We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and appropriate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Special
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Clean and appropriate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Convenient location, predictable, clean rooms....just what I'd expect from Hampton. Northing more, nothing less. No surprises (ok, so maybe the lanai looking out at a neighborhood stucco wall was a bit less scenic than last week's hotel view in Maui; that was a bit surprising). Price is a bit steep for a Hampton Inn, but I'll chalk it up to location.

Room Tip: No pool, limited workout faciities (but not crowded, either).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    113
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
56
25
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at this property for a quick business trip. It's in a great location - easy to get to, you can see the ocean from the top floors, and you're close to everything you need to do. Good eating is close-by, and you can get to the property from LAX without getting on the freeway. All good in my book. Front desk staff was wonderful and the lobby has been recently remodeled to be very stylish and business-friendly. The rooms, however, need an update. The shower curtain in my room was torn at the rod level so water was all over the floor no matter how hard I tried to keep the curtain tucked to the enclosure. Speaking of enclosures, the shower enclosures are well worn and should be replaced. The blow dryers are old and need replacing. There are handles in the shower, but the screws are rusted - this tells you how old they are. There was a significant amount of dust on the couch in my room and the clock radio was sticky. Now, for the good things about the rooms: great beds and bedding, good TV options, quiet rooms. The morning breakfast was typical - just enough to get you through the morning, but as always, Hampton coffee is wonderful! I think that if the property managers update the rooms, they'll be in better shape, but for now, the room rates are not commensurate with what you get.

Room Tip: Despite facing the road, PCH quiets down at night. Thanks to good A/C units and drapes, noise should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is on a busy road so when the taxi pulled up I was sort of worried it would be noisy. Although the room I had was on the second floor facing the road it was fine. Heavy curtains and a newish AC unit made the noise levels acceptable. The room was spotless, Wi-Fi worked well and everyone I had contact with was very nice. They even gave me directions, if you knew me you would know that is easier said than done. I was only there for a few days on business so I can not tell you much. It is a short walk to the beach, there is a Starbucks nearby that opens @ 4:30. I did find the nicest sort of antique & vintage clothing place right nearby on Pier Street while looking for a gift for my daughter. Breakfast buffet looked OK, gym too but it was a very busy trip so I did not use either. Fair price, clean, no surprises.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place will never again receive mine nor US government business.

The receptionist (male) was rude, unprofessional and refused to support us. He would rather leave 15 empty rooms than give a federal government rate. He said, "we're by the beach, so we don't have time to deal with you kind of people."

The manager does not feel the need to reutrn phone calls...ever.

Well done. You're now blackballed. But its ok, you're by the beach.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh p, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Any kind of expeiance for the guest is very important us.We are very sorry that we could not accodomate the rate you reqeusted.Once again I do apologize for the experience you had with staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip. The hotel was perfectly clean. The room was spacious. I got a room that had a jacuzzi in it and it was a pleasure to take a jacuzzi after a long workday. The hotel is quiet, centrally located, across the street from a 24 hour Fitness, a few blocks (easy to walk) from the beach, great restaurants. The staff was helpful and ever present, the breakfast was the best I've ever had at one of these "free" breakfast places, parking was easy. its about 20 minutes from LAX. I will come back to this place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

THe hotel is located very close to Hermosa and Manhattan Beach and all of the restaurnats, shops, etc. The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly as well as helpful. I had a balcony with a view of the beach which made my morning coffee that much better. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

So far. It's clean and smells good. Rooms are a bit right with two queen beds. We walked to the beach that took us about 10-15 minutes. It was nice because we got to see the neighboring markets, shops, and restaurants. The beach was a bit crowded as to be expected but very mellow. We look forward to a hot cold continental breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach

Address: 1530 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Hermosa Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Hampton Inn Hermosa Beach
Hermosa Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.