We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Walk to beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean hotel, friendly and helpful front desk, free parking, and 4 blocks to the beach. Room was spacious; ours had a balcony with table and 2 chairs. A little peek of ocean from balcony. Walk in 10 min to Hermosa Beach, and 5 min more to restaurants, ice cream, shops. Good value for location near beach. Free breakfast with many choices, and very good coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Joymaker,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    84
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
53
53
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I found the whole experience at this hotel to be very good. Just 20-30 min drive south of LAX, this hotel is not in the hubbub of downtown LA but just a few blocks from the beaches at Hermosa and Redondo. Check in was swift and efficient although I would request a room that's not on the side of the road as, although the road noise was not excessive, the sea facing rooms would have to be even quieter. Parking is free, one car per room which, in the States, is a real bonus. Complimentary breakfast is offered in a lovely buffet style dining area which offered pancakes, cereal, pastries, coffee, juice, etc... all very acceptable.
The standard of the room was excellent, well maintained, clean and serviced every morning by housekeeping. Nice widescreen tv with plenty of channels, iron, comfortable beds with choice of pillows, desk and a pleasantly large room. Oddly, no safe.
I have to say that despite the branding of an Express style hotel, this meets the standards and expectations of some rather more highbrow and expensive hotels I have stayed in.
Well done.

Room Tip: Ask for room not on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear frazmcd,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having been to the major LA attractions several times we wanted a long weekend away from the snow without the rush of being in the middle of the tourist areas. Hermosa Beach is close to the airport, has a nice beach and some decent shopping.

Room Tip: Our room faced in, I'm not sure how noisy the ones facing the Pacific Coast Highway would be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear sharonanne,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel is beautiful and I'm reluctant to write a review since we've had trouble finding affordable hotels in this area and I probably shouldn't publicize it. Lobby feels like a chic boutique hotel. Guestroom was spotless and nicely appointed. Location was perfect for us, near the beach, shops and not far from LAX. Free parking, free internet, free breakfast and reasonable rates. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear RL434,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

A few things worth mentioning:

- hotel is centrally located & a short distance to the water front. Both Redondo Beach & Hermosa Beach are nearby with lots of restaurant choices.
- Room was fine, nice & clean.
- rooms that face PCH are very noisy.
- walls are very thin. I was woken up at 4:30 am to something (I'm guessing the bed) banging into the wall from the room next door.
- fitness room is basically non-existent. The equipment is ancient & in very bad shape.
- breakfast was standard continental breakfast, nothing special.

Overall its a decent choice for a short stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Milwgirl24,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry about the fitness center. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've had repeated stays at this hotel - always find the desk person very friendly! Very quiet small hotel (only 3 levels) but with an inside pool, exercise room, conference room and very delicious breakfast is included and did I mention - complimentary parking! Within walking blocks of some of the best walking areas - called "The Strand" - along the beach with many good restaurant selections. If Volleyball is your love - many nets on the beach. Nice walk to Manhattan Beach.

Room Tip: Have always stayed on 2nd or 3rd level - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Bonnie_LouBayAreaCA,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here one night for a concert at Saint Rocke which is a club right across the street. Located right by King Harbor and just a few minutes from the Redondo Beach Pier. Lots a stuff within walking distance as far as restaurants, bars, etc. Right next door to a CVS pharmacy.

Free parking and WiFi. Immaculate room with a coffee pot, fridge, and microwave. Large LCD TV with a decent channel lineup. Didn't use them but there is a fitness room, sauna, pool, and jacuzzi.

Room was very comfortable and quiet. Been to a few HIExpress locations and they have always been top notch.

Room Tip: Its a 3 story hotel so a room up top on the back away from the street is probably your best bet. Tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Scorpionwitch,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#6 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 17 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grandview Inn
Grandview Inn
#2 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach

Address: 125 Pacific Coast Highway, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hermosa Beach has been chosen one of top ten beaches in the US. Whether you re coming to the South Bay Area for business or just for fun your room at the Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Hotel is only 1/2 mile from beach and 7 miles from LAX. We are walking distance to Hermosa Beach and Redondo Beach Pier, King Harbor, exciting bars and restaurants. The hotel features include free parking, local phone calls, wireless/wired Internet, business center and a complimentary Express Start hot breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, bacon, sausage, scrambled egg, omelet and gravy. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Hermosa Beach, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Holiday Inn Hermosa Beach
Hermosa Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.