We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Good Brew, Pretty Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hennessey's Tavern

Hennessey's Tavern
8 Pier Ave, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3732
310-372-5759
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 121 Restaurants in Hermosa Beach
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chico
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great View, Good Brew, Pretty Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

You can't beat the location, and there is usually a wait to eat upstairs because the view is awesome! Nothing beats a beer and fries while you people watch at Hennessey's. I like it on a foggy day as well as a sunny one. We have had good service and terrible service... I think it just depends. Same goes for the food. It is a fun bar scene inside, but mostly we like upstairs for hanging out and getting off the beach for a while.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    54
    37
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good view but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

shocking service upstairs.
Four waitresses just standing around chatting basically.
They had my favourite beer on tap, it has a great view and I still left.
At night it's awful too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Good view 50/50 shot food & service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice sunset view. Party of 4. Hair in one drink, 2 meals ok, 2 not so good. Missing parts of order. Potato chips taste like they were cooked in old or fishy oil. Won't go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Happy Hour very happy with this view and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I went to Happy Hour at Hennessey's Tavern. Apparently, they own 3 locations. I was at the one at the pier on Hermosa Beach. I asked for outdoor seating and snagged a corner table on top of the restaurant. It was foggy but the crowds were still out which made for great people watching as well as ocean views.
The service was excellent. Drinks were delivered quickly. I ordered the prime rib sliders without bleu cheese. They came with a spicy horseradish sauce, 3 to a basket. Delicious! I had a glass of water with them to prevent myself from downing too much alcohol with the spicy sauce.
The top bar was crowded but servers were making their way around and getting food and drinks to people quickly.
A downside to this restaurant is the steep narrow stairs to the bathroom on the first floor. Upside is definitely the first class location!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best Poke in LA area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I would have never thought that I would see Hawaiian Poke on the menu at an Irish Pub, but we did. My wife loves the poke that I make so she thought she would give it a try. I went for the fish & chips. It was a busy Saturday but we were able to sit outside on a fabulous day. We were enjoying our beers when the main items arrived. Her poke was awesome! It ranks up there with some of the best we have had in the Hawaiian Islands over the years. The poke gets the highest rating we can give it. The fish & chips was good, but the fish portion was on the small skinny side. Tasted good, but could not compare with the poke. When you go to Hennessey's in Hermosa Beach try the poke. It is off the charts!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hennessey's Tavern also viewed

 
Hermosa Beach, CA
 

Been to Hennessey's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hennessey's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.