We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T TURN THE LIGHTS ON” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grandview Inn to your Saves list
Grandview Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 14th Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DON'T TURN THE LIGHTS ON”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location is awesome. Steps from the beach and there is a place next door that serves great breakfasts.
but the harsh lights in the rooms are enough to ruin your stay. They should replace them with some modern lamps that give a warm glow. Seriously don't turn them on in the middle of the night or you won't get back to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    88
    12
    8
    14
See reviews for
59
100
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tugun, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Price was right, The rooms were nicely appointed and the staff were very helpful! After long flight from Australia we were pleasantly surprised when the staff bent over backwards to get our room ready early. The rooms are spacious and have some modern touches. Top floor has sea views but the first floor at the end has a lovely balcony that can see the ocean as well.

Room Tip: End room on first floor has sea views from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed here. The first two times were for business but this time I wanted to take my wife. We were lucky enough to get one of the rooms on the 2nd floor with an ocean view. The rooms are always clean and fresh and even though not the fanciest place I have stayed. The rooms are quite functional and spacious. The staff has always been helpful and courteous when I have stayed there. Best thing is the location at Hermosa Beach being on The Strand and about one block from Pier Ave. where there are numerous restaurants and shopping. Cant wait to go back !!

Room Tip: Second floor with ocean view. There really are only three that have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Superb Location - literally about 100 yards from beach!

Hermosa is a great place with 1 strip full of shops/bars/restaurants/clubs etc. Much preferred this place rather than going into central LA

Hotel looks brand new - very minimalist and modern

Spacious Rooms, nice ocean view. Free Wi-Fi and parking if you have a car. Not the cheapest place but would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were attending a wedding in the Los Angeles area and several of our family members decided to spend a couple of days at the beach prior to the festivities. We enjoyed four ocean view rooms that were clean and spacious and we were grateful for all the little extras (frig, coffee maker, iron, bar sink, ice maker, microwave, in-room safe, luxury toiletry items and additional beach towels!) that really make for a comfortable stay. We also appreciated free parking and internet... I hate those pesky additional charges that usually come with a room. And even though we had a wonderful cool ocean breeze when our balcony door was open, it was also nice to have air conditioning when we needed it. We were only steps away from the beach and the strand and great restaurants and shopping, but the room was very quiet. In addition, one of our family members became ill and the front desk was great to offer up medical care info as well as give our group an extended check-out time and luggage hold while we were dealing with it. I have been vacationing in Hermosa Beach for over 30 years... usually staying at the Sea Sprite or the Beach House... but I have found my new favorite spot!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We wanted to spend one day at the beach before heading back East after a business trip and we could not have chosen a nicer place.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is even a small secondary sink next to the microwave so you can rinse off sandy clothes or shoes without messing up the tub. The bed was very comfortable.

Took us 20 minutes to drive to LAX on local roads on Sunday morning, which is a real plus. The beach is one-half block away and the main business district nearly at the doorstep. Many nice eateries, etc.

The front desk staff helpful and friendly. This is a nice place. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just left a four day stay at the Grandview Inn (we would guess this is a three star hotel). We were vey satisfied and thought it was very clean and comfortable. The room had all of the necessities, was spacious enough and seemed to have been recently renovated. The parking garage downstairs was well lit and a safe place to park a car (with surprisingly wide parking spots).

The Grandview is half a block from the beach (diagonal from The Beach House) which is a perfect location to walk everywhere. While it was certainly not as fancy as The Beach House (which we thought was probably a four star hotel) it was a great value at half the price. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Inn

Address: 55 14th Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandview Inn is superbly located 70 feet from the beach in the classic Californian beach town of Hermosa Beach in Los Angeles. Miles of sandy beach, safe, friendly community is the perfect place to stay when you visit the Los Angeles area. And The Grandview Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Hermosa Beach. all rooms are non smoking We're in a cozy neighborhood where a quiet street walk meets a charming avenue of shops and restaurants. Almost anything you could need is literally just around the corner: nightclubs, restaurants, dry cleaners, laundry, beauty salon, grocery store and fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grandview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Hermosa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.