We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Inn

Save Saved
You added Grandview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grandview Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 14th Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good for a quick stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It's close to the airport, our room was huge and clean, great shower, comfy big bed, awesome sea view and a very short walk to the bars and restaurants of Hermosa Beach. Grandview Inn was just what we needed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    72
    9
    6
    13
See reviews for
46
74
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Grandview Inn for two nights at the beginning of March. I chose this hotel solely based on Tripadvisor reviews and thankfully was not disappointed. The hotel is only steps away from the boardwalk and the beach, so the location is outstanding. The parking garage is connected to the hotel so upon arrival we parked, walked up the stairs, and checked in. Seamless. Blown away by the friendliness of the staff at the front desk, very accomodating. The room was large and we had plenty of space to live comfortably for a couple of days, and we wished that we could stay longer but weather issues back home cut our trip short. Extremely clean and very comfortable bed. No noise issues. Everything about our experience was positive. Can't wait to come back to Hermosa Beach! We'll stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 week between Christmas and New Year. Just a few steps from the beach. The staff is very friendly. I had stayed at this hotel a few years ago before the renovations and I must say they did a great job. It is great to have a fridge and micro in the unit. Nice spacious clean room. A bit of a noise factor a couple of the nights from street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Nice location? Surprisingly good price? How about some disco music at 12am? 1am? Bar next door? Absolutely unacceptable level of noise. With all doors and windows closed! I am not spending my 2nd night here. Let's see how management handles this situation. Stay tuned.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is within a few hundred feet of the beach. The location is ideal. Right down the street from the pier which offers bars, restaurant and live music. There is also a convenient mini market across the street. I got a great rate through Priceline. Check that site.

Rooms are large and spacious. Overstocked with bathroom amenities and have microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, complimentary bottled water and safe. Huge work station for computer. Also a balcony. Everything seemed to have been upgraded.

There is parking garage located under hotel which made it convenient for rental car. Hotel has a small elevator if stairs are an issue.

I would recommend for business and families or couples or groups. Can't say enough and the views from Hermosa are fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is even closer to the beach than the pictures show. The price is very reasonable, and the rooms have recently been remodeled and it is always great to have a fridge, coffee maker and microwave in the room. The only drawback was the room was chilly at night and the heater was really LOUD. We turned it on high while not in the room, then turned it off at night so we could sleep.

We had requested an ocean view room, however, after listening to the rules on no smoking anywhere on the property (they are very serious about this), we were shocked how much the room smelled like smoke. We notified the front desk right away and it was a disappointment that there were no other ocean view rooms available, but they moved us right away to a different room and refunded the difference. Surprisingly we could still see the ocean from our patio since it was on the upper floor.

We did have a car and parking was never a problem, there's free parking in their garage. But we hardly used the car since everything was in walking distance.

There's a laid back little rental place next door, where you can rent beach chairs, surf boards, bikes, everything.

over all a great trip and I would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here 5 nights and it was perfect. The Inn is about a block from the Strand and Pier avenue where the cafes and music are.

Parking is a nightmare in Hermosa but Grandview has their own parking garage and it's included in the price.

The owner is super cool and the room was clean and perfect.

Thank you Grandview Inn, you made my trip very special.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U2nyikBBpoc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cxqP2QjLWB4

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grandview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Inn

Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel
Grandview Hotel Hermosa Beach
Address: 55 14th Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandview Inn is superbly located 70 feet from the beach in the classic Californian beach town of Hermosa Beach in Los Angeles. Miles of sandy beach, safe, friendly community is the perfect place to stay when you visit the Los Angeles area. And The Grandview Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Hermosa Beach. all rooms are non smoking We're in a cozy neighborhood where a quiet street walk meets a charming avenue of shops and restaurants. Almost anything you could need is literally just around the corner: nightclubs, restaurants, dry cleaners, laundry, beauty salon, grocery store and fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grandview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.