We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel in a more quiet part of LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grandview Inn to your Saves list
Grandview Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 14th Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel in a more quiet part of LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here with my partner in late September. We picked this place as family had stayed here a few years ago and recommended it. After arriving in LAX after a very long flight it was good to be able to drive for only about 15 minutes to get there. Free parking was great. Decent restaurants and the beach were less than 5 minutes walk away. The room was nice, with a king sized bed, fridge and big tv.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    81
    12
    8
    14
See reviews for
56
92
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Modern hotel on the beach. 3minute walk to the pier, restaurants&shops. Large bedroom with a balcony, fridge and everything u need in a room. There was great thought put into every detail of the room. 1 of the best hotels I've ever stayed in!! The owner did not cheap out on anything. Parking available and u can walk everywhere from the hotel. If you're looking to stay in hermosa book here. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I loved my stay at the Grandview Inn. It was my first time visiting Hermosa Beach, and the location of the Grandview Inn couldn't have been more perfect. It is located on a quiet block, right by the beach, and just a block away from great restaurants, bars and shops. A terrific bike shop, Hermosa Cyclery, is also just over a block away, and seeing the area by bike is definitely the way to go. The person at the front desk was helpful, calling me a cab when needed and recommending a good breakfast spot (Good Stuff on the Strand has excellent breakfast options!).

The room was very clean, spacious, comfortable and modern. Loved the shower! It's also nice supporting a family-owned business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a 24 hour stopover in LA. This hotel was about 20 mins from the airport, just off a great beach with loads of cafes, restaurants and bars nearby. It is just rooms with a concierge but we sat outside a cafe off the beach for breakfast and watched the joggers and beach volleyball games. The service was very good, the room large, modern and clean with a big bed, lots of complentaty toiletries etc for a comfortable night. We should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lovely location near enough on beach. Right next door to Jeffers - great to rent bikes/boards/ body boards. We gad room above 'parking lot' wouldn't have noticed if not for negative TripAdvisor reviews. Who wants to stay in your room when you're right on the beautiful beach! Loads of pro-volleyball on the beach and you can easily walk to manhattan beach or rendondo. Manhattan is closer & less 'working class'. South Bay galleria not too far for a rainy day! Get booking before someone else does!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

3 of my girlfriends and I stayed here early Seprember for a girls wkd away!!! The location was fantastic and the rooms were plenty large enough for all the shoes, clothes, and girls stuff. We stayed on the top floor and had beautiful CA sunset views of the ocean. The service was great. We felt safe and there were great restaurants and bars in walking distance. A quick cab ride to manhattan beach for a night out is a must!! What a fun weekend. This is by no means a mega resort or the Ritz, but it is perfect for a California Beach town!!! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Grandview Inn for 3 nights. The room was a good size and it was equipped with everything we needed including ironing equipment, microwave, fridge, hair dryer and lots of toiletries including a razor, make up wipes and nasal strips. The room also looks exactly like it does on the website which is always a bonus- it was modern and clean. Not a great view from the balcony but that didn't matter to us as we just wanted to be out at the beach anyway.

The hotel is situated one street along from the main street in Hermosa and probably a 30 second walk to a gorgeous sandy beach with volleyball nets. There is a reasonably priced hire shop 2 doors from the hotel where you can rent bikes, roller skates, surf boards etc for either a few hours or a whole day. There is a paved pedestrian street which allows you to walk as far as Venice Beach (I think) it took us 30 minutes to walk to Manhattan Beach which was a must- gorgeous houses to look at on the way and lots of surfing to watch when you get there. The main street in Hermosa had a good selection of restaurants and bars (our favourite was Watermans). However it isn't crazy, busy or loud, if you want mad nightlife Hermosa is not for you but if you want a beach and a few drinks at night, this place is ideal.

The reception staff were very helpful with booking taxis for us. It took around 15 minutes to get to the airport and 45 minutes to get to Santa Monica (where we did a Day in LA tour- highly recommended). Please allow extra time for travelling around by car though as the traffic in LA is very busy!

To sum up- Grandview Hotel is a lovely hotel if you want a beach holiday with dinner and drinks at night, whilst also having the option of a day trip to LA/ Hollywood :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Inn

Address: 55 14th Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandview Inn is superbly located 70 feet from the beach in the classic Californian beach town of Hermosa Beach in Los Angeles. Miles of sandy beach, safe, friendly community is the perfect place to stay when you visit the Los Angeles area. And The Grandview Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Hermosa Beach. all rooms are non smoking We're in a cozy neighborhood where a quiet street walk meets a charming avenue of shops and restaurants. Almost anything you could need is literally just around the corner: nightclubs, restaurants, dry cleaners, laundry, beauty salon, grocery store and fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grandview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Hermosa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.