We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place for girls weekend!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Inn

Save Saved
You added Grandview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grandview Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 14th Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hermosa Beach
Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome place for girls weekend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

3 of my girlfriends and I stayed here early Seprember for a girls wkd away!!! The location was fantastic and the rooms were plenty large enough for all the shoes, clothes, and girls stuff. We stayed on the top floor and had beautiful CA sunset views of the ocean. The service was great. We felt safe and there were great restaurants and bars in walking distance. A quick cab ride to manhattan beach for a night out is a must!! What a fun weekend. This is by no means a mega resort or the Ritz, but it is perfect for a California Beach town!!! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    74
    11
    6
    13
See reviews for
51
80
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Grandview Inn for 3 nights. The room was a good size and it was equipped with everything we needed including ironing equipment, microwave, fridge, hair dryer and lots of toiletries including a razor, make up wipes and nasal strips. The room also looks exactly like it does on the website which is always a bonus- it was modern and clean. Not a great view from the balcony but that didn't matter to us as we just wanted to be out at the beach anyway.

The hotel is situated one street along from the main street in Hermosa and probably a 30 second walk to a gorgeous sandy beach with volleyball nets. There is a reasonably priced hire shop 2 doors from the hotel where you can rent bikes, roller skates, surf boards etc for either a few hours or a whole day. There is a paved pedestrian street which allows you to walk as far as Venice Beach (I think) it took us 30 minutes to walk to Manhattan Beach which was a must- gorgeous houses to look at on the way and lots of surfing to watch when you get there. The main street in Hermosa had a good selection of restaurants and bars (our favourite was Watermans). However it isn't crazy, busy or loud, if you want mad nightlife Hermosa is not for you but if you want a beach and a few drinks at night, this place is ideal.

The reception staff were very helpful with booking taxis for us. It took around 15 minutes to get to the airport and 45 minutes to get to Santa Monica (where we did a Day in LA tour- highly recommended). Please allow extra time for travelling around by car though as the traffic in LA is very busy!

To sum up- Grandview Hotel is a lovely hotel if you want a beach holiday with dinner and drinks at night, whilst also having the option of a day trip to LA/ Hollywood :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Grandview Inn on several occasions, I started staying there while in Hermosa Beach in 1986. The staff and location are just wonderful. I just stayed there for three nights, and all was great. I would like to than Manny the owners nephew for being so helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in Hermosa. The Mexican restraunt just out the door, La Playita is very good, and right next door, is a place to rent surfboards, and all other beach sporting equipment. Jeffers Beach rental is the name, and he was really easy to work with. Thanks for the great time to all of them.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a family run Nice hotel, good location but you need a top floor room overlooking the beach to make it extra special. The rooms are a good size and the beds comfortable. There is a decent bathroom with good shower. However why 4 out of 5 is the hot water tap (faucet) is soooooo slow to give hot water in the morning and evening. The rooms have good if a little loud air con. And they have a safe! The location is good with everything close. For breakfast we used Starbucks about 2 minutes away.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location is awesome. Steps from the beach and there is a place next door that serves great breakfasts.
but the harsh lights in the rooms are enough to ruin your stay. They should replace them with some modern lamps that give a warm glow. Seriously don't turn them on in the middle of the night or you won't get back to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tugun, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Price was right, The rooms were nicely appointed and the staff were very helpful! After long flight from Australia we were pleasantly surprised when the staff bent over backwards to get our room ready early. The rooms are spacious and have some modern touches. Top floor has sea views but the first floor at the end has a lovely balcony that can see the ocean as well.

Room Tip: End room on first floor has sea views from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed here. The first two times were for business but this time I wanted to take my wife. We were lucky enough to get one of the rooms on the 2nd floor with an ocean view. The rooms are always clean and fresh and even though not the fanciest place I have stayed. The rooms are quite functional and spacious. The staff has always been helpful and courteous when I have stayed there. Best thing is the location at Hermosa Beach being on The Strand and about one block from Pier Ave. where there are numerous restaurants and shopping. Cant wait to go back !!

Room Tip: Second floor with ocean view. There really are only three that have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grandview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Inn

Address: 55 14th Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandview Inn is superbly located 70 feet from the beach in the classic Californian beach town of Hermosa Beach in Los Angeles. Miles of sandy beach, safe, friendly community is the perfect place to stay when you visit the Los Angeles area. And The Grandview Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Hermosa Beach. all rooms are non smoking We're in a cozy neighborhood where a quiet street walk meets a charming avenue of shops and restaurants. Almost anything you could need is literally just around the corner: nightclubs, restaurants, dry cleaners, laundry, beauty salon, grocery store and fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Grandview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Hermosa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.