We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel, huge room, great jacuzzi, welcoming staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worthing, Sussex, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel, huge room, great jacuzzi, welcoming staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

We chose to stay here on arrival at LAX from the Uk - about 20 minutes from the Car Rental area at LAX. Very welcoming and helpful reception staff, happy to put 2 rollaways into our huge room, with massive jacuzzi bath AND shower. Staff know all about local facilities, shops etc. So much more peaceful than hotels at LAX or Venice Beach - also FREE car parking! Great place to unwind for 2 nights to get over jet lag. Room was massive and clean. Breakfast straightforward continental "help yourself" style. Swimming pool adequate. 3 minutes to Hermosa beach and pier. 20 minutes to Long Beach. 15 minutes to LAX. Good place - recommended! Grocery store and fast food minute away. Felt safe and happy!

  • Liked — Short drive from LAX, no car parking fees, large room, relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — No views. outdoor pool was indoors!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    81
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
50
51
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

A nice, clean, safe, elegant place to stay. We loved the new bedding system that replaces those suspicious bedspreads with a duvet enclosed in freshly laundered sheets. The bedding was comfortable and very clean. Pillows came in soft and firm, and were so labeled with embroidered pillow cases. Rooms are huge and include a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker.

Breakfast is substantial and good. Hurray for eggs! And hot, yummy cinnamon rolls.

We were told the pool/hot tub were indoors, which was 3/4 true. The area is enclosed on three sides, and is roofed, but has one side open to the air. That made it a bit chilly, but not one bit humid.

The only negative was that it is a very long walk to the beach and to the area with beach shops and restaurants. We ended up taking the car and parking at meters, which were plentiful, but inconvenient. Hermosa Beach is lovely and we were lucky enough to see grey whales near the shore on March 29, right before reluctantly heading back to Wisconsin. What a great California send off.

  • Liked — Spacious and clean
  • Disliked — Distance from the beach; paying to access Internet
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

I stayed here for three nights at the end of February. Everything was fine...clean, new, fast internet, coffee in the AM, and friendly staff. Very good price performer for the area. Will definitely stay here on my next trip in a few weeks. Parking was more than adequate.

  • Liked — Large rooms, good beds
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

Stayed there during first weekend of March 2007. Found the place to be a really nice place. Honestly I can't find anything to complain about. We had no issues with parking but noticed when we were checking out that there was some kind of meeting going on and the parking was actually full. We stayed in the suite with the jacuzzi. Very nice and clean. Yes on a busy street but really not an issue. And if you are a visitor like us there is no better place to see the area than on Pacific Coast Highway!

A good walk to the beach, quicker to drive for us! Staff was super nice. Breakfast was the usual hotel style, fruits and grains and drinks all nice and all neat and clean.

Nice hot tub and pool. Pool was a tad cool but heck it's March! Hot tub took care of that!

It's in a generally very nice area, right on the line of Redondo Beach and Hermosa Beach towns. Don't forget to check out the Pier St. beach area and shops, very nearby a most nice area and visit Hermosa General Store a great shop in that area and good places to eat at that area. Great trip starter area!

Last of all a CVS right next door to the motel, handy for us traverlers!

Will for sure return.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new braunfels
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2006

Good location. Nice rooms, very large and clean. The main problem was the bed. It was horrible - the hardest I have ever slept on. The parking can also be difficult when the hotel is full. Very nice staff. You can walk to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

Definitely met our expectations and needs for the Easter weekend while we were visiting family in the area. A short walk to the strand and a healthy walk to our family member's small studio. Ideally located on the edge of Hermosa and Redondo, and a short drive to Manhattan Beach. This entire area has many offerings of great restaurants and bars and entertainment. The staff was attentive and courteous, room very clean, nice to have a coffee pot and small refrigerator, and to have free parking in this area is wonderful! We like to generally stay at Holiday Inns as Priority Club Members: can count on affordable, comfortable rooms with the minimum amenities we need while accruing points for free stays. Having a continental breakfast is always a plus when we travel as well.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

We were very pleased with the value, hospitality and all round appointments of The Holiday Inn Express Chain having stayed in several of their hotels on our trip. The Hermosa Beach was no exception, although not directly at the beach front and no real views, nevertheless it was only a short walk to all amenities and not far from the much more expensive Redondo Beach area.

Being Aussies we found a great little pub/bar in the Redondo Beach Harbour Area known as ..On The Rocks (picture of boomerang before name gave us the hint) run by a couple of Aussies and a yank. Met John from Melbourne and was very impressed with what they had done with the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach

Address: 125 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hermosa Beach has been chosen one of top ten beaches in the US. Whether you re coming to the South Bay Area for business or just for fun your room at the Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Hotel is only 1/2 mile from beach and 7 miles from LAX. We are walking distance to Hermosa Beach and Redondo Beach Pier, King Harbor, exciting bars and restaurants. The hotel features include free parking, local phone calls, wireless/wired Internet, business center and a complimentary Express Start hot breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, bacon, sausage, scrambled egg, omelet and gravy. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Hermosa Beach, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Holiday Inn Hermosa Beach
Hermosa Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.