We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermosa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hermosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hermosa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2515 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Hermosa Beach
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely stay, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I spent an excellent 5 nights at Hotel Hermosa in early October. The location of the hotel is in excellent proximity to the lovely beach cities. Our request for a quiet room was fulfilled as we were given a very quiet room overlooking the garden/ocean. Clean good-sized room with balcony , very comfy bed. The breakfast room was kept in good order but the breakfast itself could use a little improvement. It is about as basic as it could be.
We especially want to give 5 stars to the staff at this hotel, especially the front desk and in particularly the delightful, welcoming Candy!

Room Tip: Great access to and from LAX and all the coast areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    92
    31
    14
    35
See reviews for
69
88
31
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I made a reservation with someone named Adolfo for September 27th to September 30th - specifically stated that I was from Commodore Condominiums and just needed to stay there over the weekend while the Condo was being fumigated. They made arrangements with our HOA for special pricing that weekend - thus aware of the dates. When I called to confirm my reservation on September 26th - Adolfo told me I had missed my reservation for a 10 day stay checking in on September 20th. I reiterated my dates and situation. When I checked in on the 27th they charged me for a 7 night stay? Then billed me over $100 for a cancelled reservation on the 20th (which they say is being refunded). Truly unorganized and just could not get the reservation correct.

Bed linen smelled like bleach. The room smelled musty, old.
Room was not adequately cleaned - used water bottles behind refrigerator.
The ice maching on my floor was not working - out of service.

The room was facing the road (Pacific Coast Highway) - so it was noisy.

The garden area was a nice place to sit and relax, with a view of the ocean and a fresh breeze.

Room Tip: Request not to have a room facing road - NOISY
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here for a night in September with a friend, in a double room. The rooms were large and comfortable, and we both got a good sleep!
The only thing was, the room was facing the road so it was a little noisy at times, but nothing to be to concerned about.
Breakfast was simple but complimentary and part of the room booking.

It is close to the beach and bars down the road, walking distance if you want, but its better of to drive and do the short drive back to the hotel.

I would stay here again if I was in the area.

Thanks!

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I had a nice stay. The room was clean. The breakfast was adequate. The garden was beautiful and well manicured. We did not have a room with a view but the close vicinity to the ocean made up for it. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Wonderful experience at Hotel Hermosa. Clean room, friendly staff, and great location. While we appreciated the free breakfast, more variety of food items would have been welcomed. Just a short walk to Hermosa Pier with lots to do.

Room Tip: Wish we had paid a little extra for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a wonderful experience - the hotel staff is cooperative and friendly and treats you as an honored guest. The rooms are clean and have none of the unpleasant odors sometimes found at beach hotels. We would advise you ask for a garden or ocean view room as the city view on the very busy Pacific Coast highway could be noisy.

Room Tip: The garden viewed from a garden view room is beautifully landscaped. It makes the garden view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The swamp coolers in the rooms make everything damp and you feel like you're in Florida. My pillow was even wet when I went to bed, which explains the mold in the bathroom. We smoked on the balcony ONLY and they charged me $200 after accusing me of smoking in the room. Parking was inadequate and I had to park my car on the street all night. In the morning, I asked for extra towels and the tweaker at the front desk said "get em yourself"! Nasty place that charges way too much for what you get.

Room Tip: Go to a different place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermosa

Address: 2515 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hermosa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique hotel located in top 10 beach of America. Spectacular ocean view overlooking the coastline of southern California. 5 minutes away from the beautiful sands of Hermosa Beach, yet conveniently located within walking distance to major supermarket and restaurants. Large variety of rooms from standard 300sq ft rooms to business suites, loft suites, and honeymoon Jacuzzi suites.Facilities include conference/breakfast room, pool & Jacuzzi, business center, and award winning landscape garden and patio.Standard amenities in rooms include satellite TV, free wireless internet access, refrigerator, hair dryer, high quality shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and coffee maker. Free security surveillance underground parking. Complimentary continental breakfast served every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Hermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Beach
Hotel Hermosa Hermosa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.