We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and appropriate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Clean and appropriate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Convenient location, predictable, clean rooms....just what I'd expect from Hampton. Northing more, nothing less. No surprises (ok, so maybe the lanai looking out at a neighborhood stucco wall was a bit less scenic than last week's hotel view in Maui; that was a bit surprising). Price is a bit steep for a Hampton Inn, but I'll chalk it up to location.

Room Tip: No pool, limited workout faciities (but not crowded, either).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taiyaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at this property for a quick business trip. It's in a great location - easy to get to, you can see the ocean from the top floors, and you're close to everything you need to do. Good eating is close-by, and you can get to the property from LAX without getting on the freeway. All good in my book. Front desk staff was wonderful and the lobby has been recently remodeled to be very stylish and business-friendly. The rooms, however, need an update. The shower curtain in my room was torn at the rod level so water was all over the floor no matter how hard I tried to keep the curtain tucked to the enclosure. Speaking of enclosures, the shower enclosures are well worn and should be replaced. The blow dryers are old and need replacing. There are handles in the shower, but the screws are rusted - this tells you how old they are. There was a significant amount of dust on the couch in my room and the clock radio was sticky. Now, for the good things about the rooms: great beds and bedding, good TV options, quiet rooms. The morning breakfast was typical - just enough to get you through the morning, but as always, Hampton coffee is wonderful! I think that if the property managers update the rooms, they'll be in better shape, but for now, the room rates are not commensurate with what you get.

Room Tip: Despite facing the road, PCH quiets down at night. Thanks to good A/C units and drapes, noise should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mercurysqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is on a busy road so when the taxi pulled up I was sort of worried it would be noisy. Although the room I had was on the second floor facing the road it was fine. Heavy curtains and a newish AC unit made the noise levels acceptable. The room was spotless, Wi-Fi worked well and everyone I had contact with was very nice. They even gave me directions, if you knew me you would know that is easier said than done. I was only there for a few days on business so I can not tell you much. It is a short walk to the beach, there is a Starbucks nearby that opens @ 4:30. I did find the nicest sort of antique & vintage clothing place right nearby on Pier Street while looking for a gift for my daughter. Breakfast buffet looked OK, gym too but it was a very busy trip so I did not use either. Fair price, clean, no surprises.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drhackenabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place will never again receive mine nor US government business.

The receptionist (male) was rude, unprofessional and refused to support us. He would rather leave 15 empty rooms than give a federal government rate. He said, "we're by the beach, so we don't have time to deal with you kind of people."

The manager does not feel the need to reutrn phone calls...ever.

Well done. You're now blackballed. But its ok, you're by the beach.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barneypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh p, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Any kind of expeiance for the guest is very important us.We are very sorry that we could not accodomate the rate you reqeusted.Once again I do apologize for the experience you had with staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip. The hotel was perfectly clean. The room was spacious. I got a room that had a jacuzzi in it and it was a pleasure to take a jacuzzi after a long workday. The hotel is quiet, centrally located, across the street from a 24 hour Fitness, a few blocks (easy to walk) from the beach, great restaurants. The staff was helpful and ever present, the breakfast was the best I've ever had at one of these "free" breakfast places, parking was easy. its about 20 minutes from LAX. I will come back to this place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idyllwildgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

THe hotel is located very close to Hermosa and Manhattan Beach and all of the restaurnats, shops, etc. The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly as well as helpful. I had a balcony with a view of the beach which made my morning coffee that much better. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemphisTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

So far. It's clean and smells good. Rooms are a bit right with two queen beds. We walked to the beach that took us about 10-15 minutes. It was nice because we got to see the neighboring markets, shops, and restaurants. The beach was a bit crowded as to be expected but very mellow. We look forward to a hot cold continental breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Padiboys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grandview Inn
Grandview Inn
#2 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 17 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#6 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach

Address: 1530 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Hermosa Beach
Hampton Inn Hermosa Beach
Hermosa Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing