter a visitor.

Sadly however. As noted on these pages Sean the Receptionist let us down somewhat. The hotel clearly states that they will do what they can to accommodate a late book out. Our flight to the UK was from LAX at 3.30 pm so we asked and were granted an extension till noon. However, we were interrupted by staff 3 times as we tried to pack. We popped out to a chemist and on our return had been locked out. When we asked to be re admitted to our room Sean was offhand although we had no problems with him before this. On signing out I asked Sean to book a taxi to LAX - he said 'you want a taxi for tomorrow at 10?/' Ridiculous, and unnecessary behaviour . On leaving he did not have the courtesy to ask how we had enjoyed our stay. It put the only but distinctive bad note on our visit, it was sad and unnecessary.

However your hotel is wonderful and far outstripped our expectations. "We salute you"

Kindest regards and continued success which is well deserved . .

Kind regards

Well travelled commentators

.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We only stayed for one night as a stop between the airport and the cruise terminal. It is only a $20 cab ride from the airport to the hotel, and then about $60 to Long Beach Cruise Terminal. All staff were really friendly and helpful and gave us an early check in as soon as possible (as we had an early flight in and got there at 7am). It is an easy walk to the pier, maybe 20 minutes although the way back is uphill. It isn't a fancy hotel, but everything was clean and nice, and was good value for our stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think the hotel got me with the Glass elevators. We loved the lay out and we understand that renovations our in the makings. Breakfast were awesome but please note breakfast it done exactly 0930 The view of the Pacific ocean was fabulous!! and I didn't realize that they had a pool and YES A wonderful hot tub open to 10 pm each night. most places close at 6pm. We also enjoyed the light walk to the beach, very nice area with beautiful parks and houses along the way. We will be back. I couldn't leave without mentioning how easy it was to register and everyone and I mean everyone was friendly and helpful. They even had a washer and dryer and a safe garage underneath
the hotel to park. My family and I are already planning our return to the BEST HOTEL ever

Room Tip: Family loft was the best. Two balconies :-) with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When loud plumbing renovations began right outside our hotel room window making impossible any rest before a long flight across the Pacific, a quick phone call to Sean at the reception desk resolved our problem in a flash. Sean was understanding, sympathetic, and, most importantly, instantly remedied the situation by changing our room to the a quieter suite on a higher floor away from the noise. Thank you, Sean!! We are most grateful.

Room Tip: On this occasion, face the sea, it removes you from road and renovation noise. Upper floors were qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise W, General Manager at Hotel Hermosa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Safetrails77,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Hermosa! We are happy that you were thrilled and that we were able to turn a unfortunate situation into a pleasant one. Our staff prides itself on its customer service and they love when their efforts are appreciated by our guests; your review put a smile on Sean’s face, thank you. We hope to be your hotel of choice when your travels bring you back to the Hermosa Beach area.

Kindest,

Denise Waggoner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is outstanding! We are from Las Vegas. Yes we are spoiled when it comes to Price, Cleanliness, Convenience. Sarah Touch (Guest Services) WAS VERRY HELPFUL . She took the stress out of are stay. Gave us a room that overlook the beautiful courtyard and the Ocean. We will now be staying only at this" RESORT" from now on. We give THE HERMOSA (6)****** stars....

Room Tip: Call and ask Sarah Touch (Guest Services) for any room overlooking the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise W, General Manager at Hotel Hermosa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear buddyf,

Thank you for the wonderful review of Hotel Hermosa! Love your review title, the BEST IN THE WEST…and it's only going to get better, so come back soon and see for yourself! Sarah and the rest of the team really do their best to ensure that each guest that stays with us has a memorable experience; I am thrilled that we not only met your expectations, we exceeded them to become YOUR hotel when your travels bring you back to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest,
Denise Waggoner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Hermosa may not be the most modern hotel but we loved it. Super location! Amazing staff!! Be sure & ask for the ocean view - it's totally worth it. This hotel has lots of charm even with the outdated decor. Would definitely stay there again & again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise W, General Manager at Hotel Hermosa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Erica H,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hermosa, and for your review of our hotel, our staff, and our location. We are located between Manhattan Beach and Hermosa Beach, which makes our hotel a perfect choice as it provides easy access to what the South Bay has to offer. Come back soon, the weather is great!

Kindest,
Denise Waggoner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermosa

Address: 2515 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hermosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the famous Pacific Coast Highway, Hotel Hermosa serves as one of the most scenic and convenient hotels in Hermosa Beach. Romantic ocean views and charming amenities, such as an award-winning Japanese garden, give Hotel Hermosa a certain appeal unmatched by other Hermosa Beach hotels. Voted "Best of South Bay" year after year by the Daily Breeze, Hotel Hermosa offers guests the opportunity to experience authentic Southern California living within the comfort of 81 cozy, yet spacious rooms and suites. Designed to feel like home, each of our guest rooms is equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi, kitchenettes with refrigerators and coffeemakers, flat-screen satellite televisions, plush linens and more. Private Jacuzzi tubs and ocean view balconies are also available within select suites. Guests of Hotel Hermosa also have access to first-class amenities, including complimentary breakfast, complimentary underground parking, a fully-equipped business center, state-of-the-art fitness facilities, an outdoor pool and a luxurious hot tub. With Manhattan Beach, Redondo Beach and Los Angeles International Airport less than 10 minutes away, Hotel Hermosa truly delivers the ultimate in relaxation at the most affordable prices in LA's South Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Beach
Hotel Hermosa Hermosa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.